Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exam Results....

• 16-12-2010 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭

Hey just wondering when will the exam results be released?? also how will we get them?? will it be on blackboard or will letter's be sent out???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

You just check it online, I don't think a date has been set yet for the results yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

i think we're given provisional results in january, but not the final results til the end of the year.

not too sure though :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

whiteman19 wrote: »
    i think we're given provisional results in january, but not the final results til the end of the year.

not too sure though :/
    That's typically what happens. Results cannot be finalised until the exam board meet to review them all at the end of the year, hence they're always "provisional" in January as they can (although in my experience seldom ever) change.

With regards to how you get them, that varies from department to department. The final results will be via the Exams Office website, but provisional ones will either be posted up on the department's notice board (typically the case) or made available through other means (some people here talked of some being done through Blackboard, but I've never heard of that happening).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

For what reason would they change someone's grades??

maybe if someone was missing college for health reasons or a bereavement , they might be more lenient if they failed by a small percentage.

there's any number of circumstances

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

I take it you have to pass your Christmas exams right?

Like it's not just a case of getting a final grade of 40% or higher, you actually have to get >40 in your xmas and Summer exams, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I take it you have to pass your Christmas exams right?

Like it's not just a case of getting a final grade of 40% or higher, you actually have to get >40 in your xmas and Summer exams, right?

Not sure about other courses, but this only changed this year in science. (I'd imagine its college-wide though) Last year you could doss off and fail Xmas tests, and make up for it in the summer.

This year you have to pass both.

Oh... lame! Should just be if you get 40% overall. Plenty of people don't do so good with Xmas exams, what with it being pretty close to the start of the academic year, they always seem to creep up on ya way faster than the summer exams.

It's a terrible way of assessing people anyway. Would much prefer more coursework. I've been up all week studying, had 2 exams today and tbh I've been too wrecked all evening to do any study for my exam tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

Anyone know wat d story is with grouped subjects. Like I have 4 groups of subjects with abiut 3 subjects in each, some are at xmas and some in summer
    Do u have to pass each subject individually or just get 40 in each group. in science btw

I'm not sure I understand what you mean...

i think he means modules insteads of groups, like i have PH201 (physics) and in that i have 4 sub modules (2 each semester)

it'd probably be better to ask in the College of Science office down the yellow corridor or send an email to Cora. they're nice down there and will answer any question you have about the modules or point you in the right direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

Modules, thats the word I was lookin for, drew a complete blank there :) il get onto them next semester alrite, no rush at d moment

I was also wondering about this... If you're doing 4 subjects for arts, do you need to pass every module or just get 40% for the subjects in total? I'm guessing the credits are awarded per module and all are required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

I was also wondering about this... If you're doing 4 subjects for arts, do you need to pass every module or just get 40% for the subjects in total? I'm guessing the credits are awarded per module and all are required?
    I think once you pass your 4 subjects you're grand. Don't think you have to pass every module. At least I hope not because I mangled the IT test badly today!

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    I think once you pass your 4 subjects you're grand. Don't think you have to pass every module. At least I hope not because I mangled the IT test badly today!
    It was a bastard alright... I only found out we even had that module last week so yeah... don't know any Python so had to try and answer those questions using Visual Basic.. all the non coding questions were grand but there weren't many of em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

It was a bastard alright... I only found out we even had that module last week so yeah... don't know any Python so had to try and answer those questions using Visual Basic.. all the non coding questions were grand but there weren't many of em!
    Yeah exactly. The non-coding ones were grand but you cant BS your way through code really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

In NUIG you must get at LEAST 35% in an exam to pass. The pass rate is 40%, however if you get 35%, you can compensate with another subject

i.e. If you are doing 2 subjects and you get 35% in each, you fail
    If you are doing 2 subjects, you get 35% in one and 45% in the other, you can compensate meaning you get 40% overall

Don't know if this helps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭HotDogger

Anyone know wat d story is with grouped subjects. Like I have 4 groups of subjects with abiut 3 subjects in each, some are at xmas and some in summer
    Do u have to pass each subject individually or just get 40 in each group. in science btw

It means that the indivual modules are mates. So, like, if you get 30, 30, 30, and 70, then your mark will be Pass/40; Congrats! Carry on to next year (and this year was worth feck all anyway).

JohnCleary wrote: »
    In NUIG you must get at LEAST 35% in an exam to pass. The pass rate is 40%, however if you get 35%, you can compensate with another subject

i.e. If you are doing 2 subjects and you get 35% in each, you fail
    If you are doing 2 subjects, you get 35% in one and 45% in the other, you can compensate meaning you get 40% overall

Don't know if this helps?

Not quite that simple... IIRC there's a few more rules surrounding compensation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

The idea of grouping the individual modules is to allow for passing by compensation. This means you can fail an exam but still pass the overall group. The exam breakdown varies from College to College (and indeed School/Discipline), but you generally need to get a minimum mark to be allowed pass by compensation (varies from 25% to 35%).

For example, if you have two subjects in a group and both are weighted equally (say 3 ECTS) and you get 30% in one, then you'd need to get 50% in the other subject so that the group mark is 40%. If the subjects are weighted differently, say one is 3 ECTS and the other is 6 ECTS, then the numbers change. For example, if you fail the 6 ECTS one and get 30%, then you'd need twice the difference in the other exam to make up for it - i.e. 60% in the 3 ECTS one to make the 40% pass.

The best thing to do is to go to your College's website and lookup the "Marking and Standards" documentation - specifically passing by compensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

Anyone know what the compensation floor is for Science these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Reillyman wrote: »
    Anyone know what the compensation floor is for Science these days?

You're doing FME, right? I think the story there is slightly different, but I'd confirm that with someone in the dept. I know I failed the Actuarial type modules on a regular basis and never had to sit a repeat exam.

Ficheall wrote: »
    You're doing FME, right? I think the story there is slightly different, but I'd confirm that with someone in the dept. I know I failed the Actuarial type modules on a regular basis and never had to sit a repeat exam.

Yeah. I looked up the Denominated science marks and standards and think I came up with the goods. It's confusing because they don't defin modules/groups/subjects and like to interchange them. However I think you can't fall below 30% in a specific 5ects class, if you get over 30% and can compensate you don't need to repeat. Just wondering because I'll be away for the summer working and could really do without coming back in August.

Generally you need at least 30% to be able to compensate and double the difference in another subject (eg got 30%, need 50%+ in another module). If you're in final year though, I don't think you can pass by compensation. You'd be best to email someone in the College of Science office to get a definitive answer though. Linky

Ficheall wrote: »

Which ones do you mean by actuarial type modules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Pretty much anything DOR taught... You might have MH for them nowadays.

You mean the Maths of Finance ones, the oul stats is causing most of the problems these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Can anybody tell me roughly when last years results for civil law first year students were released please? thanks :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Jerkov

Mod Note:Post deleted as lecturers could be easily identified. Jerkov, do not post in the same manner again discussing lecturers or medical conditions. This may be considered as a stern warning!! PM if you require any clarification. Thank you

KittyeeTrix..