Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC World Darts Championship

• 16-12-2010 10:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭

Said id start a thread for this seeing as its starting tonight, Ive backed Anderson @ 16/1, Whitlock @ 12/1 and had a nibble on Co Stompe @ 125/1.

Anderson is the opposite side of the draw to taylor so that was my main reason for choosing him, others on thats side of the draw include Wade, Barneveld, jenkins, Newton, King and Painter. Most of the top players on this side of the draw are capable of beating each other so i feel Anderson is the value bet here. Scoring isnt a problem for him its hitting the doubles when it matters. If can sort his doubling out he could go a long way here.

Whitlock is my favourite player so thats why ive backed him, hasnt been in the form he was in at last years tournament but he has been showing signs of it lately and i think this format suits him down to the ground.

Co. stompe was an outsider who i felt was to big a price after his performance with barney in the world cup and he did reach the quarter finals here last year, plus hes a big hit with the fans.

I havent looked at any match bets yet but hopefully there will be a few lads on here who will spot a few good bets on here and make a few quid as i did last year:)

Ive also backed Wade and Whitlock to win their quarters @ just over 3/1 for the double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 seanog_athlone

Can see Wade goin well this year there was too much hype round him goin in last year and i think pressure got to him, but the man to beat is definetly Barney i think he is back to near his best and he loves the Worlds was playing rubbish darts goin into it last year and still managed a semi-final appearance to win his quater is a great 5/4 some handy dosh there i think.

Taylor is Taylor and the end of the day and can win it hands down but i think this year we are goin to see a different name on the trophy, Taylor hasnt been throwin well and has trimmed the darts again, i fancy Webster inhis quater @ 9/1

A Barney v Webster final is 100/1 well worth a small bet.

I'll save the big one for a Whitlock v Barney final @ 28/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Ive backed Gary Anderson e/w 18-1.Hopefully he will give me a good run for my mula!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭DJKendo

I will back Phil Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I went each way on withlock 16/1 barnie 16/1 and webster 66/1.

Hopefully 1 of them makes the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

The only advise i will give is don't back barney i am his biggest fan but he aint got the confidence anymore.I had a bad run recently but my luck has changed since tuesday i am actually up €647.50 since my rant on coughlan's log :DI think taylor will win it but @4/6 i wont back him my shout for outside value is kevin painter he aint the best thrower in the world but the pressure dont get to him and i don't think he will win it but i think he is the ew value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

any one have some bets on tonight matches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Headshot wrote: »
    any one have some bets on tonight matches?

couldnt find any real value tonight at all, there usually isnt anything of real value until the 2nd round onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Crowie13

I done a small treble tonight of Hamilton, Hashimoto and Dudbridge. Pays just over 11/2. COME ON FLASH :D

Also have a small E/W bet on Jelle Klassen at 125/1, he has the class and got to the quarter final of the world championship so seems to be playing ok at the moment.

Crowie13 wrote: »
    I done a small treble tonight of Hamilton, Hashimoto and Dudbridge. Pays just over 11/2. COME ON FLASH :D

nice bet, well done:)

dotsflan wrote: »
    nice bet, well done:)

Cheers didn't have much on it but a wins a win :D

Like one of the previous comments said there isn't much value in the early rounds so u need to pick 3 or 4 players to get any value. Have done a couple trebles so far and they haven't come in cos u need an outsider in 1 of the games to get some sort of return. The heart nearly ruled the head earlier and was gonna back Hashimoto to beat Anderson at 9's but decided against it :p

Love the ally pally though will have to clean the cobwebs off the dartboard during the week and have a few games :)

there seems to be a lot thought about nigel heydon this evening, personally i know nothing about him so cant comment but i do know that robert thornton can blow hot and cold and with the pressure that will be on him tonight maybe heydon could be worth a few quid at around 9/4. Hes beaten james wade this year and has taken some other notable scalps this year also.

(cue a 3-0 thornton win:p)

Gonna have another small treble tonight Laursen, Heydon and Newton. Pays roughly 15/2 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

any tips tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

dabestman1 wrote: »
    any tips tonight?

avid fan of darts and play myself..
    dont often bet on it though as the margin for error is minimal and often it can be hard to find a winner along with value..
    tonight though i would go for a double of

Jelle Klaasen 1/2 v Steve Brown
    Michael van Gerwen 4/5 v Mensur Suljovic

coughlan08 wrote: »
    avid fan of darts and play myself..
    dont often bet on it though as the margin for error is minimal and often it can be hard to find a winner along with value..
    tonight though i would go for a double of

Jelle Klaasen 1/2 v Steve Brown
    Michael van Gerwen 4/5 v Mensur Suljovic

Yeah i find your usually better off waiting for the longer formatfrom the 2nd round on for value, over the shorter format your more likely to get a shock, plus going on last years world championships the bookies usually tend to price up most 180s and total 180s markets wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

couldnt find any real value tonight at all, there usually isnt anything of real value until the 2nd round onwards

Do you make up your own prices?

Healio wrote: »
    Do you make up your own prices?

what do you mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Just asking, how can you say there is no value if you dont price it yourself?

Example for mine tonight:

1/1 Van Gerwen v Suljovic 1/1

N/o Mansell v Ridd N/o

1/8 Jenkins v Cullen 8/1

2/5 Klaasen v Brown 5/2

Suljovic a bit of value at 5/4 (Betfair/Betdaq) 11/10 Boyles, Jenkins at 1/5 (VC), Klassen 1/2 (General) 8/15 in places.

Healio wrote: »
    Just asking, how can you say there is no value if you dont price it yourself?

Example for mine tonight:

1/1 Van Gerwen v Suljovic 1/1

N/o Mansell v Ridd N/o

1/8 Jenkins v Cullen 8/1

2/5 Klaasen v Brown 5/2

Suljovic a bit of value at 5/4 (Betfair/Betdaq) 11/10 Boyles, Jenkins at 1/5 (VC), Klassen 1/2 (General) 8/15 in places.

ah right get you now! well in terms of players, i wouldnt know much about the lesser players in 1st round whereas id imagine the odds compilers would know more so thats why on my own terms i dont think theres value because i dont have a vast knowledge of the lower seeds.

folks what do ye think of this pp special

Dennis Priestley, Mark Walsh and Andy Smith to win 11/8

Im not going near the darts tonight, too many average players playing. Justin pipe is supposed to be an excellant player on the floor but cant seem to produce on tv. I saw him playing at the grand slam and he showed flashes of how good he can be so he may give walsh a tough time of it.

Dennis priestley isnt the force of old, and ive only seen Roith play once where he beat denis ovens and played well so maybe he could be worth a bet

I havent a clue about smiths opponent so he could be anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

i wouldnt say its a pp special now in fairness.its gone from 5/4 to a massive 11/8..
    id stay away from it anyway.too much risk involved.

Im not going near the darts tonight, too many average players playing. Justin pipe is supposed to be an excellant player on the floor but cant seem to produce on tv. I saw him playing at the grand slam and he showed flashes of how good he can be so he may give walsh a tough time of it.

Dennis priestley isnt the force of old, and ive only seen Roith play once where he beat denis ovens and played well so maybe he could be worth a bet

I havent a clue about smiths opponent so he could be anything

cheers dots ill take your advice

forgot to mention if your doing an accum tonight be prepared to stay up late!!:D Pipe is a very very slow player, walsh wouldnt be a rocket either. priestley and roith arent exactly pacey lol. Dont know how slow or fast the aussie who is playing the pieman is either

thoughts on this treble

Webster to beat Baxter, Nicholson to beat Wright and Hamilton to beat 11/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

i backed adrian lewis at 20s (just put on a 5r) at the start hes now at 11/4. I'm going to try lock in a profit by backing webster and if the final comes whoever he is playing in the final (probably anderson). Just wondering does anyone know roughly what price anderson will be against lewis in the final if that comes? I know sweet fa about darts and i just picked lewis knowing that he had trained with taylor for a few years and i heard he beat taylor in dublin so i backed him for a bit of interest in the tournament. Hopefully he can go on and win the whole thing but im willing to sacrifice 50 of the 100 i will win if it means il make a few bob out of it instead of goin empty handed. Wont be able to lay lewis as im not on betfair so would rather just back his opponents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

open a betfair account.i was on webster after the first match and im gona lay him tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

jive wrote: »
    i backed adrian lewis at 20s (just put on a 5r) at the start hes now at 11/4. I'm going to try lock in a profit by backing webster and if the final comes whoever he is playing in the final (probably anderson). Just wondering does anyone know roughly what price anderson will be against lewis in the final if that comes? I know sweet fa about darts and i just picked lewis knowing that he had trained with taylor for a few years and i heard he beat taylor in dublin so i backed him for a bit of interest in the tournament. Hopefully he can go on and win the whole thing but im willing to sacrifice 50 of the 100 i will win if it means il make a few bob out of it instead of goin empty handed. Wont be able to lay lewis as im not on betfair so would rather just back his opponents

I'd let it ride until the final, Lewis should beat Webster and if there was a big upset in the other tie, Lewis would be strong favourite to win it.
    Likelihood is though that it will be Lewis and Anderson in the final and my guess at the odds of that would be 4/6 Anderson and 11/8 Lewis, depending how both play in their respective matches obviously, Lewis is a renowned bottler though but he looks to be playing well so far.

I also strongly fancied Lewis to win it from the start but didnt get a cent on him ffs, will probably have a few bets tomorrow on him though, he's a machine for the 180's as is Anderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

i just threw 15 euro on webster. i expect lewis to win as well from watching the matches but you never know cause webster might come out flying after that taylor match. i will have a bigger bet then on anderson in the final then id say

edit; if they both get to the final obviously :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

Think a few decent bets for tonite are
    Anderson -1.5
    Over 27.5 180's
    Highest c/out over 136.5

All are around the evens mark.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Bookies must have made a fortune out it this year.