Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 1/2 relationship going down the drains or can it be saved? -- Please help!

• 15-12-2010 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

We are both very young, but approaching very quickly an age of independence. We have been together for a year and a half, but at the beginning of our relationship we broke up due to my mum. We got back together and Friday, December 17th is our 'unofficial-officail 1 year' as we like to call it. He has never done anything for me and by anything, I mean no birthday gifts (he's been around for two) no Christmas presents, nothing. I don't ask for anything but even something as simple as a handmade card or a $1 balloon, anything. I fear he will again present nothing on Friday (2 days away!) and if I will be able to stick around any longer. I do not want a relationship based on items, but the fact that he has done nothing naturally upsets me. I payed for our homecoming tickets and photos (about $150 all together) and he is starting to get controlling. He is also not as understanding of the sexual aspect of our relationship because that is not something I am comfortable with for moral and personal reasons. We have never had sex and I quite frankly don't want to especially with the way the relationship is looking. When we first met and up until about two months ago we loved eachother. Well, at least I loved him. When we first met, I knew he was the one. There was no mistaking that feeling. As the relationship progressed, it seemed it only got stronger until now. Now he is buying lunch for female friends, inviting them to his house, ect, ect. He knows I'm tight on money and, while I was next to him, he purchased lunch for a female friend of his. I've considered breaking up, but I know I won't be able to deal with seeing him with another. I really wish we hadn't met until we were older, out of school and could focus on us. I'm a bit stuck in the middle of what to do because he says that if we break up, it's for good but I want that chance in the future when we CAN focus on us. Does anyone have advice of what I can do because if he does nothing Friday I quite frankly don't know I can do this anymore. Please help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Zeouterlimits

What has he said every time he doesn't give you a present?
    Surely ye talked about this a few times? This is obviously an issue, so, simply put, sit him down and make him understand what an issue this is for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Regardless, you're selling yourself short.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

He sounds like a bit of an eejit to be honest with you. Feck him, and move on with your life. You sound pretty young, so I'm guessing this is your first proper relationship. You'll get over it quickly enough, and find someone who respects you and is on a more compatible wave-length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Today is the day and he did nothing. It has been talked through over and over again and I have decided to break it off. We are not terribly young (16) but regardless. I can't waste anymore of my high school years slaving away at his side.

Thank you all.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Today is the day and he did nothing. It has been talked through over and over again and I have decided to break it off. We are not terribly young (16) but regardless. I can't waste anymore of my high school years slaving away at his side.

Thank you all.

Yes you are :P. Glad to hear you dumped his loser ass. Good for you :)