Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun Club website, Good idea or Bad?

• 15-12-2010 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

I have being trying to garner some support within our club to have a club website, the purpose is to promote the club and keep members updated on important items like the BAN and event set in the calendar like clay shoots etc:
    quite a few clubs in Ireland have websites, are they expensive to build and operate? how much club effort is involved? do they work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

I set one up for our club a while back. Got compliants from members and had to take it down. I think it would be a great idea for the non shooting people to see the work we do out of season and to understand it isn't just about killing things. If the sport was more visable i think the greens etc would have nothing to say.

Anthony
    www.ishootandfish.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 canon shooter

I think a website is a great idea to promote the work your club does. I've seen a few good websites from clubs like http://www.rathcormacgunclub.ie/ , http://bandtgunclub.bravehost.com/ and http://owenmull2.yolasite.com/. the one from rathcormac is especially good they have a lot of information on releasing birds and they have loads of videos of hunting and shooting.Maybe you should try and get in contact with one of those clubs to find out how much work is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

When I put together the website for our club we kept it well hidden from prying eyes and used it only for the club members and friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Here's a proper Gun Club Website!;)

http://www.rathcormacgunclub.ie/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

we set up a website for our club ...cost nothing....good for public relations and draws in a few quid for your club http://owenmull2.yolasite.com go for it and welcome to the 21st century......... Athboy gun club have a good website also dunderry gun club (pullandbang)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 JackSnipe

thanks Terminator2, I had a look at your site, it looks great, better than the NARGC.IE (which is hard to navigate and you have to scroll down forever) how do you make a few quid, is it advertising and are you hitting the same people for sponsorship again (local business & members) or do ye sell stuff?
    is the website paying for itself in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

grand site. very good vids:)

since this thread was posted ive noticed a large increase in traffic to our website ,all the lads not out shooting because of the cold weather ban are sitting in twiddleing their thumbs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

if there are guestbooks sign them and say something:D Its the equivalent of dropping in and having a cup of tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

It's a great idea but it definately wouldn't work for the gunclub I used to be in, they're so inbred they'd never be able to type with their webbed fingers! :D

Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Great site fair play. The NARGC site could do with being more like that:rolleyes:

Hey CS i signed your guestbook but got no tea or sandwiches:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭IceMaiden

I would say to the OP yes try your best to get them to agree on having a website, in today’s world its one of the easiest forms of contact or to post news information etc. Like others have said a small number of company’s do provide the facility for a free website or the social networks like face book again free & easily viewable even by mobile phones.
    The links to the established club sites all look good ,the only thing I would say if launching a new site or up-dating one is if ever possible try to remember a good number of users still only have dial-up access or slightly second rate broadband & so some items on sites can be nearly impossible to view or take forever. Apart from that its an item that can be adjusted or up-dated as often as required but they are mostly reasonably easy to build & maintain.:)

IceMaiden wrote: »
    I would say to the OP yes try your best to get them to agree on having a website, in today’s world its one of the easiest forms of contact or to post news information etc. Like others have said a small number of company’s do provide the facility for a free website or the social networks like face book again free & easily viewable even by mobile phones.
    The links to the established club sites all look good ,the only thing I would say if launching a new site or up-dating one is if ever possible try to remember a good number of users still only have dial-up access or slightly second rate broadband & so some items on sites can be nearly impossible to view or take forever. Apart from that its an item that can be adjusted or up-dated as often as required but they are mostly reasonably easy to build & maintain.:)
    good point a good few lads access our website on their i phones