Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Income

Options
  • 15-12-2010 1:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 22

Can someone please help me with a little advise on having a second income as a part time musician. I wish to register and go about this legally but i don't know the procedure.

If i regsiter as self employed how do i submit my tax returns on top of my existing job?

I'm not good with accounts so would appreciate it if someone could keep this very simple for me.

Also can anyone tell me on average how much an accountant would charge for this service to sort this out for me

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭nompere

Accountants charge according to the amount of time they spend looking after a client. Expect to pay a minimum of €80 per hour.

Depending on the level of income you either include it in a Form 12, which is pretty easy, or a Form 11, which looks quite daunting. In either case you have to put your PAYE income and any other income and credit claims onto the form. Net earnings of €3000 or less just go onto a Form 12.

You are already registered for income tax, because you are on PAYE, so unless you are going to be earning enough to have to charge VAT (basically over €37,500 in gross earnings per annum) there's no further registration required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ronanmc1987