Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you pronounce baby?

• 14-12-2010 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

Is it bay-by or bah-by ?

I have always thought it was bay-by. But then i have heard people say bah-by. Which is it?

Who on earth says bay-by. If anything I'd pronounce it bay-bee, but not bay-bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Bay-bee.
    What a strange thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is it bay-by or bah-by ?

I have always thought it was bay-by. But then i have heard people say bah-by. Which is it?

Bay-by

Bah-by if you're the child's granny or retarded.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

it's neither, it's bay- be(e)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

bay bee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Bay-Bee.

Who says bay-by? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I pronouce with a silent 'B' like ah-bee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

They say Peda-file in America, perhaps you could move there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Who on earth says bay-by. If anything I'd pronounce it bay-bee, but not bay-bye.
    alwaysadub wrote: »
    Bay-bee.
    What a strange thread!
    realies wrote: »
    bay bee
    Larkin91 wrote: »
    Bay-Bee.

Who says bay-by? :confused:

You mean, one of these?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭the west wing

I call it 'it'.

Awww who's'a cute ickle bee? You're a key-oot ickle bee. Yes you are, yes you are!

Er. *manly cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

*tick* *tick* *tick*

What's that ticking sound OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Is it bay-by or bah-by ?

Have you ever heard any romantic song ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

syklops wrote: »
    They say Peda-file in America, perhaps you could move there.

For some reason this reminded me of how poor auld Snuffleupagus Gerry Ryan used to pronounce it "Paid-Oh-feel".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I pronounce just fine, sweetie, how do you pronounce?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

wain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'd pronounce it "shuddawornarubba"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Bay-bee.
    What a strange thread![/QUOTE]

Are you suprised :)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Is it bay-by or bah-by ?

It's plain and simple baby

bay B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

rhymes with hayley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

rhymes with hayley.

just pretend there's a b instead of an l alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

or as the young girl asked in the face of mother adversity, how do you announce baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Penny for the babby *holds out hand*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

frey-da

this is a parody thread right?

buhbuh boo ya big bawlin babby mcdonagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

it's bay-bee! unless your from walford

"what abat the bay-bay?"

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Bay-bee

Unless you're from a certain community, Mullingar or Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Dur-ex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

bay-bee

house or ousse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭gothicus

I love it when you call me Big Poppa
    Wave your handz in da air
    Like you’s a true playa
    I love it when you call me Big Poppa
    You got a gun up in your waist
    Please don’t shoot up the place
    Coz I see some laydeez tonite
    Who should be havin’ my baby…..baby!

Papa > big pop poppa would you trust that man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

It's Bay-Bee

Only ever heard culchies say Bah-Bee

It's Bay-Bee

may bee the case.

-maybe.

baby, but if you want extra cuteness they say "teh bah be" "bambino" "sprog" and so on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

In general converstaion its bay-bee. If chating to a friend or cousin and asking about their baby, then its, 'hows the bah-bee?'

Saila wrote: »
    baby, but if you want extra..

nah, thats fine i'll take it! cheers ;-

now just.. whose baby to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

The word has lost all meaning now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

HardLuckWoman appears to have gotten herself up the duff.

It's the only explanation I can think of for this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

irish-stew wrote: »
    In general converstaion its bay-bee. If chating to a friend or cousin and asking about their baby, then its, 'hows the bah-bee?'

Might be something in that, which reminds me of how some people change Santa into Santee. :confused:

LordSutch wrote: »
    Might be something in that, which reminds me of how some people change Santa into Santee. :confused:

or lordsuch into lordsutch ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

HardLuckWoman appears to have gotten herself up the duff.

It's the only explanation I can think of for this thread.

Don't be starting rumours. I am a long way off yet from having kids. They're scary, i'd rather have puppies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's Fray-da.
    Don't be starting rumours. I am a long way off yet from having kids. They're scary, i'd rather have puppies.

I'd consider a puppy crawling out your babby-hole to be scarier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Tomato, tomato; potato, potato

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

You're a retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe