Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinion of Frank Fahy in dail

• 14-12-2010 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭

What are the good things Frank fahy has done while in the dail.
    I keep hearing he has a couple of houses and only cares about property development but is he really that involved in it or just took a punt on a few places,how could he afford this anyway.
    He keeps getting re-elected in Galway and only last week was saying young couples should get on the property Market,surely this is a wrong time to buy!
    What's peoples opinion of him in Galway as I get mixed reports,he helped out a friend with a planning issue couple yrs back and another friend with immigration problem.
    Can't b all bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Voted for the bank bailouts and budgets so therefore no chance i'll be vote voting for him even if he helped out 100 of my friends, he's screwed over thousands more

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Email him and ask
    frank.fahey @ oireachtas.ie

When you say he 'helped' a friend with a 'planning' issue...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

Was nothing major,just a planning issue with a house which should never of been turned down and he helped speed it through for a positive result.
    He did nothing illegal I might add,obviously planners will listen to him over a general civilian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

beagle001 wrote: »
    he helped out a friend with a planning issue couple yrs back and another friend with immigration problem.

enough said, he's poking his nose where it does not belong in return for votes or favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

He did nothing illegal I might add,obviously planners will listen to him over a general civilian.

Why should they ? Does he have some expertise in planning? If there are planning rules they should be followed the same way for everyone.

This idea if having a TD to get things done is what is wrong with this country.

He is like any other politician,we are stuck with him I think or will Galway re elect fahy.
    Who could challenge him Peter keane might be running,young fella nit into the property crowd and might bring a fresh approach to politics.
    Surely fahy is in there over 25 yrs has he not contributed to 1 good idea for the country or spearheaded a novice idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

He is like any other politician,we are stuck with him I think or will Galway re elect fahy.
    Who could challenge him Peter keane might be running,young fella nit into the property crowd and might bring a fresh approach to politics.
    Surely fahy is in there over 25 yrs has he not contributed to 1 good idea for the country or spearheaded a novice idea.

am

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Not many people in galway like Fahey.
    Peter Keane is well into property - has residential investment properties in Taylor’s Hill, Nile Lodge, in the Liosbán Industrial Estate, and Oranmore, as well as agricultural land in Moycullen.
    Hopefully no fianna fail will get elected in the whest. We have to have some hope :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Folks, I've deleted a small number of posts from this thread. Keep the actionable comments to your own blog where you're legally liable for them.

edit: if you've got an issue with this, please PM me rather than (aka "instead of") posting hilarious ironic commentary on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Here he is trying to deal with someone who knows what he's talking about. Like some others in our government, he's either grossly incompetent or a liar.

ascanbe wrote: »
    Here he is trying to deal with someone who knows what he's talking about. Like some others in our government, he's either grossly incompetent or a liar.

oh lord!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭kaiser sauze

Matthews did very well to contain himself while dealing with that Fianna Fáil parrot/crony. If I were in Matthews position, the flamethrower would have been out and there would have been no survivors.

great point there kaiser

the neck on him is something to be observed

a gombeen first*, teacher second and a man blessed to be landed in positions deserving of his undivided and honest attentions

I guess 2/3 ain't bad

Frank will go down in the history books alongside the rest of the mé féin'ers*

* my own personal view of the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

sceptre wrote: »
    Folks, I've deleted a small number of posts from this thread. Keep the actionable comments to your own blog where you're legally liable for them.

edit: if you've got an issue with this, please PM me rather than (aka "instead of") posting hilarious ironic commentary on the thread.

Since one of those posts deleted was mine as it was deemed libellous,
    I shall post this in reply and I don't see how anything in this post being libellous, since these are facts and a matter of Dail record and apepar on websites detailing Dail debates.
    Some of these facts have been arrived at by none other than the Ombudsman Emily O'Reilly.

It is important that one gets the full picture of the subject of this thread and no debate on this person is complete without mention of the Lost At Sea scheme.

The "Lost at Sea" scheme.

There were 67 applicants for compensation, and only 6 were deemed to qualify for compensation. 2 of these happened to be constituents of frank fahey.
    It then transpires that of the €2.8m compensation paid, 75% of this money went to these same two constituents. Not only that, but Mr Fahey consulted with these two individuals 4 months before the launch of the scheme, and, wrote a letter two months before the scheme ended congratulating these same two constituents about the success of their application.

Ombudsman report by Emily O'Reilly.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0204/1224263735064.html

This already appears in the Dáil debates (www.kilarestreet.com) and I presume if libellous would have been removed from the website.

Oireactas debate 15 Oct 2009 with Tom Sheehan FG of Kerry South.
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2009-10-15.341.0#g343.10

I shall refer to it. It points out that while acknowledging that the Department, under European Council Regulation No. 2371/2002, is of the opinion that the lost at sea scheme cannot be revisited, the Ombudsman’s office considers that it did not address the central issue which is that the scheme was seriously deficient and flawed as outlined in previous correspondence to the Department. Accordingly, the office has reverted to the Department requesting that it outline how it proposes to address this issue.

The lost at sea scheme was introduced, as the Minister of State noted, to get people back fishing who had lost their boats. It was abused and in the Ombudsman’s words, was “seriously deficient and flawed”. I am led to believe the Ombudsman’s report will be brought to the House next week with a recommendation that one family which was refused entry into the scheme would have to be compensated. The point is that 62 other applicants were refused. This is what I am trying to find out and that was why I posed the question as I did, to receive an answer from the Minister of State.

Has the Minister of State looked at the financial repercussions that may be present for the taxpayer and the State? Has he discussed this with his Departmental colleague, the Minister of State, Deputy Trevor Sargent, who lodged a complaint with the Standards in Public Office Commission regarding the handling by former Ministers of the scheme? Does the Minister of State, Deputy Sargent, still consider that Deputy Fahey’s handling of the scheme is worthy of complaint?

And the piece de resistance.
    I have to lead up to it. It was the way it was worked. Four months before the scheme was launched the then Minister met with the two applicants and told them to apply. The closing date for the scheme was December 2001 yet the Minister wrote to the two applicants in October 2001 and congratulated them. Thereafter, the Attorney General’s advice was that they had to receive this settlement because of the Minister’s letter. This was a con job and a set-up. I ask the Minister of State, Deputy Sargent, while he is present, if he still believes this con job is worthy of a complaint to the Standards in Public Office Commission.

I am not allowed discuss …

Just watched that video and mr.fahy came accross as a complete incompetent.
    I now see that he is hellbent on protecting his mates and personal assets.
    Who ever that guy was speaking actually understands the issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Its a great pity and a tremendous loss to the country that people like Mr Matthews don't get actively involved in politics themselves. He'd get my vote. Here's another commentary from him, if you liked what he had to say to Fahy:
    The ECB is 50 per cent culpable, but we are to pay 100 per cent of price. THE GOVERNMENT has signed us up to a bad deal. The European Union and the European Central Bank (ECB) have stitched us up.

The taxpayer is now being forced to repay money to the European banking system as well as the Irish banking system because of policies implemented by the Government, by people who frankly don’t know what they were about and haven’t the wit to learn from those who do, even when it’s clearly and comprehensively explained to them.

We have been used by a European banking system that was flush with cash and needed someone to lend to. It operated recklessly and with dereliction of a duty of care. The EU banking elite, the European Commission and the ECB don’t care what damage they do to our country. They just want their money back at any cost.

There is no European solidarity here. That too is an illusion of our deluded politicians and officials. We needed a strong negotiating team with the will and the nerve to say “No! Here’s what the people of Ireland need. This is what we will accept.”

We needed tough negotiators prepared to withstand the pressures that were brought to bear on them, because they understood what they were about and knew it was right. We needed our best politicians to back this team.

This Government had no right to agree to the deal the Taoiseach announced on Sunday night. This Government has failed us. It should be removed immediately, without delay.
    As for Frank, I think his performance speaks for itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Just watched that video and mr.fahy came accross as a complete incompetent.
    I now see that he is hellbent on protecting his mates and personal assets.
    Who ever that guy was speaking actually understands the issues

Google Peter Matthews, he has been telling the government the correct course of action to take since this crisis began and has continually being ignored by the government who have invested interest in stopping certain information getting out and insuring certain people are looked after or the true state of corruption in the party throughout this boom will become known.

My opinion of course.