Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rob quits smoking for charity - give give give

• 12-12-2010 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭

Listen up, boardsies.

This is actually one of the main reasons I wanted this job in the SU: I got input into the choice of charity.

You've probably heard of the Santa Strike Force. It's a boards-related charity that buys Christmas presents for children who, for whatever reason, don't show up on Santa's radar. This charity is also particularly close to my own heart for various reasons. Sometimes the family is broke, sometimes the kid is in hospital - it doesn't matter.

I'm quitting smoking - no, really - after being on them for the bones of a decade and giving a week's worth of smoking money (5x8.55) to the charity. And as a sacrafice to encourage others to give.

Basically I'm going to be insufferable for a week. Anyone who's quit smoking before or tried to knows what I mean!

I strongly, strongly, strongly encourage you to throw a few coins in the buckets. I'll be out, Liz Murray VP Welfare will be out and there'll be a few members of the Exec out as well. It's a really good cause.

Santa only comes when grown-ups step up. I am personally asking you to step up.

(And yes I will beat you into giving)

*Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Great choice of charity. Best of luck, I'll be sure to seek out those buckets and throw a few quid in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

And I will do my best not to assault people who really didn't do anything. It's win-win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Any other members of the Exec giving up anything or doing something for it, will definitely go looking for a bucket to toss a few coins into. Great choice of charity and good luck surviving without the smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭smiles302

Will definitely throw any cash I find lying around himself's pockets :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Will definitely throw in what I can spare :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Awesome charity and awesome thing to do! Best of luck!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I'll throw cúpla airgead in anyway

I'm immediately beginning to regret this. By Tuesday I'll actually be beating the money out of people.

DO NOT GIVE ME A SMOKE, no matter how much money I offer / how much I threaten you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I hope you are at least waiting till new years to quit, It would be horrible trying to give them up during the holidays!

but fair play to you man, I'll make sure to throw some money in.

I always feel like i want to smoke after watching this clip, im not sure why though!

I will update my varying levels of misery here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Good luck hoss!

Chocolate is so much better anyway.

This is going to be a looong day.

Hang in there!! Just think of all the extra money you'll have! I likes money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Keep up the good work man.

I'm going to die.

/Aengus strolls into my office

Aengus: Coming out for a cigarette?
    Me: *stares hopelessly*
    Aengus: Oh yeah... sorry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭leopoldbloom

banquo wrote: »
    /Aengus strolls into my office

Aengus: Coming out for a cigarette?
    Me: *stares hopelessly*
    Aengus: Oh yeah... sorry...

TOTALLY unintentional... Promise I wont do it again today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Cigarette-Smoking.jpg

:P

Ah no, I'm being mean.

How much has been raised so far Rob? Also, yous going to be around with buckets for the rest of the week? I didn't dare step foot on north campus, what with it being christmas day, and my inability to drink en ce moment.

I didn't see any buckets today :(

They were outside John Hume for ages earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

amyputz wrote: »
    Were they the same charity? I thought they were different.

amyputz wrote: »
    Really? I passed by there at about 1.15 and again at 2.45 and didn't see anyone :confused: Oh well, I'll get them sometime during the week

Oh I didn't pass them directly, just assumed

Haven't counted but looks like the bones of 300 quid. Well done to Ruaidhri Boland who did a *great* job collecting it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Well done Banquo. Your doing exceptionally good work. Just keep in mind the good that's being done. How happy the child will be when receiving a present they didn't think was coming to them. Which is a warming and wonderful thought!

Congratulations my friend.

This is Hellish. Never, ever start smoking.

Support appreciated though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

banquo wrote: »
    Santa only comes when grown-ups step up. I am personally asking you to step up.

Really well put Rob.

This is actually keeping me awake.

I never, ever want to have to quit smoking again.

Never, ever start smoking. It's more addictive than a few words of warning on the packet can convey. Ask any smoker. Jesus,I'm glad I'm doing it now and not when I'm 50. That must be impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Are you quitting entirely? G'wan!

Fair play to you Rob, it was smoking that killed both my granddads, they just couldn't stop, and neither of them were even 60 when they went. I've never, ever had a fag and I don't intend to. I see how crazy people get when they go for like a few hours without one, it's hard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Ye giving them up for good or just a week bobert?

Money sitting here in my office. Will count when I get a chance. Will be out collecting tomorrow too, but sadly no time today :(

So you still going strong now? =D