Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Shogun was broken into twice in 1 week.WTF?

• 12-12-2010 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭

So I've had my shogun 3 years now and no thief has ever looked twice at it as its an old rough enough 97 piece of crap. Anyway last week i got a nice shiny new winch fitted to the front of it. It must be a thief/scum magnet as on Wednesday night passed I arrived into the under ground car park of the Harlequin hotel in Dublin at 7.00pm.The thieve/thieves must have been watching me as the barrier comes down at 8.00pm.

So sometime in that hour they tried to bust the lock with a screw driver and failed miserably, they managed to wreck the lock and surrounding door and left with no shogun in their dirty hands.That was all well and good, the hotel agreed to pay for the damaged to be repaired. So I left Dublin and headed back to Letterkenny.

So on Saturday night I went into town at 1.00am and got a 4-lights take-away and got back to the house at around 1.30am, I looked out at 2.30am too see 4 guards shining their torches at my jeep. I thought to myself WTF have I done I'm in trouble here.

So i went out and they began to question me, "Is this your vehicle? are you long back from town? have you been out at it since you were back?" i answered Yes,30 mins,No. They then said well we have had a report of two fellas at this jeep acting strangely. So do you want to check her out to see if anything was missing. I explained to the guard what happened on Wednesday and that i couldn't lock the jeep because the lock was fecked.I discovered that the second thieves took some Christmas presents that I bought in Dublin a day earlier. Fecking children's play doe making sets. Now who the feck would steal those from a back of a jeep and not steal any of the items in the front including a speed camera detector worth 150 quid.(ill come onto that later). They had a good rummage around the front too scattering everything about, didn't even touch the radio and it just pulls out of they wanted it.Im guessing the drove past or walked passed and notcied the lock being open and were just opportunistic thieves that didn't have anything in particular in mind to steal, The jeep was parked outside a house on tara court, I have no idea who reported the two men but i am thankful because if the guards didn't arrive i would be wondering where the feck did i put the shopping from Dublin.

So how to I stop attention from thieves to this jeep? does anyone know the price of a decent Clifford system? as there is no form of security on the jeep at the minute, a well practiced thieve could have it down the road in 5 mins if he wanted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

My guess is its a jap import and the lack of immobiliser is attracting them. Best deterant might be a good steering lock.

Get the lock fixed and lash a stoplock pro on it, makes it awkward to steal then. Won't help with break ins obviously. Did the Gardai say anything about the detection equipment ?

My guess is its a jap import .

Were the shoguns not UK yokes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

no it's a shogun so its a uk import, still no immobilizer or alarm, there was an old after market alarm installed but it was broken when i got it and isn't wired up any more. Anyone know about Clifford systems? Would i get a basic one for under 200?

oh yea the traffic corp fella shined his light on it and said, will you do me a favor and get that of the dash so i can't see it, I can seize that under the customs and something act.So i quickly whipped it off the dash wile bricking it, he was more than sound for not taking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR0uOlmAee15SMr7h5uokdO6S1VRKR1ztMgdmzTIv_SkDdK-FatfQ

-Corkie- wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR0uOlmAee15SMr7h5uokdO6S1VRKR1ztMgdmzTIv_SkDdK-FatfQ

is that the new clifford g5?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Nobodys allowed to drive jap cars anymore aapparantly, f*cking scum :( , dont think the winch made a difference, just coincidence id say, although it could be the same lads looking for a vehicle to steal an ATM with

it has to be like a red rag to a bull, i mean it an old 97 jeep with plently battle scares. Who would want it, its never been touched and ive left it parked in many a places where it could have been nicked. once the winch was put on it, it's been targeted twice.

here's what the fuss is about.

162838_1479036092191_1122438763_31025804_4614483_n.jpg
    76409_1474256852713_1122438763_31016341_3552935_n.jpg

ill get some pics of the damage later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Testament1

Guard was fair sound for not taking the detector. I'd say if you even had a flashing blue led on the dash it might be enough of a deterent if they think its got an alarm system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

could come in handy for pullin an atm out of a wall!!

well the winch is rated for 5.7 tonne or 125000lbs, do you thing that would be enough to pull an ATM out?yea I've been looking at those fake flashing blue led yokes on eBay for a tenner, but i like the idea of a Clifford in it because there usually be's valuable stuff in it i'm just lucky they got away with 50 quids worth of children's toys,all i know is my christmas will still be nicer than theirs :D, i hope they die squealing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I don't think you'd get a Clifford for under €300 these days, have a look at these:

http://www.aaasystems.ie/Security.html

http://www.caralarms.ie/clifford-car-alarms.php

http://www.mdsireland.ie/

Maybe the winch made them think that there were tools in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

They probably thought it was abandoned due to lack of numberplate on front

Good point, there could be anything in the back of it from week to week, like last week there was a civil defense water pump worth 4000 euro and another grand worth of hoses and equipment.I need a good alarm it seems these days.The winch basically doubles the value of her :pac:

kazul wrote: »
    They probably thought it was abandoned due to lack of numberplate on front

It was parked in a hotel underground car park and 15 feet outside a house in tara court, on both occasions the engine would have been warm they were that quick to hop on it, Lots of yoks have number plates on the front as it's perfectly legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'd say the snow and icy roads made it more attractive to the scum than the winch. Get a big chain and padlock and attach it between the steering wheel and seat support as an interim measure.

Yea thats what i was thinking in Dublin, great for the snow, also great for stealing cars as you could pull anything up onto a trailer.I don't think ill be doing that as it would be a right bit of awkwardness locking and unlocking the chain every time you get in or out of it,It would be a good idea if i was leaving it parked up for a week or something, but on both occasions the warmth of my ass had not left the seat till these scumbag leaches where in having a look to see what they could scavenge.

I'm thinking on getting two flashing blue led's like a Clifford and two Clifford warning stickers for the windows, depending on the cost of a real Clifford system, that i could get installed by a friend.(off to eBay to search)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

bmw535d wrote: »
    no it's a shogun so its a uk import, still no immobilizer or alarm, there was an old after market alarm installed but it was broken when i got it and isn't wired up any more. Anyone know about Clifford systems? Would i get a basic one for under 200?

I doubt you'd get a basic Clifford for that price, I forked out €850 for mine a few weeks back, great piece of mind but not cheap

Onkle wrote: »
    I doubt you'd get a basic Clifford for that price, I forked out €850 for mine a few weeks back, great piece of mind but not cheap

so where is the catch with this then? obviously i would have to get it installed.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Clifford-G5-Concept-470-Car-Alarm-and-Car-Immobilser-/170578251591?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item27b7418f47#ht_897wt_803

and this?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Clifford-G5-Arrow-5-1-Car-Alarm-and-Immobilser-Security-/170571816550?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item27b6df5e66#ht_815wt_803

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

surely an experienced mechanic/auto electrician could install it in a day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

they are only as good as the installation imo, I'd rather get a qualified Clifford installer if it was me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Absurdum wrote: »
    I don't think you'd get a Clifford for under €300 these days, have a look at these:

http://www.aaasystems.ie/Security.html

http://www.caralarms.ie/clifford-car-alarms.php

http://www.mdsireland.ie/

Maybe the winch made them think that there were tools in it?

My Clifford set me back €650; worth it for a Type R Integra but maybe not for a 97 Shogun... My girlfriend got an alarm from MDS called (I think) a Cobra; its made by Clifford and is very good. MDS even threw on the Clifford blue flashing light and the door window stickers and I think it came to about €250. Well worth it Id say.

Cliffords are very difficult to install correctly (or so Im led to believe). No point in buying the system and then having someone do a half arsed job of installing it; you may as well just print out signs for the windows asking people not to break into your car!

yea, well you see the problem is the shogun isn't worth an expensive fancy Clifford installed alarm, but i don't want to get one of those cheap Chinese ****e alarms that work for a year and then break, causing a load of false alarms and dead battery annoyances, id say that was what happened the last alarm in it.

so if a Clifford installed Clifford alarm is out the window, can anyone recommend a decent say uk jap made alarm system that an auto electrician could install?

djimi wrote: »
    .. My girlfriend got an alarm from MDS called (I think) a Cobra;

One of them on the ole lad's car.
    Mr 535 dude, call into any alarm specialist near you, they should be able to lash a good system in for a few hundred including immobilisation.

yea, well you see the problem is the shogun isn't worth an expensive fancy Clifford installed alarm, but i don't want to get one of those cheap Chinese ****e alarms that work for a year and then break, causing a load of false alarms and dead battery annoyances, id say that was what happened the last alarm in it.

so if a Clifford installed Clifford alarm is out the window, can anyone recommend a decent say uk jap made alarm system that an auto electrician could install?

I recommended one above. Call MDS and enquire about the Cobra alarm. Its just a rebranded Clifford and is not expensive. Youre better off getting a proper alarm company to install it; at least you know they will do a good job and they will stand over it.