Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DeGale

• 11-12-2010 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭

i'm enjoying watching every second of this fighter.
    Unreal skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

yep hes fighting nicely, shame we'll never see daz knock him out:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Smiths mind must be absolutley exhaused dealing with degale. :D
    He must be tormented .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

yep hes fighting nicely, shame we'll never see daz knock him out:(

Watching it it's so weird that's all I keep thinking. :( Fair play to DeGale he is a class act but I just can't stop thinking about what could and should have been. :(

Lads i've no idea what your both on about??

Darren Sutherland. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

The more I see of De Gale the more I think this guy is an absolutely SUPERB prospect.

If you put aside his personality (which I'm beginning to get used to) and just look at his skills, it's hard to see where there's any weakness. He was so comfortable right throughout, no worries about stamina, so relaxed, impossible to hit cleanly, completely natural in either stance, superb combinations from unusual angles, physically strong, hard punching, mixed speed in his punches...

I will be very surprised if he doesn't go on to be an outstanding world champ.

Ah ya jesus forgot about darren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Smith didn't have a clue how to get near him, Degale was constantly switching his stance. He's a brilliant talent but also a complete co*k.

I'd hate to fight him.Your brain would be melted after round 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

He has tremendous talent, passed a very big test tonight with flying colours.

Still has a habit of hitting with the sides and back of his gloves and is a little bit cavalier with the head at times, but he fought superbly tonight.

Daz used to beat him more often than he'd lose to him in the amateurs, how do you guys reckon a pro fight would have played out?

Degale is quicker but id imagine Daz hit alot harder. Its funny because Daz had a far more pro style that Degale, and id have thought degale would have had the measure of daz in terms of speed and precision in the amateurs and daz would beat him in the pro game. But watching that im not sure how things would have played out.

How do you guys reckon it would have gone? Jaysus its so sad thinking about the buzz we'd probably have looking forward to that fight and the slagging in the build up etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

degale has a bit of class, hes ahead of domestic level and it was a good fight for him to take.

He should now aim for european title in next 2-3 years, he lacks power but his stamina surprised me.

daz wudda knocked him cold out within 5-6 rds at pro level - no doubt:mad:

Boooourns wrote: »
    Smith didn't have a clue how to get near him, Degale was constantly switching his stance. He's a brilliant talent but also a complete co*k.

very harsh. Met him through a friend of mine in London, he fought out of Dale youth in Kensington in London I believe. Gent of a fella, the whole cocky thing is a persona really, and i think it will sell alot of tickets.

Jayob10 wrote: »
    very harsh. Met him through a friend of mine in London, he fought out of Dale youth in Kensington in London I believe. Gent of a fella, the whole cocky thing is a persona really, and i think it will sell alot of tickets.

Definitely, DeGale has the cockiness and confidence that is needed to become a top boxer and he has to the skills to be a world class fighter, he is something special.

Gotta love Ovil Mckenzie.

Fair enough but i can only go on what i've seen and heard from him on the telly and the lad just doesn't come accross well on it at all.

Hes going the Naz or PBF route, where he tries to get as many people as possible to pay to see him knocked out :p

haha good tactic lol

Haha he's going to make a fortune off me then!
    Have to say though i love watching him box, just pure class and i'm looking forward to watching his career.

Ahh can't believe the ref stepped in there. Don't like Bellew at all, he will be KO'd soon by any decent fighter his defense is shocking.

Terrible stoppage, i had mackenzie backed at 7/2, i'm fuming.

I hate boxing :( saw a few more replays of it and it was a joke of a stopagge, the ref should be ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I've liked DeGale ever since he came out after one of his fights and paid tribute to Darren Sutherland. He was the only person i heard on Sky to do that. It was pretty classy i thought.

He does come across as a bit of a gob****e before fights but to be honest i just laugh along now at this stage, he's always pretty respectful after and showed that again tonight when he tried to console Smith, even gave him a little kiss. How nice!

He's one hell of a talent though, Adam Booth looked a bit shocked in the interview after, he didn't know what to say. I have no doubt he would beat Groves.

Hard to say how a fight with Sutherland would have went. As somebody mentioned you'd have thought DeGale was more suited to amateur boxing than Daz but Daz was ahead on head to heads in the ams. Either way, it would have been a very interesting fight.

What a pity.

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I've liked DeGale ever since he came out after one of his fights and paid tribute to Darren Sutherland. He was the only person i heard on Sky to do that. It was pretty classy i thought.

He does come across as a bit of a gob****e before fights but to be honest i just laugh along now at this stage, he's always pretty respectful after and showed that again tonight when he tried to console Smith, even gave him a little kiss. How nice!

He's one hell of a talent though, Adam Booth looked a bit shocked in the interview after, he didn't know what to say. I have no doubt he would beat Groves.

Hard to say how a fight with Sutherland would have went. As somebody mentioned you'd have thought DeGale was more suited to amateur boxing than Daz but Daz was ahead on head to heads in the ams. Either way, it would have been a very interesting fight.

What a pity.

Oh I have no doubt he would beat Groves. The house of cards may come falling down now for Mr Booth should Haye suffer at the hands of either Klitschko and Degale wiping the floor with Groves.

I fully expect Booth to keep Groves out of Degales way after he saw that tonight.
    He also mentioned Ruslan Chagaev as a possible mandatory for Haye so he may sidestep Wlad and Vitali also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Degale was suberb. All the nonsense about stamina put to one side, he got stronger as the fight went on. First time i'd seen Smith and he was useless. He stood in range the whole time taking punishment. Never occurred to him to move when not throwing. Clueless. Degale is inexperienced but he's already a class above Groves, Booth knew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Bodhisopha wrote: »

What a pity.

What people tend to forget is that in two of those wins by Darren, the English camp were fuming believing that DeGale should have won both clearly, so the stats are a bit misleading, especially when you look at how easy DeGale beat him in the Olympics.

Sorry to point it out and absolutely no disrespect to Darren who I always liked and do think would have made an excellent pro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Terrible stoppage, i had mackenzie backed at 7/2, i'm fuming.

I had Bellew to win by KO at 4/6

Anyway, DeGale, jaysus he is hard to like, but not hard to like what he does in the ring, although you find yourself willing his opponent on.

Here are a couple of snaps I took last night. Joe, have you got any gooduns?

58002_130539627007396_100001540776116_194460_6302952_n.jpg

68201_130539690340723_100001540776116_194462_2185267_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Degales work in the ring is simply awesome, i dont think anybody can argue with that

he had great hand speed, pretty good power, and to make it even more awkward for his opponents, he's a fecking south paw.

however is manner is infuriating, i wont deny it, id happily pay to see him get his arse knocked out, and as someone said, thats probably his ploy, and if so, fair play to him,

he's an arrogant little prick, he actually makes PBF look humble, and that in itself is something special :D

but theres no denying the lads skills, pretty awesome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I had Bellew to win by KO at 4/6

Joe, have you got any gooduns?

58002_130539627007396_100001540776116_194460_6302952_n.jpg

68201_130539690340723_100001540776116_194462_2185267_n.jpg

Only took pics of the main event ;)

Nice pics by the way.