Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad or a spy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

squod wrote: »
    Would the people of AH be willing to give Somalia a go for a fortnight under armed guard?

I dunno. Is she good looking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

I say good on him, just doing what he wants to do. Doing something that makes him happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Fair play to him.No different to jumping out of a plane for fun.Mogadishu gets bad press.Black Hawk Down looked like great craic.Ari Gold went there so it can't be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

I think this just about sums it up

http://wikitravel.org/en/Mogadishu

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The somalins.. a great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

I hope he signed an 'I don't expect to be rescued' clause before he went there. It would be a shame for any Special Forces soldier to have to risk his life for such idiocy. I expect this guy to appear in the Darwin Awards 2011 next year.

Wasn't there some lunatic Japanese chappie who paid to go to the Iraq war as a tourist a few years ago? Predictably, he had his head cut off after a few weeks of torture. A village somewhere in Japan mourns its idiot..... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Predictably, he had his head cut off after a few weeks of torture. A village somewhere in Japan mourns its idiot..... :rolleyes:

I'd argue he's changed the profile of Iraqis for many people. One Japanese village has lost a head while Iraq has gained millions of cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Pfff, our own Blitzkreiger was the first tourist into Kosovo after the war. http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=50608555&postcount=34

squod wrote: »
    I'd argue he's changed the profile of Iraqis for many people. One Japanese village has lost a head while Iraq has gained millions of cunts.

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

some_dose wrote: »

sounds like limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I dunno. Is she good looking?
    David Bowie's squeeze is Somalian as any fule no

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iman_%28model%29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

According to that, even if you hire bodyguards they would probably kill you. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I heard they're sending the girls from Fade Street there in the next series.

"What, loike, just a minute. Why are you, liking, holding that machete and advancing towards me in, loike, a threatening manner Vogue?"

cml387 wrote: »
    David Bowie's squeeze is Somalian as any fule no

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iman_%28model%29

She went there a few years ago with camera crew and entourage in tow. Their convoy came across a hijacking in process, and the native driver panicked and jumped out. The hijackers opened fire on the jeep she was in, and if it wasn't for the bodyguard taking control of the situation she would have been reduced to Swiss cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Strange how the Americans charge into other countries that they feel need their policing but they've given Ethiopia a miss. Don't they realise that the Ark of the Covenant is hidden somewhere there - a weapon of mass destruction! I suppose if there was oil there and other rare resources it would be a different matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Strange how the Americans charge into other countries that they feel need their policing but they've given Ethiopia a miss. Don't they realise that the Ark of the Covenant is hidden somewhere there - a weapon of mass destruction! I suppose if there was oil there and other rare resources it would be a different matter.

Watched a documentary about the Ark. There's several sites (churches) that say they have it in Ethiopia. Some of them carved out of the Ground.

http://www.travel-pictures-gallery.com/imagepageethi0001.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

The safest way through Mogadishu is escorted by Ethiopian and official Somalian troops; however, they themselves are a target for the militias and may come under attack. Independent travel is suicidal. When being escorted, it is best to be in an armored car. Infantry are highly likely to get engaged in street battles, and an armored vehicle can provide far better protection against most threats. A bullet proof vest is a must-have in Mogadishu.

Thats Limerick citayyyyyyyyyyyyy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

heh, was looking at Dublin and found this bit in Wikitravel:

Copper Face Jacks, Harcourt Street, Dublin 1. Also known as "Slapper Face Jacks" This is a bizarre venue but what sets it aside from most other Dublin nights out is that if you want to hook up with singles desperate for a bit of "how's your father" it's the place for you. Known in the fine Dublin phrase as a Meat Market this night out is crammed with people desperate to score and getting more and more willing as they consume more booze. A popular place with country people as opposed to Dubliners, this venue is dark and seedy and a perfect place to get up to shenanigans. However bear in mind because of its reputation there is often up to 3 guys there for every girl at weekends. Bear in mind that this venue is owned by a retired Garda and is frequented by serving members of the force so an altercation in the men's room is not advised as you may be in more trouble than you think; also consider this if you are liable to seduce someone's new friend.