Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fringe S03E09 Marionette *Spoilers*

• 10-12-2010 4:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

Just finished watching this taught was again another solid episode.

Mad how season 1 and 2 i did not care to much for Olivia but since seeing both universe versions of her i actually feel sorry for her now *Our Olivia not alt Olivia*

She has always came across as someone who struggled to hold onto the ones who meant most to her pretty much hided her emotions.

Its clear with everything thats went on with her over last few months its changed her and she seems confused and broken up over peter not seeing it was not really her he continued there relationship with.

The scene with Peter and Olivia at the end of the episode in which she says she does not want her stuff her apartment or be with Peter anymore is making me feel maybe just maybe there is a chance Peter is gonna at some stage switch back and work for ''His universe*

He mentioned he came back to be with Olivia but if she cant be with him now whats next?? Will Walter be enough of a reason for Peter to stay??

Of course the main turning point of this episode the final scene and the return of the observers. Who did he mean is still alive Walter or Peter?

I know it was Walters face in the shot the camara seemed to of focused on him but we know from last season they where unhappy with Peter being brought over to this universe.

Do you think maybe Walter is going to be further punished in some way or maybe we are going to lose one of the Walters in the series *I hope not*

Just noticed on fringepedia this preview for the next episode in January.
    An Observer contacts the science team to help him correct a mistake he suspects he may have made. Walter befriends a musical icon that he has idolized for decades.

So looks like maybe could be getting some kinda answer to what was meant in that conversation at end of this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Removed spoilers regarding a plotline for the next episode..

Wow.

There was something so dark and yet so beautiful about the ballet dancer being controlled like a puppet. It was so graceful and horrid at the same time. That image is possibly one that will stick out for me now with regards to Fringe; alongside Olivia standing in the Twin Towers.

Fringe just keeps getting better and better for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Wow.

There was something so dark and yet so beautiful about the ballet dancer being controlled like a puppet. It was so graceful and horrid at the same time. That image is possibly one that will stick out for me now with regards to Fringe; alongside Olivia standing in the Twin Towers.

Fringe just keeps getting better and better for me.

Actually nearly forgot about that scene was so odd yet really powerfull.

Sorry bout forgetting put spoiler tags in by way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Elohim

That ballet dancer scene was one of the most disturbing scenes in all of Fringe I think. They really dream up some weird episode plots to build the series arc around.
    Was a good episode, not the best by any stretch, should add a poll :rolleyes:

So Peter's gonna get all upset now and head back to the other universe and kill Altivia for screwing everything up for him. Now that would be a stretch but ya never know!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Yeah, the ballet/puppet scene was really well done. Apart from that, it felt a little flat to me. I understood the motivation of yer man getting the organs, but the chase to find him wasn't all that interesting.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Peter kind of put his foot in it, when he started saying that he liked the other Olivia, how she smiled more and was quicker to laugh.

Way to go Peter. ;)

The marionette scene was very strange all right. When she did wake, was her mind gone? Did the guy kill her, or did she die from shock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

MarkR wrote: »
    The marionette scene was very strange all right. When she did wake, was her mind gone? Did the guy kill her, or did she die from shock?
    I assume she was brain dead, so there was nothing there when he looked into her eyes. She had been dead for a long time before he got to her, long enough to have her organs removed and be sent to the undertakers. I reckon that without a functioning brain to tell her lungs to keep breathing and her heart to keep beating etc, she died once the effects of the medication he gave her wore off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Bit of a slower episode this week but I guess they needed it after the roller-coaster of the season so far to deal with all those mushy emotion things. The dancing dead girl was the creepiest thing I've seen in a while and left me with a very strange dream last night. Still a good episode though.

Also, poll-less thread is severely lacking in the pole department :p

Well.. I'm definitely not lacking in the pole department ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ pics or GTFO!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Really good episode. But this whole Peter-Olivia thing has played out far too predictably.

Just speculating, but I reckon they'll drag out this "you don't really love me" business for the rest of the season. Then in the finale Olivia will have a face-off with Alt-Olivia, who will switch sides and together they'll bring down Walternate and save the universes. Then Alt-Olivia will sacrifice herself for the greater good because she loved Peter blah blah. Olivia upon seeing this will realise that she and Alt-Olivia are essentially the same and will forgive Peter. They'll kiss and then (provided the show doesn't get cancelled) something unspeakable will happen to both of them as a cliffhanger for the 4th season.

Mark my words, this is what's going to happen. Farscape did the same doppelganger plot-line in its third season and had far more fun with it.

Anyway, I agree with angerfist2009 about Olivia. She has really improved as a character. They've made her more vulnerable and given her something to lose.

^ pics or GTFO!

Only if you're a chick, otherwise hell no.

Er. Back on topic..

Great episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

yeah great to see a kink in olivias usually solid exterior, i still dont understand why shes staying in her apartment why doesnt she go stay if her gaff that her sister and niece are living in,

the scene where herself and peter were chatting waiting for the doctor was great, you could see her starting to loose the run of herself, talking about the great life that altivia had lived, and the great friends that she surrounded herself with, and her stuttering through it, you could really see she felt she has lived her life all wrong, i could see her leave the FBI at the end of the season, i think once she completes her promise to alt-broyles thatll be her done,

as for her and peter you knew they wouldnt get together, not now and i doubth ever, i get the feeling that pter isnt gonna give her what she really wants now in life, he would be great for the all go olivia, but i couldnt see it working longterm, and you can see how distressed she got when she found out that everyone knew peter was doing altivia,

an average enough story runing, with some excellent caracter progression, i think juding by this episode that what i just said could happen this season, and maybe if we get a season 4 theyll find a way to bring olivia back into it,

delighted to finally have our olivia back, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Was very impressed with Anna Torv in this episode, definitely showed a bit of vulnerability and her break down by the washing machine seemed very believable.

To be honest I'm glad of the break from the two universes, it was getting boring in my opinion.