Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer Virus Scam Phone Call ?

• 10-12-2010 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine just received a call from a Rob Williams claiming to be from PC World and was ringing her to tell her that her computer had just contacted a virus, and he wanted to dial in to remove it.

She told him to call back later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

when he calls back tell him you're a nigerian prince and you just need him to forward you 500 euro to cover administration fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Id tell him to call over to fix it, then pull his eye balls out and feed them to him. Computer hacking little nerd. Probably some little hermit who sits at home all day writting computer codes and tossing off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Tell him "I'm lovin' angels instead".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Devil08 wrote: »
    Id tell him to call over to fix it, then pull his eye balls out and feed them to him. Computer hacking little nerd. Probably some little hermit who sits at home all day writting computer codes and tossing off
    One could only dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Its an indian scamming company. Ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

A friend of mine just received a call from a Rob Williams claiming to be from PC World and was ringing her to tell her that her computer had just contacted a virus, and he wanted to dial in to remove it.

She told him to call back later.

Yup a scam.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055837564

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

very simple.
    Tell him you'll call him back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

See here: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055837564

A friend of mine got a call the other day. Told them to ring back in 5 minutes.
    In the meanwhile he rang me. Told him it was a scam so he then told them to fcuk off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

syngindub wrote: »
    very simple.
    Tell him you'll call him back.

Its around 5.20PM in India now, probably finishing up work to go to the pub. She will have to wait till Monday now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Adam wrote: »
    when he calls back tell him you're a nigerian prince and you just need him to forward you 500 euro to cover administration fees.

Or even €5 million perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Just tell them you're running Gentoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Dial in?

seriously?

put them on hold for half an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Ask for their bank details and credit card number to confirm their identity.

Either that or say your amish.

phill106 wrote: »
    Ask for their bank details and credit card number to confirm their identity.

Either that or say your amish.
    mothers maiden name also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

on a serious note
    i've had 2 calls in the last few weeks
    the second call was taken by my 10 year old son and this guy(African)keep my son on the phone for a good 5 minutes,i thought he was chatting to 1 of his mates
    i then took the phone and abbused this ****,

warn your kids about this also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pretend you're going along with it. Waste as much of their time as possible. The more time they're spending with someone who knows it's a scam the less time they have to scam victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

This is what you do!

Just agree to everything. Pretend to be IT retarded

Him:Okay click start
    You: Yeah, okay where's that
    Him: Down the bottom left
    You: Of the keyboard?
    Him: No, well yes you can do that too
    You: Which one?!
    Him: The start button on the bottom left of your screen
    Him: Got it yet?
    You: I think so
    Him: Okay now open your remote desktop connections
    You: Yeah, okay I'm in www.remotedesktopconnections.com now
    Him: No, open it within windows
    You: What? You want me to open my window?
    Him: No, on your computer
    You: There's a window on my computer?
    Him: No... Agh it's the operating system
    You: The operating system is a window?
    Him: Okay I'll start again
    You: EAT MY SHÍT COCKBREATH!
    *Hangs up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Adam wrote: »

Tut tut...shocking altogether on or nigerian friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭danwhite88

Sykk wrote: »
    This is what you do!

Just agree to everything. Pretend to be IT retarded

Him:Okay click start
    You: Yeah, okay where's that
    Him: Down the bottom left
    You: Of the keyboard?
    Him: No, well yes you can do that too
    You: Which one?!
    Him: The start button on the bottom left of your screen
    Him: Got it yet?
    You: I think so
    Him: Okay now open your remote desktop connections
    You: Yeah, okay I'm in www.remotedesktopconnections.com now
    Him: No, open it within windows
    You: What? You want me to open my window?
    Him: No, on your computer
    You: There's a window on my computer?
    Him: No... Agh it's the operating system
    You: The operating system is a window?
    Him: Okay I'll start again
    You: EAT MY SHÍT COCKBREATH!
    *Hangs up*

hah love it. my grandad had been getting those calls everyday around same time for about 2 weeks, on monday they rang when I was around in my Grandads and when they asked for my Grandads name I said they had the wrong number and noone by that name lives here. They havent rang back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Got one of these guys the other day. Indian fella, couldn't explain how he got the number.
    He asked me to turn on the computer. I said it wasn't with me.
    He then asked where it was
    "Up your mothers ****" was my reply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

not yet wrote: »
    Tut tut...shocking altogether on or nigerian friends.
    what? no, you've got it all wrong, tut was an Egyptian pharaoh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The next time they ring just say hello ****** police station can I help you? End of calls forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

A friend of a friend got a phone call like this and recorded it. Gets especially good at 24 mins... :D

This guy used to work in HP, very capable, pretends he's an idiot and winds yer man up for almost an hour

http://soundcloud.com/dmphoto/support-call

The last 8 mins or so is just epic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 steevie

zerks wrote: »
    The next time they ring just say hello ****** police station can I help you? End of calls forever.
    Three weeks ago I received a call at lunchtime from a Nigerian to say I had got a virus on my computer from downloading and he wanted to fix it. He told me to switch it on and he would go through tie procedure with me. I asked him what company he was from and he said Microsoft and I then knew it was a scam so I hung up. A week later the phone rang again at lunchtime and my daughter who works in IT took the call and asked him if he was from Microsoft and he said yes. She told him it was a scam and to F... Off and was reporting it to the Gardai and he hung up. There was an article in the local paper last week to say the Gardai had received complaints about the scam and had been in touch with Microsoft who confirmed it was a scam. One individual nearly fell for it and was told there was a small fee for it and would require his Credit Card Number and he hung up. My wife received the call again yesterday and I tried to trace the Number and it said "out of this area" So BEWARE and report calls to the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

We got a call last week similar last week. Thankfully my mother copped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Biggins wrote: »
    See here: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055837564

A friend of mine got a call the other day. Told them to ring back in 5 minutes.
    In the meanwhile he rang me. Told him it was a scam so he then told them to fcuk off!

Did he actually say "fcuk" or did he use the rude version?

I'm going to start saying fcuk to people in real life. Just for giggles like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭byrnefm

I see they're still going strong .. one phoned me from "Computer Media Services" (I think) shortly after 6 this evening and said I had a virus slowing down my computer... Third call from them in the last 2 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I have been getting a call of them every 2 weeks for the past 6 months. They are pushy feckers - don't hear the word no. Telling them to go fcuk themselves or calling guards etc does not bother them.

So when I answer the phone now - I put the phone in front of the telly and turn it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I got this call a few weeks ago, had a few friends around at the time, sharing a few cans. I pretended that I had just phoned them earlier, as my computer wasn't working, thanked him for calling back so soon. Guy said I had a virus, tried to talk me through starting up computer. I kept telling him nothing hapening. Finally he asked me if I checked the plug, I explained I couldn't see the plug. He sugested looking behind computer desk, I explained it was too dark to look behind computer. finally I explained it was too dark as electricity was gone, He hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This scam has been going on for a couple years now, its a wonder they havent tried something new yet.