Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Epic Bets Thread

• 10-12-2010 2:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭

Been creeping in here for the last few weeks hoping to pick up some nice bets. I thought I'd start an 'epic bets' thread. Might be a stupid idea, might not be. Just a bet where you throw down a few euros and the return is huge. Obviously Im talking accumulators.
    Anyways, this weekend I have an 'epic' 18 game bet. Im throwing a euro at it and it returns just over €1200 by my reckoning. 2 of the teams are United and Spurs though, which makes it even more unlikely... I am making a separate bet though with the other 16 teams and putting a euro on that, which will return approx €220. Just thought there might be a few like minded people interested and perhaps they could also share their 'epic' bets in the future.
    Anyways, my teams for this weekend are (odds taken from PP);
    QPR @4/7
    Stoke @4/6
    Aston Villa @11/10
    Everton @ 4/9
    Bayern @1/5
    Hoffenheim @4/7
    Glentoran @1/6
    Olympiacos @1/5
    Seville @2/5
    Real @1/4
    Barca @1/10
    Valencia @2/5
    Lyon @1/2
    Roma @4/11
    Galatasary @4/9
    Young Boys @ @3/10
    Tottenham @9/5
    Man United @evs

And I know, odds are that 2 or 3 of these teams will lose/draw, but after all its only €2, and Im a student - I need all the money I can get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

Select each of them in the Draw no Bet or Double Chance markets, which will significantly reduce your returns, but you havent a hope in hell of this accumulator coming through for you otherwise! 2 quid down the swanny if you back this acca win only, better off playing the lotto with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

luketitz wrote: »
    Select each of them in the Draw no Bet or Double Chance markets, which will significantly reduce your returns, but you havent a hope in hell of this accumulator coming through for you otherwise! 2 quid down the swanny if you back this acca win only, better off playing the lotto with it!

I can afford to lose anything up to €4, five is a bit much..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

I'll pay you the winnings myself if that bet comes in! I'm just sayin, cover the risk by going draw no bet, you'll still probably lose it though, footie multiples are a killer, check out tennis, 2-way markets with far less upsets/dodgy referee decisions which can make or break your day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Good luck with that bet, but I would guess that around 6 of those 18 teams teams won't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

I am a fan of these bets. I had a 2 Euro nine fold come up last week but the main thing is that you get value out of it. Worst case scenario is that QPR lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Glentoran are playing DC afaik this weekend. 1/6 are ridiculous odds for that game. Sure, they're at home and the favourites. But if there's one team that DC will want to beat all year, it's the Glens. DC went to Seaview to play Crusaders in a similar tie earlier this year and the game was a rocket, ended up 4-4 or something. I think DC hit the Glens for a few at home too.
    Should the Glens win? Very likely. 1/6? Nothing close to value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

falling at the first hurdle... watford 3 up with 30 mins to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

hmm

try this is you need monies

Everton 1.4
    Bremen +2 1.4
    Hoffenheim 1.57
    Villa DNB 1.5
    Olympiacos 1.2
    Gent 1.2
    Genk 1.25
    Barca 1.1
    Valencia 1.4
    Freiburg DNB 1.36
    Chelsea DNB 1.72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭bookie basher

I dont do accumulators, but instead of picking around 15 selections why not try and do a 4 teams to draw accumulator. If it comes in this accumulator pays out around 120/1!!!

fulham vs sunderland
    newcastle vs liverpool
    wolves vs birmingham
    spurs vs chelsea

QPR - one of the teams I was fully confident about, fml, haha, no i knew it was so unlikely to come off anyways. Was doing some maths (in my head) and was thinking I only need one of these €1 bets to come off every year to be making a profit. I'll carry on in hope!
    I'll also have a look at other less risky accumulators...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

THFC wrote: »
    QPR - one of the teams I was fully confident about, fml, haha, no i knew it was so unlikely to come off anyways. Was doing some maths (in my head) and was thinking I only need one of these €1 bets to come off every year to be making a profit. I'll carry on in hope!
    I'll also have a look at other less risky accumulators...

I hope you're not a maths student....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,415 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Tottenham v Chelsea
    Match Odds:
    Chelsea - 2.6

B Munich v St Pauli
    Half Time/Full Time:
    Draw/B Munich - 4.49

Fulham v Sunderland
    Over/Under 2.5 goals:
    Over 2.5 Goals - 2.26

€10 treble pays at 26.47, not exactly epic but I consider them non-traditional picks as all are over 2.0.

As for epic, put this long term bet on last month, however Inter are already nearly written off (I know it's not entirely a football bet):
    Aviva Premiership Grand Final Winner:
    Leicester Tigers - 3.24

Heineken Cup Outright Winner:
    Ospreys - 13.4

RBS 6 Nations 2011 Outright Winner:
    France - 3.3

Ligue 1 Orange Winner 2010/11:
    Marseille Back - 2.19

UEFA Champions League Winner 2010/11:
    Real Madrid - 4.32

NFL Season 2010/11 Super Bowl Winner:
    Green Bay Packers - 8.54

Serie A Winner 2010/11:
    Inter - 4.32

Primera Division Winner 2010/11:
    Barcelona - 2.03

I have all 8 selections in 5-folds so any 5 come in and I make a good bit (odds between roughly 600 and 7,000 for each line) and a sneaky bit on all 8 at a whopping 102,055.72! :p

My other long term is strictly football:
    Sevenfolds from 8 To Win

Marseille @ 11/4
    Outright Betting
    French Championnat 2010-2011 Pending
    Juventus @ 4/1
    Outright Betting
    Serie A 2010-2011 Pending
    Shamrock Rovers @ 8/13
    Outright Betting
    Airtricity League Premier Division Win
    FC Copenhagen @ 1/3
    Outright Betting
    Danish Superligaen 2010-11 Pending
    Zenit St Petersburg @ 3/10
    Outright Betting
    Russia Premier League 2010 Win
    Shakhtar Donetsk @ 8/15
    Outright Betting
    Ukraine Premier League 2010-2011 Pending
    Cardiff @ 2/1
    Promotion
    Npower Championship Promotion 2010-2011 Pending
    Chelsea @ 5/4
    Outright Betting
    Premier League Outright Betting 2010-2011 Pending

Looking for 7 wins out of 8 to profit. Chelsea and Juventus worries but still in with a chance. Have a similar one with Inter instead of Juve and Porto and Ajax included which I posted in a different thread.

glanman wrote: »
    I hope you're not a maths student....

ha! I could be very wrong... If I spend €3 eure on these bets once a week, for about what, 40 weeks of the year, thats €120, if even. One of these types of bets will return min €200, and if yeh throw in one or two "wildcards" (ie the Spurs and United games) ye'd be gettin around a grand. And even if yeh didnt win one bet, its only €3 a week anyways.
    BTW, if even one comes off I will be the smuggest mo fo around...!

I was soooooo close to 2 grand today!! From €2...

everton
    swansea
    motherwell
    hearts
    leeds
    birmingham
    stoke
    united
    port vale
    middlesbrough
    peterborough

(cup bets were to qualify - hence the Everton one is successful)

Leeds let me down! I'm telling ye, one of these will come off eventually.!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭seanman is me

as a fellow student we love our accumulators!! pure lotto but when the stakes are low, its a bit of craic!! as of late being going with over 1.5 or 2.5 goals accumulators, get good odds!!Draw no bet is safer but ya need to stake a good bit to win big. Keep the faith! ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,415 ✭✭✭✭8-10

8-10 wrote: »

As for epic, put this long term bet on last month, however Inter are already nearly written off (I know it's not entirely a football bet):
    Aviva Premiership Grand Final Winner:
    Leicester Tigers - 3.24

Heineken Cup Outright Winner:
    Ospreys - 13.4
    LOSE

RBS 6 Nations 2011 Outright Winner:
    France - 3.3

Ligue 1 Orange Winner 2010/11:
    Marseille Back - 2.19

UEFA Champions League Winner 2010/11:
    Real Madrid - 4.32

NFL Season 2010/11 Super Bowl Winner:
    Green Bay Packers - 8.54
    WIN!

Serie A Winner 2010/11:
    Inter - 4.32

Primera Division Winner 2010/11:
    Barcelona - 2.03

I have all 8 selections in 5-folds so any 5 come in and I make a good bit (odds between roughly 600 and 7,000 for each line) and a sneaky bit on all 8 at a whopping 102,055.72! :p

OK quick update on my 5-folds from 8 selections, Ospreys never a runner dumped out of the H Cup easily. HOWEVER, my next longest shot, Green Bay Packers, made it to the Superbowl and won @8.54!

So now I need 4 out of the remaining 6 to get a windfall:

Aviva Premiership Grand Final Winner: Leicester Tigers - Currently top by 5pts

RBS 6 Nations 2011 Outright Winner: France - Currently level with England on 2 wins out of 2.

Ligue 1 Orange Winner 2010/11: Marseille - 2nd in the league, 3pts behind leaders Lille

UEFA Champions League Winner 2010/11: Real Madrid - Still in there but playing Lyon who normally knock them out! Need the Mourinho factor running at 100%

Serie A Winner 2010/11: Inter - 5pts behind AC Milan who only scored late to win yesterday. Not as far away as they were 2 months ago!

Primera Division Winner 2010/11: Barcelona - Top by 2pts but game in hand tonight.

Need a bit of luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭turbobaby

Good stuff fella. Keep the faith!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Just did this for a bit of fun.. €1=€1293

Lyon @ 2/1
    Draw No Bet
    Lyon v Real Madrid

FC Copenhagen @ 11/5
    Draw No Bet
    FC Copenhagen v Chelsea

Bristol City @ 10/3