Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

concealed cistern problem

• 08-12-2010 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

was up in an appartment today looking at a timeclock and noticed the neg head pump in the hot press was going constantly. i asked the tennants did they have a tap or something running as the pump was going a long time. they said it goes 24/7. anyway it turns out the toilet is running constanly like its stuck open and they cant flush it. the cistern is behind a a tilled wall with access from the top. is this an easy fix, could it just be the flush button is stuck open or is the ballcock in the cistern jammmed open. thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Sparkpea

it sounds like it will either be the ballcock not cutting off (new washer needed) or the siphon not holding the water in the cistern properly causing the ballcock to constantly fill in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Has it a push button or flush plate...

Its most likely as above...

Sometimes however the flush plates can be pushed excessivly and get stuck open..

Where do you live...

Dont need your exact address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭indie armada

thanks lads.
    @ joey........its over near clare hall. im not in a rush to do anything about it cause there might be issues with the landlord. that said the landlord isnt in a rush to do anything about it. ive to go back to do something else so might have a look then.
    ive fitted one of those concealed cisterns in me own gaff so i have an idea how they work. they have two toilets so turning off the water to the broken one will stop the pump untill they get it fixed as it doesnt flush at present either. so ive feeling it might be the button.

thanks lads.
    @ joey........its over near clare hall. im not in a rush to do anything about it cause there might be issues with the landlord. that said the landlord isnt in a rush to do anything about it. ive to go back to do something else so might have a look then.
    ive fitted one of those concealed cisterns in me own gaff so i have an idea how they work. they have two toilets so turning off the water to the broken one will stop the pump untill they get it fixed as it doesnt flush at present either. so ive feeling it might be the button.

If its push button as apposed to plate its most likely the syphone is stuck in open...

Are you in Belmayne...

I know the concealed cisterns that were supplied there very well.

not sure what the apartments are called, ye might pm me your number just incase, but i reckon they will eventually get the landlord to sort it.
    i dont think its too healthy for the pump to be goin 24/7 so i told them to tell the landlord it will be cheaper to fix the jaxx then replace the pump.

just a quick question on this, i had a look at the syphon the other day and its a torbeck variflush. looking at diagrams of these online i can tell there is a part missing. its the part that you adjust for the overflow, because its not there the syphon is below the waterline and because of this the cistern is constantly filling causing the pump to run constantly.
    can these parts be got easilly or will i have to get a whole new syphon just for this part. the other option is to adjust the ballcock on the fill so it doesnt fill above the level of the top of the syphon but this will lesson the ammount of water flushed so i would rather fix it propperly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

just a quick question on this, i had a look at the syphon the other day and its a torbeck variflush. looking at diagrams of these online i can tell there is a part missing. its the part that you adjust for the overflow, because its not there the syphon is below the waterline and because of this the cistern is constantly filling causing the pump to run constantly.
    can these parts be got easilly or will i have to get a whole new syphon just for this part. the other option is to adjust the ballcock on the fill so it doesnt fill above the level of the top of the syphon but this will lesson the ammount of water flushed so i would rather fix it propperly.

I'd go with the latter. Its a quicker fix to just adjust the filling level of the ballcock. Its also better for the environment if you use less water in a flush - if you're into that sort of thing that is :D

the only problem with that solution is, will there be enough adjustment in the ballcock to reduce the level down that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

the only problem with that solution is, will there be enough adjustment in the ballcock to reduce the level down that much.

One way to find out I guess......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭kbarnesie

My cistern is extremely slow to refill after flush.
    Any suggestions ??

kbarnesie wrote: »
    My cistern is extremely slow to refill after flush.
    Any suggestions ??

Yip... Either the inlet valve is blocked or its a high pressure valve.

Its easier just to change it for a new one.

a new diaphragm washer will fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Remove the dead fly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

Sparkpea wrote: »
    a new diaphragm washer will fix it

Agree the washers go solid after a while , also check the orifice for a blockage

Thanks all for your help.
    I replaced the washer (not the exact replica) and yes the water flow increases greatly, however, this new washer does not stop the water flow when the stopcock reaches it max level.

The washer I need has a small pin thro the centre which moves in and out.
    It also says 32 on it.

Any suggestions where i'd pick one up or the exact name.

Thx all.

kbarnesie wrote: »
    Thanks all for your help.
    I replaced the washer (not the exact replica) and yes the water flow increases greatly, however, this new washer does not stop the water flow when the stopcock reaches it max level.

The washer I need has a small pin thro the centre which moves in and out.
    It also says 32 on it.

Any suggestions where i'd pick one up or the exact name.

Thx all.

sounds like a torbeck washer, see here

http://www.google.co.uk/search?aq=1&oq=torbeck+ball&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=torbeck+ball+valve+washer#q=torbeck+ball+valve+washer&hl=en&prmd=ivns&source=univ&tbm=shop&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=IerlTdejDMrNhAeZnKTbCg&ved=0CDoQrQQ&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=23194883ff024071&biw=1117&bih=626

thumb_Torbeck%20Ballvalve%20washer.jpg

Thanks Sparkpea but that is the washer i purchased y'day and does'nt stop the water flow.

The washer which is in it, differs, as the pin in the middle actually moves in and out. It does appear worn.

It was put in about 7 years ago

can you take a pic of it and post it?

80.jpg