Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Easiest car to maintain....on your own?

• 07-12-2010 9:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭

Just been talkin about this with someone earlier on today,
    what do ye think is the easiest car to maintain on your own??
    The parents have a 94 starlet and its a doddle, very simply laid out allowing most servicing work like filters, oil change, shocks, plugs and brakes to be done with little effort.

I have an A4 and been as it was my first time getting it serviced I took the mechanic route, but it was awkward even for him, and now as I have a few parts to change it means more money for labour!

What do ye lads and ladies think is an easy car to keep, as regards price of parts and ease of maintenance for a "weekend mechanic"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

Many of the pre-2000 cars have simple enough mechanics to work on, esp Fords (in my experience), a lot of the newer cars have pain in the **** electronics aswell to add to the awkwardness!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

my 01 punto was simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Anything Honda :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

Sounds good!;)
    Am I the only one that notices the serious lack of DC5's around now?:eek:
    Where the hell are they???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Sounds good!;)

Ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭kev91

as midnight said anything honda
    but from my experiance anything jap honda mitsi toyato nissan etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭DaveJac

had a 1.6 pinto sierra before easiest yoke i ever worked on didnt even have to jack it up to change the oil haha the sump stud could be accessed from the engine bay rwd cars are usually easier work on i find

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I haven't noticed a lack of them at all. Seem to see the same number of them around.
    Browsing donedeal and carzone etc.....there does seem to be a lot of them for sale though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

It's a pain when It comes to changing speakers though.
    Rest is easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

It's a pain when It comes to changing speakers though.
    Rest is easy.

How so? Hardly the wiring? Or is it access?
    A decent sound system is a must!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

had a 1.6 focus for 6 years. no trouble at all. very easy to service. didnt even have to jack it up for oil changes.:D. all parts very cheap and off the shelf. lots of room in engine bay.
    moved onto a dc2. seems handy enough so far. ground clearance a problem though for oil changes.:rolleyes:

How so? Hardly the wiring? Or is it access?
    A decent sound system is a must!:D

I tried taking the headunit out....phew!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I tried taking the headunit out....phew!!!

It's just as easy to take the Head Unit out of my Integra as it is from any other car I've taken one out of

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

It's just as easy to take the Head Unit out of my Integra as it is from any other car I've taken one out of

1st gear and into vtec in my ITR, the car used to pop the radio out for me.

god i mess how east my Integra Type R was to service, none of this turbo sh1t to be looking after!!!!

Please don't laugh but....I didn't had any experience with head units and I was unscrewing it from the front.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

Please don't laugh but....I didn't had any experience with head units and I was unscrewing it from the front.. :o

thats how you learn. next time out it will be a piece of cake.
    people ask me how i know about cars, and i say im self taught.
    im no mechanic. i started with my first car about 13 years ago and with
    the help of haynes manuel or the web i do all my own car audio/servicing
    plus neighbours cars/familys cars. handy few quid with a bit of know how.
    plus i enjoying messing around under the hood so even though im working on cars during my free time it feels more like a hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

I do the oil changes on the Integra and Crv,also the brake pads and spark plugs.

K20 engine is terrible for the oil filter placement,fine if it is heisted i'd say though :mad:.

Would like to do a timing belt on the CR-V but i haven't the confidence.

hellyeah wrote: »
    thats how you learn. next time out it will be a piece of cake.
    people ask me how i know about cars, and i say im self taught.
    im no mechanic. i started with my first car about 13 years ago and with
    the help of haynes manuel or the web i do all my own car audio/servicing
    plus neighbours cars/familys cars. handy few quid with a bit of know how.
    plus i enjoying messing around under the hood so even though im working on cars during my free time it feels more like a hobby.

You sound just like me.
    I'm only 16.
    I love poking around with cars for no reason, taking off the exhaust..Listening to the soothing sound and then putting it back on.
    I fixed a hole in the downpipe of a civic today which went really well. I started changing oil and filter last winter...then mounting tyres on rims and still going..
    Now I have a question...I've got a Chevrolet Lacetti 2005 at home.
    I bought Laser blue parking bulbs for it. Now the bulb of the car is located deep down inside. Do I need to remove the headlamp to install it?