Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cheapest christmas trees

• 07-12-2010 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭

looking to buy a nice REAL christmas tree, can you let me know where I can get a good price? looking for a 6 ft one

last couple years I was getting them in Castletroy, opposite Storm, but as it worked out they were the dearest last year so looking for alternative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭xxlauraxxox

have u tried the jetland area got miine last year 4 20e was 5.5 foot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

just coming back from there, 5ft for e45, they must be crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

fl4pj4ck wrote: »
    looking to buy a nice REAL christmas tree, can you let me know where I can get a good price? looking for a 6 ft one

last couple years I was getting them in Castletroy, opposite Storm, but as it worked out they were the dearest last year so looking for alternative

dearest? Ya need to haggle! I got the best tree I've ever had last year from there, for 30. I havent a hope of getting a tree as good as it ever again. I've set the bar too high, the GF is going to be disappointed this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭LucyLouLou

Got mine last year in the crescent shopping centre, there's a place where chartbusters used to be , run by some garden centre. I got a 6ft one, with stand and delivered to my door for €35. They're back again this year, but I haven't been in yet so don't know what price they are now, but would assume it's something similar. And the added bonus of them putting the stand on properly and straight for you so there was no need for me to kill himself for putting it on wonky.

thanks for tips. and yes Zuroph, I haggle every time, but last year it just didn't work. will drive around town and see if there's any difference in other places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭banjobongo

we always buy our tree out in Cratloe woods, we have a nice tradition, buy the tree, then go for a walk in the woods. Prices are good and quality is good too!

I'm in Sixmilebridge and in CW every now and then, but didn't know they're selling trees over there. Can you tell me where exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,177 ✭✭✭✭phog

I got mine at Crowes shop up near the church in Sixmilebridge last year, nice tree and from what I can remember fairly decent price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Also try the guys down in John's Square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

It's probably too far away but we got a gorgeous 8ft tree for €35 in Dromkeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭banjobongo

fl4pj4ck wrote: »
    I'm in Sixmilebridge and in CW every now and then, but didn't know they're selling trees over there. Can you tell me where exactly?

hi
    this time of the Coilte are selling Christmas trees in cratloe woods, in the area just beside the wee lake, just in at the start of the walks. Usually its blocked off for cars, but this time of the year you can drive up to the lake, park your car there and buy your tree there. Leave your car there and go for a walk while you are there and get in the Christmas spirit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭sioda

Got a lovely tree for forty quid from the lads at ivans 7 foot really happy with it

thanks for the tips. I am planning to spend no more than 30 quid, will update the thread once I pick something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Plastic trees FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,177 ✭✭✭✭phog

Got a lovely one in Sixmilebridge the other evening for 30e. He has two types but I went for the non-shed one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

they're so bare this year, hard to get a decent shaped one! eventually bought one in ballyneety

went to Cratloe Woods three times, because of so poor choice. ended up buying a tree in Crescent (old Chartbusters location) for e35.

I wonder how it's possible that the guys in Crescent were selling trees for e35 and the cheapest ones in Cratloe Woods went for e40?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭ABEasy

Bought one in Eastway, up past o'maras parts warehouse. Was very happy with trees, cost 35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Got ours in the crescent as well. 35 with a stand
    Yer man there is sound but was telling me none of the trees for sale in cratloe are grown there, he gets them in the same place they do!