Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you ask Cowen?

• 06-12-2010 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭

If you could meet up with Cowen, or lets say you became his advisor tommorow what would you tell him, or advise him on regarding the economy and other things. What id like to say to the man would be

(1) Do we borrow more money from abroad to pay for our deficit.
    (2) Do we battle with the EU over the proposed tax hike for them people in corporations because that sort of carry on would be damaging to our economy.
    (3) Find new initiatives in agriculture and energy to export to revive the economy were its bad, in particular in rural Ireland.

Those are just some of things I would like to discuss with Cowen myself. Ah sure its never going to happen now at all, but lets imagine we could be advisors to Cowen tommorow, what would you ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'd ask him why he's trolling boards under such an obvious username?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I'd ask why wasn't he gone yet. But that wasn't what you wanted to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

I would seriously, genuinely like to ask him, why would any man want to consign himself to the history books as not only the worst leader, but one of the most wretched, lying, two faced, destructive, disloyal and ruinous people that ever held influence in this country. To have future generations, for decades, talking about you, naming your name as being responsible for such catastrophic and calamitous repercussions on an entire generation of a country's people, what a horrendous legacy.

Just imagine what the history books will say about Cowen. It would take more than a few pints to get a night's sleep over that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I'd ask him why he has not resigned and allowed the people of this country to vote in a Government who have a mandate to take decisions on the most serious crisis to face our country since its foundation.

I'd ask him is he going to apologise to the Irish people for the many bad and some cases biased decisions which has brought us to the situation that Ireland finds itself in.

I'd ask him that when he is no longer in Dail Eireann does he feel that he deserves the pensions that he has been bestowed with even though his legacy is one of failure, economic meltdown and mass emigration.

That will do for now. Probably not the questions you wanted OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

I'd like to ask Mr Cowen ,

1) Why if as you claim you truly love your country don't you listen to sound economic advice from the likes of Peter Matthews or Brian Lucey or Morgan Kelly , TASC etc , etc?. Do you not respect their opinion or are you working for vested interests?.

2) Do you have any relatives that live in working class urban areas?.

3) Is your home ever cold\damp or do you ever have to switch off the heating because you can't afford the bills?

4) Do you have panic attacks or insomnia wondering how you will pay your mortgage or day to day bills?.

5) Do you ever have panic attacks or insomnia wondering how the citizens you govern will pay their mortgages or day to day bills?.

6) Have you no shame for your role in the current economic crisis and possibly condemning generations of people to debt slavery?.

That's all I'd like to ask that man. But I've a feeling that I'd be f**king waiting a long time for an honest , concise , coherent answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

i dont think he is capable of giving a proper answer to anything so wouldnt be worth your while asking him anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

It isnt Cowen I would like to let rip at. Its the sleeveen Ahern and the arrogant McCreevy who the the political architects of everything that has happened imo.

Ahern is now claiming that noone warned him of the crash while a few views of reeling in the years or a youtube search would prove otherwise.

I wounder how they would react to the idea of their beloved FF imploding as a result of all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If you could meet up with Cowen, or lets say you became his advisor tommorow what would you tell him, or advise him on regarding the economy and other things. What id like to say to the man would be

(2) Do we battle with the EU over the proposed tax hike for them people in corporations because that sort of carry on would be damaging to our economy.
    (3) Find new initiatives in agriculture and energy to export to revive the economy were its bad, in particular in rural Ireland.

Those are just some of things I would like to discuss with Cowen myself. Ah sure its never going to happen now at all, but lets imagine we could be advisors to Cowen tommorow, what would you ask?

So in which pub are you meeting him ? :rolleyes:

All those questions and not a hint of the ones we, the general public non ffers, would like to know. :rolleyes:

I would like to ask him why he doesn't have a decent dictionary that contains such words as SHAME, EMBARASSMENT, ACCOUNTABILITY, RESPONSIBILITY, ETHICS, HONESTY, ARROGANCE, APOLOGISE, PRUDENCE and QUISLING.

It is pretty obvious he has no idea what these words mean. :mad:

"tax hike for them people in corporations" ...
    How qaint a phrasing of the issue of our corporation tax and how it affects FDI in this country ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

If you could meet up with Cowen, what would you ask?

simeple question ....at what point did you realise that (you/the country) were up sh1t creek without a paddle ? (was it after Bertie walked away ...or before)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I would ask him many things....

but the one thing i would ask him is why does he think that its not his fault when it all happened on his watch, was caused by his goverment restraints and why he thinks he has the right to tie us into a bail out when he would be here to administer it...

No need to reply...I wont be following this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

would you like a blindfold .!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

What would you ask Cowen?

pass the flask

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQgGSvOfJMaMYCwx4cnl-tF5NbX7lh8xWZ-RG5fE6FE1o4ro1_lJg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

LowOdour wrote: »
    i dont think he is capable of giving a proper answer to anything so wouldnt be worth your while asking him anything.
    I agree with this, I genuinely wouldnt be able to think of anything to ask him because you can't put someone on the spot when you know that no matter what theyre asked they are going to have a BS answer.

If he came to my door, id just say something like "You have my vote if you detach our banking debt from our sovereign debt." Id be lying though, he still wouldnt get my vote even if he did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭kearney13

Well said, very well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I would just like to sit down with him and have a completely honest discussion about whats happened, why and why he chose certain things over another.

My discussion would be not be leaked to the press or the general public so I would imagine I would get some very interesting answers, many that would dispel alot of myths as to what exactly his motives are in making certain decisions.

Its easy to see him as the fallguy for everything that has happened and it is much easier to make things up and make broad assumptions in the absence of the truth (which is exactly what has happened).

I dont believe that the government has lied in the manner that is being portrayed (some sort of conspiracy), nor do I think they have been as open as they publicly state. The answer is usually somewhere in between, but like bust and boom, we Irish dont like to see both sides to things, we are either completely for or against something (with little ability to objectively consider all elements of a problem/success).

For that, we have shown that as a nation we have learned nothing.

Some people will think this is an FF sympathy post, but they have just failed to grasp the basic concept of what exactly I am saying. The easiest way is not the best way and in our case the easiest thing is to blame FF, get rid of them and then presume that the problem has been neutralised. Its quite pathetic to think this.

Considering the Interest and understanding that people have shown in politics in Ireland its no wonder we are destined to be stuck with "cute hooers" for a long long time into the future. There will be no political reform and no cultural change while people think that blaming FF is going to allow us to progress. As a nation, we allowed FF get out of hand and we allowed our opposition do their utmost to mirror this party to get its hands on power.

Why do I know that much of what I say is right ? Because its not popular, challenges conventional populist wisdom of an Irish people who have shown little ability to properly analyse what has happened , why its happened and what is the best way to fix up our country. Instead its spending most of its time looking for somebody to blame (as if that solves anything right now) , looking for somebody else to take the pain (cuts are needed but dont come calling to me!) and lacking the clarity or focus to challenge the way we have been voting.

Cue "the special ones" calling this a FF spin . . I challenge them to read it again and actually understand the post!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Drumpot wrote: »
    I would just like to sit down with him and have a completely honest discussion about whats happened, why and why he chose certain things over another.

My discussion would be not be leaked to the press or the general public so I would imagine I would get some very interesting answers, many that would dispel alot of myths as to what exactly his motives are in making certain decisions.

Its easy to see him as the fallguy for everything that has happened and it is much easier to make things up and make broad assumptions in the absence of the truth (which is exactly what has happened).

I dont believe that the government has lied in the manner that is being portrayed (some sort of conspiracy), nor do I think they have been as open as they publicly state. The answer is usually somewhere in between, but like bust and boom, we Irish dont like to see both sides to things, we are either completely for or against something (with little ability to objectively consider all elements of a problem/success).

For that, we have shown that as a nation we have learned nothing.

Some people will think this is an FF sympathy post, but they have just failed to grasp the basic concept of what exactly I am saying. The easiest way is not the best way and in our case the easiest thing is to blame FF, get rid of them and then presume that the problem has been neutralised. Its quite pathetic to think this.

Considering the Interest and understanding that people have shown in politics in Ireland its no wonder we are destined to be stuck with "cute hooers" for a long long time into the future. There will be no political reform and no cultural change while people think that blaming FF is going to allow us to progress. As a nation, we allowed FF get out of hand and we allowed our opposition do their utmost to mirror this party to get its hands on power.

Why do I know that much of what I say is right ? Because its not popular, challenges conventional populist wisdom of an Irish people who have shown little ability to properly analyse what has happened , why its happened and what is the best way to fix up our country. Instead its spending most of its time looking for somebody to blame (as if that solves anything right now) , looking for somebody else to take the pain (cuts are needed but dont come calling to me!) and lacking the clarity or focus to challenge the way we have been voting.

Cue "the special ones" calling this a FF spin . . I challenge them to read it again and actually understand the post!

Who will you be voting for in the new year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Which brand of whiskey would you prefer with your revolver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

godtabh wrote: »
    Who will you be voting for in the new year?

I dont know yet. Its going to be a case of voting for the lessor of all evils as far as I am concerned and I am veering towards FG.

I usually vote for the candidates, but I have not met or seen which ones we are going to get (I know the boundaries changed in my area, not sure which side we will be voting - Meath or Louth!).

I think all parties have alot of work to do for proper change to happen, but the political and electorate will for real change just isnt there -

FF - They need to be out of power as they are stale and too used to getting their own way. I think a good stint on the opposition for 2 elections would promote real change within the party.

FG - The are still a bit too populist for my liking but are a better alternative to Labour. I will be interested to see if their reform policies will be implemented once they are in power. My guess is that its just a PR stunt, hopefully time will prove me wrong

Labour - Trade Unions must be licking their lips at the prospect of having a super ally in power. Couple this with the wafer thin policies (and inability to discuss the economy at length) and I worry greatly with what damage they would do to the country and the cost to the rest of us when their look after their "mates" are everybody elses expense (funny how FF get lambasted for doing it, but its widely accepted that its fine for Lab to do the same for public service workers and unionised members!).

SF - They just say whatever they can to generate public popularity. They seldom have much of an understanding of what they are saying (Mary Lou makes me laugh sometimes!) and are being very opportunist at playing with vulnerable and ill educated electorate.

Ind - My preferance would be an independent candidate that shares my ideals and the importance of trying to implement true change. This would include looking to bring in some sort of education programme designed to engage children from a younger age (teens) into taking an interest in politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

How much will you be getting in pension payments from the state including the expense of providing you with a state car, driver, Garda protection etc?

Now, given that that amount stretches into many millions over the rest of your life, do you (as the great patriot you profess to be) need further instruction on the best thing you can do for the country?

/passes Cowan a rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭mistermouse

What would you like for your last meal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

We have to move forward

1) Why if as you claim you truly love your country don't you listen to sound economic advice from the likes of Peter Matthews or Brian Lucey or Morgan Kelly , TASC etc , etc?. Do you not respect their opinion or are you working for vested interests?.
    I don't accept that
    3) Is your home ever cold\damp or do you ever have to switch off the heating because you can't afford the bills?
    *Hic* acceptance, moving forward, zzzzzz
    4) Do you have panic attacks or insomnia wondering how you will pay your mortgage or day to day bills?.
    we have to move forward.
    5) Do you ever have panic attacks or insomnia wondering how the citizens you govern will pay their mortgages or day to day bills?.
    i don't accept that
    6) Have you no shame for your role in the current economic crisis and possibly condemning generations of people to debt slavery?
    i don't accept that
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    simeple question ....at what point did you realise that (you/the country) were up sh1t creek without a paddle ? (was it after Bertie walked away ...or before)
    We need to be at the HEART of Europe...oh, wrong one...er...I don't accept that premise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭dcmraad

I'd like to ask Mr Cowen ,

Hi JOhnny, Biffo here

No we know better, all our decisions were the right ones, anyway who says otherwise should die or commit suicide. We have turned a corner

No feckin way
    We have turned a corner

I can manage my own home budget, I think I may only have 5,000 euro a week to live on but I can do it, I know I get a free car, driver, food, booze, fags, power, water, but it is tough.

We have turned a corner

I think I may only have 5,000 euro a week to live on but I can just about pay them. I drink too much to remember sleeping.
    We have turned a corner

Who?
    We have turned a corner

6) Have you no shame for your role in the current economic crisis and possibly condemning generations of people to debt slavery?.

There is no crisis, it is a world issue caused by lehmans and china
    I have saved this country
    Fianna Fail has saved this country
    Bertie saved this country

We have turned a corner

That's all I'd like to ask that man. But I've a feeling that I'd be f**king waiting a long time for an honest , concise , coherent answer.

On a serious note

Mr Cowen, how does a man of such limited capacity end up running a banana republic.

How could you and your party be so stupid in not recognising the banking issue highlighted in reports in 2001.

How many incompetetent cronies are now in serious positions in state bodies and quangoes are connected to you and your party, and have achieved these positions through bribery or some form of corruption.

Why didn't you make the decisions you had to in 2008 instead of squandering 2 years doing nothing but exacerbating the problem.

DO IRELAND A FAVOUR AND GET OUT NOW.