Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie to running

• 06-12-2010 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Im totally new to the running scene and want to get into it but I'm unsure where to start. I'm 23 and go the gym 3/4 weekly, I'd do a bit of cardio and weight training but iv no real structure or goals in the gym.

I go on the treadmill and usually do 5km in and around the 30mins mark.
    That's my cardio. When it comes to the weight training I'll do mostly light free weights(3x12) nothing mad.

I tried going for a run recently outdoors and it was a different ball game altogether, I could barely do 1 lap of my local park! I was shocked.

I love the running and would love to get into in a big way but I need guidance and a decent programme. I know the couch to 5km is a good way of beginning but I'd like a running programme that combines 5km,10km and sprints.

Also if someone could suggest the correct Running attire as I feel this could make a difference too. As I said I'm a total newnie to this so I don't know what times and speeds I should be aiming for, perhaps some advice on how get quicker, run for longer, that would be great.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank u:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Starting running - what gear do you need

Your best bet is to pick a race, pick a training programme for that race, and follow that. A decent training plan will have a mix of different runs and will help you both run for longer and get faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Omega28

Thanks RayCun:)

but when u say pick a programme, where would I obtain this from? Say I was aiming to do a 10 km race, what type of programme would I need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

This is the 10k plan I am using at the moment and I find it fab. I dont always do the cross training days, I more so just use the running days as my guide. It gradually increases your distance so you dont get injured and enjoy the run.
    There are also some 5k plans on there....

http://www.halhigdon.com/10ktraining/10knovice.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Best of luck with the training. I had a similar experience when starting out, after spending many years on the gym treadmill - I found it to be completely different, and it took a while me to get my pace and breathing in order. Stick with it though, and you'll never go back to the treadmill :)

Thanks RubyK:-)

I'm just finding the treadmill very boring at the moment and when I listen to people in the gym talking about running outdoors and it just feels amazing and when I went out for a run It took so much outta me, I couldn't breath at all, I got a stitch and just couldn't move, felt awful!

When I see people running outdoors it looks so stree free and there's a sense if freedom, something I can't get on the treadmill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

RubyK wrote: »
    I had a similar experience when starting out, after spending many years on the gym treadmill - I found it to be completely different, and it took a while me to get my pace and breathing in order.

That just doesn't make any sense at all? I don't get it?

The treadmill is the best place to learn to keep pace. If you spend years running 5km km's at what ever speed on a treadmill you will automatically run near enough to that pace outside.

As for breathing :confused:

I was just wondering if anyone knows of any free software or sites etc that I can keep a log of my training sessions etc

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I was just wondering if anyone knows of any free software or sites etc that I can keep a log of my training sessions etc

Your phone may have GPS on it and if it does you can download and use Endomondo to track all your runs. It's a great way to track your progress over time.

www.endomondo.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

If you were wondering about speed training, try looking up about Fartlek. I found it very beneficial. You can adapt it to work for 5 or 10ks.

there's a training logs subforum here on Boards A/R/T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

AntiVirus wrote: »

The treadmill is the best place to learn to keep pace. If you spend years running 5km km's at what ever speed on a treadmill you will automatically run near enough to that pace outside.

But being outside is totally different, the surface is harder, there could be a headwind or a tailwind, running uphill, downhill or on the flat. All of these disrupt pace and are often imperceptible like a gentle drag of a slope which you only realise you're on when you're at the top and look back.

I agreee with your point about the breathing though.

Mr Magners wrote: »
    But being outside is totally different, the surface is harder, there could be a headwind or a tailwind, running uphill, downhill or on the flat. All of these disrupt pace and are often imperceptible like a gentle drag of a slope which you only realise you're on when you're at the top and look back.

I agreee with your point about the breathing though.

If you run up hills, down hills, into headwinds or tailwinds, gale force winds, ice paths, snow, sand, mud you should expect your pace to be different no matter how long you've been running outside.

You could apply that to switching from running on a track to running on a road. :pac:

Anyway in short yes running outside is going to be different/harder but if you can run 5km on a treadmill you should be able to run 5km outside. The only difference should be your time.

Sorry, that was just my experience. I spent years on a treadmill as part of a gym routine, doing 5-6km 3-4 times a week, but when I started to run outdoors, I found it much harder. My lungs felt like they were on fire, and I found it hard to pace myself, and after just 1 mile felt wrecked. I stuck with it though, and learned to love outdoor running.

I was just sharing my experience with the OP, and reassuring him that I too found running outdoors to be a lot different to treadmill running, and not to loose heart with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Is it possible, the OP when running outside is running too fast (faster than what he normally runs when running on treadmill) and that may the reason he is out of breath. I too started out, doing most of my running on the treadmill and found that i when i started running outdoors, i was out of breath particularly in the beginning of the run. This was due to the fact that i always and still do start out my jogs outdoors too fast.
    Maybe OP needs to be conscious of this when running outside and slow down.

PDCAT wrote: »
    Is it possible, the OP when running outside is running too fast (faster than what he normally runs when running on treadmill) and that may the reason he is out of breath. I too started out, doing most of my running on the treadmill and found that i when i started running outdoors, i was out of breath particularly in the beginning of the run. This was due to the fact that i always and still do start out my jogs outdoors too fast.
    Maybe OP needs to be conscious of this when running outside and slow down.

This could be the problem. I thought I was running slower when I did the switch from treadmill to outdoors and then found out I was in fact running faster! :pac:

RubyK wrote: »
    Sorry, that was just my experience. I spent years on a treadmill as part of a gym routine, doing 5-6km 3-4 times a week, but when I started to run outdoors, I found it much harder. My lungs felt like they were on fire, and I found it hard to pace myself, and after just 1 mile felt wrecked. I stuck with it though, and learned to love outdoor running.

I was just sharing my experience with the OP, and reassuring him that I too found running outdoors to be a lot different to treadmill running, and not to loose heart with it.

Not having a go at you or anything but spending 2 years running 5-6km 3-4 times a week on a treadmill and then feeling wrecked after 1.6km's just because you ran outside doesn't make any sense? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

This could be the problem. I thought I was running slower when I did the switch from treadmill to outdoors and then found out I was in fact running faster! :pac:
    What puzzles me a little is why starters seems to feel the need for lots of gear starting off. If someone has been going to a gym for while, then what they wear is probably grand for a couple of months ( as long as shoes/runners are reasonably decent)
    My attitude is spend a few months running for the fun of it and dont worry about the gear and programmes. If you would still like it, then move forward. Of course I dont seems to need ipods etc, etc, etc either to run - maybe I am just not doing it properly !:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

Not having a go at you or anything but spending 2 years running 5-6km 3-4 times a week on a treadmill and then feeling wrecked after 1.6km's just because you ran outside doesn't make any sense? :confused:

I started running on the road so I'm not an authority on the changeover from the treadmill to the outdoors but I would imagine on the treadmill you don't have to drive yourself forward as you do outside but merely keep your feet ticking over.

mrslow wrote: »
    I started running on the road so I'm not an authority on the changeover from the treadmill to the outdoors but I would imagine on the treadmill you don't have to drive yourself forward as you do outside but merely keep your feet ticking over.

Of course you have to drive yourself forwards otherwise you would fall off! :D

The critical part there was 'as you do outside' ;)

Yip, the World is one big treadmill spinning at 4467 mph :pac:

That of course depends on the direction you run :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Here is a thread from while back on treadmill running vs outdoor with some interesting arguments on both sides (as well as some light hearted humour later in the thread:D)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056067540&highlight=treadmill&page=2

May be of some interest

ecoli wrote: »
    Here is a thread from while back on treadmill running vs outdoor with some interesting arguments on both sides (as well as some light hearted humour later in the thread:D)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056067540&highlight=treadmill&page=2

May be of some interest

I read it all before, I made the last post. :D

What I'm taking about here is if you spent 2 years running 5-6km 3-4 times a week on a treadmill. You should have no problem running 1.6km outdoors? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

I read it all before, I made the last post. :D

What I'm taking about here is if you spent 2 years running 5-6km 3-4 times a week on a treadmill. You should have no problem running 1.6km outdoors? :confused:

My experience was similar, spent some 6 months running on a threadmill and finally started doing a bit of road running. Found the pacing difficult and alot tougher.

You have your OPINION, people are giving their experience!

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    My experience was similar, spent some 6 months running on a threadmill and finally started doing a bit of road running. Found the pacing difficult and alot tougher.

You have your OPINION, people are giving their experience!

How long did it take you to learn to run outside or are you still learning? What changes did you have to make to cope with running out side compared to running on a treadmill?

Jaysus, the claws are out! I thought running made one more mellow:D

Everyone's going crazy with cabin fever:D

How long did it take you to learn to run outside or are you still learning? What changes did you have to make to cope with running out side compared to running on a treadmill?

You are 100% correct o mighty one, running on a treadmill was exactly the same as running on a road for me!

Your opinion is fact and perhaps my own experiences were illusions, apologies.

You are 100% correct o mighty one, running on a treadmill was exactly the same as running on a road for me!

Your opinion is fact and perhaps my own experiences were illusions, apologies.

Why don't you just explain how you trained yourself to run outside? How long did it take you? You said you had the same problem but yet you didn't give any advice. You should be able to help the op poster if you bothered to explain how you trained yourself to run outdoors.

May then I may understand too, if just baffles me as to how you can run 5/6km on a treadmill but then can't run 1.6km outside?? You've quoted me on this so you must have had the same problem? How did you learn to run outside?? :confused:

Try running on a treadmill for 5km, see how mellow you are then! :D

You should get out and about dude, hit the fresh air;)

Why don't you just explain how you trained yourself to run outside? How long did it take you? You said you had the same problem but yet you didn't give any advice. You should be able to help the op poster if you bothered to explain how you trained yourself to run outdoors.

May then I may understand too, if just baffles me as to how you can run 5/6km on a treadmill but then can't run 1.6km outside?? You've quoted me on this so you must have had the same problem? How did you learn to run outside?? :confused:

If your goal is to cycle and be sucessful on a hilly route you need to train in the hills! Similary if you want to run a flat road race you need to train on the roads! If I want to be the fastest guy in the gym on a treadmill I need to train on a treadmill!

I believe road running is very different to treadmill running, I nearly died when I transfered my treadmill running to the road! What did it take?

Time and training to be honest, I eventually got there and will never return to the treadmill weather permitting!

Ive only recently taken to training with a heart rate monitor and cant believe how much I was doing wrong! I was killing myself on runs because I thought I wasnt pushing enough and I think this may be the ops problem!

Get a heat rate monitor and stick to your training zone, at this time of year generally you should be in a relatively easy zone (aerobic) 60-70% to build fitness!

Recently due to the weather I switched back to the treadmill for a bit and found it tough, why? I reckon its becuse I train on roads!

A heart monitor solves all your problems and a very basic model costs 50 euro on wiggle, my advice is invest and plan your runs, means you will never stagger back to your home dissapointed.

If I had a HRM when I transferred to the road I dont think I would have had the same problem!

If your goal is to cycle and be sucessful on a hilly route you need to train in the hills! Similary if you want to run a flat road race you need to train on the roads! If I want to be the fastest guy in the gym on a treadmill I need to train on a treadmill!

I believe road running is very different to treadmill running, I nearly died when I transfered my treadmill running to the road! What did it take?

Time and training to be honest, I eventually got there and will never return to the treadmill weather permitting!

Ive only recently taken to training with a heart rate monitor and cant believe how much I was doing wrong! I was killing myself on runs because I thought I wasnt pushing enough and I think this may be the ops problem!

Get a heat rate monitor and stick to your training zone, at this time of year generally you should be in a relatively easy zone (aerobic) 60-70% to build fitness!

Recently due to the weather I switched back to the treadmill for a bit and found it tough, why? I reckon its becuse I train on roads!

A heart monitor solves all your problems and a very basic model costs 50 euro on wiggle, my advice is invest and plan your runs, means you will never stagger back to your home dissapointed.

If I had a HRM when I transferred to the road I dont think I would have had the same problem!

Good post Arthurdaly and good advice on the heart rate! I actually never checked my heart rate running out doors. I have been thinking about getting the endomondo one as I use endomondo to record my runs outside. It would be interesting to see it recorded along witht eh GPS stats.

As I said to the OP, I found it very different switching from treadmill running to outside running. Yes, I was comfortable doing 5-6KM on the treadmill, but outside was a different matter.

My first run outside, was on the beach at 29th May '09 at 6.00am one morning (yes, I realise it's kinda sad that I can actually remember the date). I honestly struggled with doing 1.5 miles. My legs felt like lead and my lungs burned. But I stuck with it. Every 2nd day I took myself to the beach every evening after work and plodded along. Going from 15mins at the beginning, building up to 40 mins or so. I did that for 3 months. It was tough, sometimes it felt like I was making no progress at all, but I just stuck with it. The first week of September '09 I moved onto running the roads - 5.5 miles, and on the 12th Sep 2009 I did my first 10K road race, and from there entered other races, and trained 4-5 times a week for DCM 2010.

Everyone is different. All I wanted from my original post was to let the OP know that he wasn't alone, I found it tough too, but not to give up. I really hope he's sticking with it, and starting to enjoy outdoor running.

Running on the beach has got to be tougher than the roads, grass, or treadmill, hasn't it? good training, but hard work.

Hi Ray, on wet sand it's no different to road running really, might even be a bit easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

And I always thought running was as simple as one foot in front of another :confused:

@RubyK - I've never done any beach running but I can imagine that its got to be harder than road running and definitly harder than treadmill running but its good to see that you worked at it and it's worked out very well for you.

I hope the OP does continue to run outside and I'm sure he will start to enjoy his runs over time, I'm still learning that part! :D

Stick with it, it's well and truely worth it :)

Hi all

Just thought I'd give u guys a little update.

Firstly a big thank you to everyone for their advice and comments, I appreciate it:)

So I'm a regular in the gym, doing 5kms and some light resistance training. As I said at the start of this thread I went for a run in the park and found it tough. With college and the weather I haven't got a chance to get back on the road, but iv been going the gym. In a way its like I'm afraid to go back out on the road after my first time, I really did struggle, and its after putting me off slightly

The ideal situation for would be to run 5-8km on road in the future, that's my goal for 2011, it should be achievable as I'm in shape and I'm only 23.

I have to say I love the running and I wanted to take it to the next step with proper training gear and program, hence why I asked you guys for some advice.

I will try get back onto road after all this snow and hopefully reach my goal of running 5m in the first 3 months then moving on 6/7/8km.
    Also may I ask what type of time should a newbie be running 5km on a treadmill compared to road? and what speed I should be going at?

Horses for courses, it's an impossible question, everyone is at a different level of fitness/strength. There are of course 'respectable' times for each distance but again it depends on how fit one is.

A good rule of thumb is when you are running your long run you should be able to converse with someone, if you can't get a sentence out - you're going too fast. If you feel you could give Nessun Dorma a lash - you might want to speed up;)

If you want to find out how fast you can run 5k, or how that compares to other runners your age, there is a simple answer to both questions.

RayCun wrote: »
    If you want to find out how fast you can run 5k, or how that compares to other runners your age, there is a simple answer to both questions.

Where do you find out about these runs?

They were giving out leaflets for that one at the end of the Jingle Bells, this year and last year.