Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feel like a prick for driving dangerously

• 05-12-2010 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

And I probably am.

Im 22 years old and used to always pride myself on being a safe driver. I never fell into the category of the young lad tearing down back roads with a load of lads in the car. Until recently.

I've had a few cars so far in my lifetime. I'm a car person and its my hobby.

Last year I bought a fairly powerful car and I've only just realised that I've acted the prick and taken chances and I dont know why. No one was injured or anything but there was potential.
    I don't want forgiveness tbh because that would just be stupid. In my eyes what I did is unforgiveable given how many people die on our roads.

I feel really guilty about it now and I did at the time right afterwards too. I've learned my lesson and I think I'm even more responsible now. I'm a confident driver but I know I'm still gonna be learning lessons. But I just feel like ****, maybe I should feel like ****?

I just dunno what to think. To me this is a big deal. I wont be acting the bollox again like but it still nags me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Sounds like you have learned your lesson -- and thankfully, you havn't had to learn it the hard way. Count your blessings that no one was ever hurt. Forgive yourself and drive responsibly from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

You know you've made mistakes. Forgive yourself now and forget it and just don't do it in the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well your only 22, and you have not caused or been in any serious accidents, so build a bridge, move on..

There are people out there who never learn and end up in prison for dangerous driving and/or cause others serious injuries or death due to there actions, so be thankful your not them and you have copped on... if only more young drivers would..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

OP, you made a mistake, thankfully nobody was hurt. But you seemed to have learned from it which is a good thing. Plenty of people don't care and never change. It is good that you want to change.

So you need to move on from it and drive carefully in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭weatherguy

You say you're a confident driver and you are into cars.Well, let that incident be a lesson to you about how close you came to seriously injuring if not fatally injuring youself and/ or your passengers.You are a novice in terms of motoring experience. You describe yourself as a confident driver. That's your problem. Be more carefull. Show other motorists respect on the roads.Slow down. Don't take chances because your confidence will one day lead you up a cul de sac with no way back. Why did you buy a high powered car? How long have you passed your driving test?You are not experienced enough to drive a high power car on Irish roads or motorways.Remember, the gardai patrol motorways, dual carriageways and secondary roads 24/7 through their own presence in marked and unmarked cars and by the new camera system.Be lucky you did yourself nor your passengers any harm by your inappropriate and immature driving that night. Chalk it down to experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

OP , Fair enough , forgive yourself.

I have been driving for 35 yrs , I still sometimes have to check myself and realise I am ' acting the maggot '. It's easy to get wound up behind someone ' driving too slow ' , or someone being ' stupid ' , and end up doing something worse yourself !!

Why not enrol in an advanced driving course or similar ? That may have the added benefit of reducing your insurance

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

hhuuuhhhh wrote: »
    I know I'm still gonna be learning lessons.

Everyone of us learns on a daily basis. This happens through out your life.
    Only a fool doesn't learn from them, you at least have and must continue to do so.
    Death can happen in the blink of an eye on our roads if someone isn't paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭JayeL

I think you've had what a few young drivers die without getting - and that's common sense. Count yourself lucky but here's what you should do; make it abundantly clear to anyone driving (or boasting that they drive) in such a manner that you think they're idiots for doing so.

Too much unchallenged bravado and bollocks from what the media call boy racers reinforce their urge to take more and more stupid risks.

Someone like you, a car guy with a powerful motor, call them stupid for driving like that would mean a lot more than it coming from Gay Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

Is this for real ?
    I mean, wtf ?
    Seriously dude, if you are being genuine, just never do it again and be thankful nobody got hurt by your actions.

When I was a young fella this kind of thing was a nightly occurance.
    I wouldn't sweat it dude.

Far more people have done far worse things than you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

OP, I'd say a lot of blokes are much older than 22 before they came to the same realisation. Don't beat yourself up over it; just remember what you've learned every time you sit in to your car.
    claiva wrote: »
    Far more people have done far worse things than you did.

I think the OP has probably realised that far more people have done the same thing but just not been as lucky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Well done OP. I know lots of lads who drive dangerously but its comforting to know that some at least come to sense eventually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

By acknowledging that what you did was wrong and learning from it you've cleared your conscience and done the right thing. Forgive yourself, and don't repeat it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've done incredibly stupid things while driving including drink driving many times years ago.
    In fact our local TD says drinking helps drivers
    Stupid :o

But I acknowledged it and learned from it and this seems to be what you've done OP

So well done on your awareness, just don't ever repeat it. Don't be hard on yourself

Everyone learns something new as they go along, even if you're driving a few years a few lessons isn't a bad option