Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJ Le Roi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

This is DJ Le Roi's best remix to date IMO super stuff my second fav tune of 2010 after Tensnake -Coma Cat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t-bcQ3a-nM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

I like soulful house but imo those tracks are ****e.I turned my head to vomit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I'll go easier.
    I know you get a lot of stick around here Jonny, and undeservedly in my opinion as I think my tastes probably run a lot closer to yours than to a lot of the techno snobs' on the forum.
    Just had a listen to the youtube track though and thought it was very average (is that an oxymoron?). Then again, I wouldn't have Coma cat in my top ten of the year either, and it's been a pretty disappointing year for me as far as finding kick-ass tracks goes.

milltown wrote: »
    Just had a listen to the youtube track though and thought it was very average
    In a nutshell yeah that was it.Dont think Johnny minds the colourful banter:)
    Hardly the best track/remix of the year

seannash wrote: »
    I like soulful house but imo those tracks are ****e.I turned my head to vomit

your opinion of course personally speaking i think it's fantastic,you like soulful house yeah,funny that anytime ive ever mentioned that genre you've done nothing but slagged it off.

MN2S are one of the leading labels on the Soulful House scene so you'll excuse me if i don't take your comments too seriously:D

I'll go easier.
    I know you get a lot of stick around here Jonny, and undeservedly in my opinion as I think my tastes probably run a lot closer to yours than to a lot of the techno snobs' on the forum.
    Just had a listen to the youtube track though and thought it was very average (is that an oxymoron?). Then again, I wouldn't have Coma cat in my top ten of the year either, and it's been a pretty disappointing year for me as far as finding kick-ass tracks goes.

stick me,haha never mate water off a ducks back you think im bothered what people really think on an internet forum maybe one on 1 or 2 occasions i may have but i really don't care end of the day opinions are like ar*eholes everyone got one, but yeah i agree there are too many bandwagon jumpers and dance music snobs on here at times.

I don't think it's been that bad a year for music if your into Soulful / Funky House there have been some really good solid releases.

seannash wrote: »
    In a nutshell yeah that was it.Dont think Johnny minds the colourful banter:)
    Hardly the best track/remix of the year

I think is it but as ive said opinions are like ars*holes everyones got one, im sure you'd pick some tune you thought was one of the best of the year and id "turn to vomit" (well maybe not vomit:p ) but id probably think it was brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

I like soulful house but they are a bit predictable and cheesy, sorry johnny

Maybe we should have a soulful house thread though :D

jonnny68 wrote: »
    your opinion of course personally speaking i think it's fantastic,you like soulful house yeah,funny that anytime ive ever mentioned that genre you've done nothing but slagged it off.

MN2S are one of the leading labels on the Soulful House scene so you'll excuse me if i don't take your comments too seriously:D
    sorry man but ive always said i liked soulful house.I slagged you off when you claimed funky house to be some sort of high brow music genre.

Also booking Jay J to play a few gigs would lead me to believe i like soulful house

Im well aware who mn2s are,especially since ive been to there WMC gigs 3 times but great labels can still release ****e tracks.

Random Soul are fellas releasing quality soulful stuff,much better than this fella
    Anyway the concensus seems to be that those tracks are a bit bad(is that a better word)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

i get deep yo'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

johnny are you a hairdresser by any chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Scambuster

You really do have an ear for **** tunes jonny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Why would a Swiss dj use a French name?

No... no that doesn't make sense at all..

Anima wrote: »

Some parts of Switzerland speak french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Well thats something I didn't know, just over 20% even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

God I love jonnny's threads. Always turn into a good aul b1tchfest. :D

I don't think it's even your choice of songs (suspect though they are) that gets peoples backs up jonnny. I think it's your tone. You always try to get the first dig in by saying things like "people that know their music will like this" or "people that aren't bandwagon jumpers will appreciate this"
    It's a sure fire way to create the negative comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

It's gas everyone knows jonny has the ****test taste in music known to man, except for jonny himself, I'm just glad I'm not like that and I like deadly music. Sorry johnny I'm just posting what everyone is thinking.

To summarise, YOU LIKE SH!T MUSIC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

What I find baffling is that those tunes are commercialised beyond belief. Not bad tracks, and not my cup of tea, but they really are house music specifically aimed at people who don't listen to house music.

Definitely not the worst stuff Jonny's posted but very cheesy and commercial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

Anima wrote: »

Makes perfect sense if you are from the french-speaking part of switzerland

BaZmO* wrote: »
    God I love jonnny's threads. Always turn into a good aul b1tchfest. :D

I don't think it's even your choice of songs (suspect though they are) that gets peoples backs up jonnny. I think it's your tone. You always try to get the first dig in by saying things like "people that know their music will like this" or "people that aren't bandwagon jumpers will appreciate this"
    It's a sure fire way to create the negative comments.
    and you know what mate i actually don't give a fu*k either, i posted this knowing full well it would turn into a bitchfest ;)

brianc27 wrote: »
    johnny are you a hairdresser by any chance

dwight_eubanks.jpg:D

Scambuster wrote: »
    You really do have an ear for **** tunes jonny.

You really do have an ear for **** tunes Scambuster.

brianc27 wrote: »
    It's gas everyone knows jonny has the ****test taste in music known to man, except for jonny himself, I'm just glad I'm not like that and I like deadly music. Sorry johnny I'm just posting what everyone is thinking.

To summarise, YOU LIKE SH!T MUSIC.

It's gas everyone knows brianc27 has the ****test taste in music known to man, except for brianc27 himself, I'm just glad I'm not like that and I like deadly music. Sorry brianc27 I'm just posting what everyone is thinking.

To summarise, YOU LIKE SH!T MUSIC

just out of curiosity, does anyone here actually like the tunes jonny has posted in this thread?

I'm genuinely curious.

(Awaits his turn):)

jtsuited wrote: »
    just out of curiosity, does anyone here actually like the tunes jonny has posted in this thread?

I'm genuinely curious.

most probably not Jeff but i really don't care to be honest,personally speaking i like them and at the end of the day that's all that matters.

as i said opinions are like ars*holes, everyone has one:)

jonnny68 wrote: »
    most probably not Jeff but i really don't care to be honest,personally speaking i like them and at the end of the day that's all that matters.

as i said opinions are like ars*holes, everyone has one:)

yeah I hear ya but posting about something you like that you know other people probably won't is a bit mental though right? I mean you said you knew this would turn into a 'bitchfest'.

Yes opinions are like arseholes and everyone has one etc.,
    however,
    much of the purpose of internet forums is a place to discuss things and present opinions with people of similar interests. And of course debate conflicting opinions etc within the parameters of logical discussion (we might be loathe to admit it, but everyone loves a good argument).

Saying something and refusing to debate it because 'everyone has opinions' and continuing to ignore any other people's contributions as 'just other people's opinions' is both childish and arrogant.

Childish because basically you're saying you can say whatever you want without backing it up because it's 'your opinion and you are entitled to it' (which btw isn't true),
    and arrogant because you are thinking what you say is above criticism and not up for debate.

I think it's fair to assume that that is what really winds up most of the people around here about your posts Jonny. It's not that you're into different music or whatever, it's the fact that you attempt to speak from a place of authority without having the decency to debate maturely when challenged.

yeah I hear ya but posting about something you like that you know other people probably won't is a bit mental though right? I mean you said you knew this would turn into a 'bitchfest'.

Yes opinions are like arseholes and everyone has one etc.,
    however,
    much of the purpose of internet forums is a place to discuss things and present opinions with people of similar interests. And of course debate conflicting opinions etc within the parameters of logical discussion (we might be loathe to admit it, but everyone loves a good argument).

Saying something and refusing to debate it because 'everyone has opinions' and continuing to ignore any other people's contributions as 'just other people's opinions' is both childish and arrogant.

Childish because basically you're saying you can say whatever you want without backing it up because it's 'your opinion and you are entitled to it' (which btw isn't true),
    and arrogant because you are thinking what you say is above criticism and not up for debate.

I think it's fair to assume that that is what really winds up most of the people around here about your posts Jonny. It's not that you're into different music or whatever, it's the fact that you attempt to speak from a place of authority without having the decency to debate maturely when challenged.

errrrrrr OK thanks for your input there Jeff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I forgot to add, when I'm looking for music I generally skip straight past anything by anyone called DJ [insert name here]. I find it's usually, erm, poor.

Not exactly on-topic but not as far off as this thread seems to have veered.

apart from DJ Sprinkles of course. He's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I'm genuinely curious.

I would have to say they are not my cup of tea for listening but are far far far better than any of that dubstep nonsense & such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

I would have to say they are not my cup of tea for listening but are far far far better than any of that dubstep nonsense & such.

used to be a dubstep hater meself key, but listened to some of the real grimey stuff a while back and its actually alright man, some very decent stuff out there, some absolute tripe as well tho :D

es-cee wrote: »
    used to be a dubstep hater meself key, but listened to some of the real grimey stuff a while back and its actually alright man, some very decent stuff out there, some absolute tripe as well tho :D

Once you start down that road.....next it will be,

I used to be a Tiesto hater meself..........

Once you start down that road.....next it will be,

I used to be a Tiesto hater meself..........

nah mate, not a tiesto fan at all as far as dj'n goes but he did bring out some decent tunes in the early 00s i'll give credit were its due :rolleyes:
    but seriously man, some dubstep is proper stuff mate, should check some of it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

nah mate, not a tiesto fan at all as far as dj'n goes but he did bring out some decent tunes in the early 00s i'll give credit were its due :rolleyes:
    but seriously man, some dubstep is proper stuff mate, should check some of it out
    The more industrial / dark dubstep is right up my alley, stuff like Milanese or Vex'd.

But the stuff released by the likes of Caspa has a very short sell by date. I was into it for a while but couldnt bare to listen to it now.

The more industrial / dark dubstep is right up my alley, stuff like Milanese or Vex'd.

But the stuff released by the likes of Caspa has a very short sell by date. I was into it for a while but couldnt bare to listen to it now.

love anything dark meself mate, have ya got any examples that i can look up? i'm not great with names of new tunes, oldskool lover meself lol, cheers. es.

I cant get my head around how this was released on Ninja Tune. So ****ing dark!!

Nice bitta dark grime.

From the brilliant album "Degenerate by Vex'd". Well worth a listen

I cant get my head around how this was released on Ninja Tune. So ****ing dark!!

Nice bitta dark grime.

From the brilliant album "Degenerate by Vex'd". Well worth a listen

fair play mate, that 1st track is deadly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I forgot to add, when I'm looking for music I generally skip straight past anything by anyone called DJ [insert name here]. I find it's usually, erm, poor.

Ah come on, don't tell me you're serious? It's fair to say that there are definitely hundreds of shite DJ _____s out there, but what about like DJ Shadow, DJ Koze, DJ Deeon ( ;) ) etc?

Also yeah, 'brostep' (basically a name for ****e dubstep, Caspa/Rusko and all their derivitives) is shite, but some of what comes under the blanket name of dubstep is definitely some of the best dance music to come out in recent years, especially what it's evolved into.

'brostep'...............dubstep..........

Should bring out a genre called 'Watchyourstep':rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Ah come on, don't tell me you're serious? It's fair to say that there are definitely hundreds of shite DJ _____s out there, but what about like DJ Shadow, DJ Koze, DJ Deeon ( ;) ) etc?

Also yeah, 'brostep' (basically a name for ****e dubstep, Caspa/Rusko and all their derivitives) is shite, but some of what comes under the blanket name of dubstep is definitely some of the best dance music to come out in recent years, especially what it's evolved into.

Yeah brostep is rubbish. I only listen to slostep. Its dubstep made by people with intellectual disabilities. Its music to listen to when you want to pity the fool.

fair play mate, that 1st track is deadly!!!

You can thank scubadevils for that. He posted it up here a while back