Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"A number of very serious incidents in recent months"

• 03-12-2010 3:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

Anyone else get this email from the college?

Just wondering what these serious incidents have been. I seem to recall an attack on a woman over by Gort na Coiribe.

I would also highly recommend printing out the PDF that came with the email, it has some hot tips like "never pick up hitch hikers", "remember, you can call the Gards on 999" and "take care of expensive things, don't leave them unattended or they might get stolen".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Everyone on the student mailing list have gotten it, I assume.

Who knows, maybe reminders help people to remember the basics of personal safety. Out of sight out of mind and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

SarcasmMeter.jpg

The force sarcasm is strong in this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

On a slightly related note - anyone else getting these emails from yon Paddy Healy character? Running for Seanad/complaining about the IMF bailout or somesuch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

The most colorful emails I've been getting lately are ones sent to an entire class from students who think they are seriously, like, the funniest thing since, like, ever:

"im a queer. YAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY"

and

"I am really finding hard to study these days, I can not sleep at night thinkin of sharna. I wanna see her boobs again. come back sharna!!Please come back"

The second one is clearly from some seriously unreal buzz that happened in CPs some Thursday night that just must be shared with 200-odd other students.

Yeah, I didn't get the point of the email OP mentioned at all. Next they'll be sending out:

Dear student,

Don't slip on the ice.

Nach duillín ar an oighear.

Kind regards,

John Smith,
    Not Slipping on the Ice Officer,
    Office of Not Slipping on the Ice,
    NUI Galway
    OÉ Gaillimh
    Room 102, Quadrangle,
    Officer Hours: 9am - 6pm
    Tel: (49)1234
    Fax: (49)1235
    Email: notslippingontheice@nuigalway.ie
    "An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind." - Mohandas Gandhi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

^ I always assume that those emails aren't sent by the people themselves, but by someone taking the piss. At least that's what I hope is happening... if they're sending them themselves thinking they're the coolest thing ever then it doesn't bode well for the country in 10 years time :eek:

Still might be better than now, admittedly..

^ I always assume that those emails aren't sent by the people themselves, but by someone taking the piss. At least that's what I hope is happening... if they're sending them themselves thinking they're the coolest thing ever then it doesn't bode well for the country in 10 years time :eek:

Still might be better than now, admittedly..

I can only assume it's the Blackboard equivalent of "fraping" someone i.e. somebody logs in to Blackboard in the library, walks away without locking their computer (it's WINDOWS+L for anyone who didn't know), friend/fellow buzzer goes up to computer, sends an email to an entire class using Blackboard, all under the guise of the laptop-owner.

Will people start locking their laptops in the library now? Of course not. But let's just reiterate one more time...

win_l.jpg

Oh look, a new one.

"I once pushed my left testicle up to my belly button. Not a good day."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Sianery

I know of 2 people who've been mugged in the past week or so. I assumed that's what they were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Sianery wrote: »
    I know of 2 people who've been mugged in the past week or so. I assumed that's what they were talking about.

Threats? Knife? Gun?

What does a mugging look like in Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Zillah wrote: »
    What does a mugging look like in Galway?

"Gimme yer Buckfast or I'll run over yer toe with me bicycle" - something like that.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Sianery

One guy had his face smashed off the wall on the Shantalla Road, has stitches.

The other was attacked from behind, but he fought back apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭HotDogger

I reckon they should increase the student grants by 50% and make it a requirement that you live at least 45 km outside of galway in order to sign on to the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭steel_spine

Oh look, a new one.

"I once pushed my left testicle up to my belly button. Not a good day."

You're on the statistics mailing list too then?

Sianery wrote: »
    One guy had his face smashed off the wall on the Shantalla Road, has stitches.

I know him and he's lovely. Horrible thing to happen because of some dirty scumbags :(.

You're on the statistics mailing list too then?

Yes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I've heard somewhere that when it comes to rapes etc. in an area the guards will only release details after there have been a certain number of cases in the same area, so if theres a news report of a rape somewhere that means there has been a few, attempts at least, in the same place. I think its because if all of them were reported everyone would be too scared to ever leave the house! This might be just a rumour but it would help explain why there are official warnings sent out that say several attacks even though only one has been publicised.

Yes :rolleyes:

Shower of mongs, what are they, 5?
    Hope you're set for the exam on Mon.
    P.S. - You used to frequent the squareyes forum no? (and still frequent squareyes :D)

Letter in the Advertiser on this topic - apparently there's people being attacked all over campus - anyone actually have any details?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Ficheall wrote: »
    Letter in the Advertiser on this topic - apparently there's people being attacked all over campus - anyone actually have any details?
    Sounds very sensationalist, maybe the Advertiser are going for a Daily Mail type spin. Socialist immigrants attacking our students!

Shower of mongs, what are they, 5?
    Hope you're set for the exam on Mon.
    P.S. - You used to frequent the squareyes forum no? (and still frequent squareyes :D)

Don't get me started. Ye've come a long way since secondary school lads, start acting like it.

That's me. Haven't been to squareyes in a long time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Its all the black taxi drivers fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

@japanesebanana, where do you walk through to get home because there are a few areas that are dodgy enough to be walking through at night? I'm posting in this thread because I figure theres no point using the other one when this is here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Clemon wrote: »
    Its all the black taxi drivers fault.

Racist jokes aren't funny. Anything like that again is a ban. mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭japanesebanana

benjamin d wrote: »
    @japanesebanana, where do you walk through to get home because there are a few areas that are dodgy enough to be walking through at night? I'm posting in this thread because I figure theres no point using the other one when this is here.

Through campus which is so badly illuminated, and often through that shortcut to Ardiluan road but take the long route around by the main road if it's very late. Campus is the most worrying tbh, so many trees :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭japanesebanana

Racist jokes aren't funny. Anything like that again is a ban. mod.

I'd safely say it's a sarcastic reference to the recent survey conducted with Galway taxi drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Ficheall wrote: »

My friend got attacked a month or so ago, left him in hospital for a week and potentially needing brain surgery (all is good now though). Fcukers.

I'd safely say it's a sarcastic reference to the recent survey conducted with Galway taxi drivers
    I wouldn't even bother

Don't get me started. Ye've come a long way since secondary school lads, start acting like it.

That's me. Haven't been to squareyes in a long time though.

Ahh, I must have attached the wrong face to the forum name then - I work at squareyes.
    As for the ridiculous emails, perhaps IT will be getting in touch with them shortly..:pac:

What can they do though? It would be incredibly harsh to punish students just for leaving their computer unattended, and you can't really find out who has actually sent them. Besides, it's not really that much of an issue.

Best thing to do is just spread the word that it's not in the least bit witty or original.

Dunno - someone could send a nasty virus to their classmates under the heading of "exam answers" or somesuch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

if they're stupid enough to follow one of those links or open attachments, they deserve to get a virus.

From someone in their class?

What can they do though? It would be incredibly harsh to punish students just for leaving their computer unattended, and you can't really find out who has actually sent them. Besides, it's not really that much of an issue.

Best thing to do is just spread the word that it's not in the least bit witty or original.

It's not much of an issue, which is why when the emails didn't stop, I bounced them to IT and let them deal with it.
    I don't know that it's a case of a PC being unattended once, it's multiple emails to an entire mailing list from multiple people over a series of a couple weeks, and sometimes the same address more than once. Seems more like a group of spanners 'fraping' each other.
    I'm not going to bother spreading the word about anything, I've more than enough to do without pointing out to spas that they're being spas. It's not like spas are going to suddenly grow up & listen to me pointing it out.

Leave IT alone, it's nothing to do with them. ISS are the people to contact. ISS then contact CELT if needs be.

Oops, ISS it was, I just drew a blank on the dept name when typing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

Yeah! Grrr! Argh!