Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Look at what Dempsey is planning.

• 03-12-2010 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

Time now for all motorists in Ireland to wake up and not let this crazy Minister bring in such a rule as it will cost Classic vehicle owners in particular a fortune in back tax after restoration, maybe more than what a vehicle is worth. Take for example something that has been in storage for the past 20 years, is it right that 20 years of back tax has to be paid before it can be put back on the road.
    2vlwl92.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

When I tell non-enthusiasts that the govt is laughing up it's sleeves with what they're getting away with, they look at me like I've just punched their panda. When will the people of Ireland realise that if they drive a car, they are being victimised...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

No1 Dempsey can plan what he wants....noone will listen to a back bencher...

No2 I Imagine (in fact I HOPE) that a proper "offroad decalartion" system as in the UK would be the way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

corktina wrote: »
    No1 Dempsey can plan what he wants....noone will listen to a back bencher...

No2 I Imagine (in fact I HOPE) that a proper "offroad decalartion" system as in the UK would be the way to go

A simple solution would be to abolish all road tax and put an extra 5 to 10cent on fuel, which at the end of the day would bring in more to the exchequer at no administrative cost.
    A simple pay as you drive system, but does this Minister have to brains to think along those lines, I have my doubts.
    Both he and the NRA are anti motorist and have been turning our country into a Police State and will have to be stopped before its too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

[HTML]A simple solution would be to abolish all road tax and put an extra 5 to 10cent on fuel, which at the end of the day would bring in more to the exchequer at no administrative cost.
    [/HTML]

Jesus i hope he dont think of this cause knowing the politicians in this country they will do it and raise the tax we put on our cars aswell:p

Its not the simple solution it appears as that extra fuel tax would cause a disproportionate increase in business costs (and therefore prices) and a decrease in costs for light users...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭superfly35

As far as I am concern the road tax in ireland is crazy, if they do touch this I think it will be the end of the classic world and an industry will collaspe. :(

I think classic car are costing a good bit of money and I don't know for you but I don't think it is too much of a money marker. :cool:

So leave us alone, you already are going to get us tax more!!!

That man should start by reduce his salary, I am sure he is earning way to much and was asleepy for the last 10 years!!

As you can see I like this man...;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,154 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I think we should have a national vote on it using his electronic voting machines.

Then, maybe we should all be allowed to use the Gov jet to go on our holliers like he does.

Or is it one law for him and another one for us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭salamander27

Anyway it's not really an exemption in the first place. The law simply states that a car must display a tax disc if it is on a public road.
    Car not on public road, no need for tax.
    They make it out like it's some sort of loop hole car enthusiasts use to evade tax......now I'm :mad:

I keep my three roadwoprthy cars taxed all the time anyway as its so cheap to dos o. My fourth (Cortina 1600E project) I'd break if this became a problem to me. (Bits available, send lots of cash...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

Good man Dempsey!!!!!

Every Ministerial post he has held, he"s managed to fCuk up in some form or other.He should remember that paint is cheap!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

corktina wrote: »
    I keep my three roadwoprthy cars taxed all the time anyway as its so cheap to dos o. My fourth (Cortina 1600E project) I'd break if this became a problem to me. (Bits available, send lots of cash...)

Yeah, don't know why the stampy-footing is going on in here, in classics....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

He won't be in power for much longer anyway and it will be a cold day in hell before anyone trusts any member of Fianna Fail with anything ever again, f*cking muppets.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

JustinOval wrote: »
    27 years old and €614 pa for me. :(

At least I've no room for any more cars to be not taxing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

All you need in a situation like this is an off the road declaration form, similar to SORN in England and if the car is caught on the road without tax a large fine should be imposed. Simples...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

All you need in a situation like this is an off the road declaration form, similar to SORN in England and if the car is caught on the road without tax a large fine should be imposed. Simples...?
    I agree, It simply is unworkable with what is being said in that newspaper clipping, I mean, what about the cars on forecourts, museums etc or even Bono's Trabant hanging upside down in the Hardrock cafe, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭multisport

mamakevf wrote: »
    I agree, It simply is unworkable with what is being said in that newspaper clipping, I mean, what about the cars on forecourts, museums etc or even Bono's Trabant hanging upside down in the Hardrock cafe, lol

Yes, and what about cars in your name, I would have to tax about 10 cars, no doubt there's lads on here with way more than that. Typically of a politician, and reminicent of the ZV registrations it's an idea that's not thought through at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I'm up shíts creek so, I've two cars off the road. At least they both have small engines.

mamakevf wrote: »

pd2526369.jpg

^opel vectra/astra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Xlaxeo

This is ridiculous. Does this legislation not need to pass in the Dail first?

Well we should start a petition, and deliver this to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

It's a waste of time complaining about anything in this country now, it's a dictatorship now in case you hadn't noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

Xlaxeo wrote: »
    This is ridiculous. Does this legislation not need to pass in the Dail first?

Well we should start a petition, and deliver this to him.

Send an email to your local Fianna Fail T.D., and let him petition Dempsey as Dempsey's actions could be the cause of he losing his seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

If the law was enforced properly in the first place we wouldnt have this stupid idea!

An irish solution to an irish problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭acier

^opel vectra/astra?

You need to get out more if you can tell that from a door handle, wheel or rubbing strip :D , I'm going for corsa, was a more popular colour on them and the wheels.
    Back on topic, stop over reacting lads, if this is brought in like the media is saying ( remember paper doesn't refuse ink or computers don't refuse a bit of binary ) it'll be next to impossible to implement. It'll probably go with some sort of SORN system like the UK.

acier wrote: »
    You need to get out more if you can tell that from a door handle, wheel or rubbing strip

I'm actually out as i post this! :D. It's the wheel I'm going on....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

astra :(

ohh and dempsey can go & ***** him self :mad:

this so called minister is a bloody useless moron !!!
    all the posts he has had , has been a disaster & transport is no different !

if he was in a business , he,d be fired long ago...

but think of this,,,,,,,,,
    he has a big salary & big pension to look forward too & he has done nothing to deserve this .
    but still we sit back and do nothing !!!!!!

when will the motorist in this country stand up and fight back instead of complaining and doing nothing .

this will continue untill WE STOP IT !:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Xlaxeo

The tax form requires the number of the insurance policy.

Therefore the requirement to tax cars even if they are unused would imply that they are required to have insurance too.

Things are changing for the worse, completely unnecessarily

Ali Babba wrote: »
    It's a waste of time complaining about anything in this country now, it's a dictatorship now in case you hadn't noticed.
    PanhardPL wrote: »
    Send an email to your local Fianna Fail T.D., and let him petition Dempsey as Dempsey's actions could be the cause of he losing his seat.
    Dempsey, like everyone else currently in power will all be gone in the upcoming elections, so petitioning will be a waste of time.

The question is whether he can get whatever he intends to do passed before being ousted. If he does, then good luck getting any new government to give a hoot considering the shítstorm they'll inherit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

The system suggested by Dempsey simply CANNOT be implemented. For a start the hauliers simply would not stand for it! As they have stated in that article, how could they be expected to pay c.€3000 per 'off-road' truck??! Mental stuff!

Dempsey and his cronies really are total morons!
    They are so out of touch after 13 years of being pampered in govt cars/jets/air corps choppers it is unreal.

The UK SORN system is the way to go.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Silvera wrote: »
    The UK SORN system is the way to go.

That's a pain in the hole too.:mad:

macplaxton wrote: »
    That's a pain in the hole too.:mad:
    Yes, its ok if you have one or two cars i suppose but a fleet of them would mean hiring a secratary for all the paperwork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

i posted this matter some time ago, no one believed me, vindicated again, also fcuked as i have a few in a lock up. forgot to add this idea came from the gomgreens, just check my earlier posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

It will never happen, he only has a few weeks left to go before he is in the dole queue like so many of the victims of his government.

Just make sure you tell the next lot that call at your door that they wont get your vote if the implement any new taxes on your car / hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Roll on march and we will see the back of him along with all his cronies that destroyed this country.

Good riddance.

It will never happen, he only has a few weeks left to go before he is in the dole queue like so many of the victims of his government.
    I hope you're right but is this something that could be introduced in the budget?
    Just make sure you tell the next lot that call at your door that they wont get your vote if the implement any new taxes on your car / hobby.
    Good call - another for my list!

I also intend to ask all my questions in a very "agnostic" manner so the fcukers can't just tell me what they think I want to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Its ridiculous !

Anyway right there in the same article is the solution, Garda cars with number plate recognition, and heavy fines for abusers....no excuse !

That way his "strong evidence" can be analysed, right now it cant be more than a suspicion !

MercMad wrote: »
    Its ridiculous !

Anyway right there in the same article is the solution, Garda cars with number plate recognition, and heavy fines for abusers....no excuse !

That way his "strong evidence" can be analysed, right now it cant be more than a suspicion !
    The widespread deployment of ANPR also has serious privacy issues. Could you imagine if every toll gantry, Gatso, carpark and congestion charge CCTV was linked up to the pulse system. You couldn't move with being tracked.

Good old fashioned hands on check points with zero tolerance for those that flout the law.

The widespread deployment of ANPR also has serious privacy issues. Could you imagine if every toll gantry, Gatso, carpark and congestion charge CCTV was linked up to the pulse system. You couldn't move with being tracked.

Jesus man, don't be so paranoid all the time.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Jesus man, don't be so paranoid all the time.
    Its already going down that road across the water.

http://www.hmpbritain.co.uk/uk-anpr-database-stores-7-6-billion-car-locations-and-images/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

JustinOval wrote: »

Cos not all classics are over 30 years old ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

Xlaxeo wrote: »
    The tax form requires the number of the insurance policy.

Therefore the requirement to tax cars even if they are unused would imply that they are required to have insurance too.

Things are changing for the worse, completely unnecessarily

You raise a valid pint :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭superfly35

That stuff is pretty depressing!!

I have 4 cars, none of them on the road are none of them are working and more I think about it more I think I will be down my money as it will be too expensive to complete those project.

I would probably better of breaking everything to get some money back. :(

I have a feeling today is not a good day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

superfly35 wrote: »
    That stuff is pretty depressing!!

I have 4 cars, none of them on the road are none of them are working and more I think about it more I think I will be down my money as it will be too expensive to complete those project.

I would probably better of breaking everything to get some money back. :(

I have a feeling today is not a good day. :(
    Just take out the engines temporarily from your cars. They can't tax a car without an engine, as there is no base for the tax rate ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Seweryn wrote: »
    Just take out the engines temporarily from your cars. They can't tax a car without and engine, as there is no base for the tax rate ;).

Thats thinking outside the box!

If they moan about it, just throw in some sort of a DC motor and tax it as an electric car @ €90 odd/yr :D

Dempsey will be retiring soon, so I hope he takes his ideas with him to the OAP home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

taking the engins out great idea. I was thinking of leaving my car off the road till it hit 30 then do an owner ship change and tax it as a classic if this came in. But taking the enigne out is much less hassell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Dempsey (and his cronies!) will NEVER be on the dole!! ...not with their c.€300,000 pension funds!!!:mad:

As for the road tax system.....a SORN system is the only realistic option.