Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 PW awards

• 03-12-2010 2:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Right, it is that time of year ago folkies. The awards will be for both board specific and general.

I will start with these categories, feel free to add to them. Onve we have it nailed down, by say, the 10th, myself or BH will stck a thread and you can PM me with you nominations.

Board Specific:
    Thread of the year
    Poster of the year
    New Poster Of The Year
    Moment Of The Year

General:
    Match Of The Year
    Wrestler Of The Year
    Tag team Of The Year
    Show Of The Year
    Newcomer Of The Year
    Live event Of The Year (that you have attended)
    Moment Of The Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Maybe we can have some categories more razzie like;
    Worst letdown of the year,
    Biggest OMG moment (in match and news-related)
    Angle of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Epic Fail of the Year
    Post of the Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

One to Watch for 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,195 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Funniest post of the year
    Funniest picture of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Best Chris Masters Match of the year.:)

Oh and if Gimmick or BH have the balls...:pac:

Biggest Boards Heel of The year...:pac:

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Best Chris Masters Match of the year.:)

Best Chris Masters pecs moment of the year :p

Diva/knockout of the year
    Champion of the year (only valid to whoever has held a world/wwe title)

The Vance Archer Memorial Under-used talent of the Year Award

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Id think atleast all of these are good shouts so far
    Board Specific:
    Thread of the year
    Poster of the year
    New Poster Of The Year
    Moment Of The Year

General:
    match of the year
    Tag team Of The Year
    Show Of The Year
    Newcomer Of The Year
    Live event Of The Year (that you have attended)
    Moment Of The Year

I left out the wrestler of the year as we will have a top american based & Irish based wrestler from two other threads already
    Biggest OMG moment (in match and news-related)
    Angle of the year
    One to Watch for 2011

could be for posters/wrestlers
    Funniest post of the year
    Diva/knockout of the year
    Champion of the year
    Underused talent award
    ---
    Rjd wrote:
    Oh and if Gimmick or BH have the balls...:pac:

Biggest Boards Heel of The year...:pac:

I wouldent neccesarily have a problem but however gets voted for it may so i dunno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

The Crippletaker award

No specific reason for it other than to see who would win the Crippletaker award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Gerard.C wrote: »
    The Crippletaker award

No specific reason for it other than to see who would win the Crippletaker award

I propose a seperate award for Gerard C, for the best post he has made all year. Its not fair putting him up against everyone else. Theres too many to choose from. I reckon I've thanked every one of them.

Also each award should be named after a wrestler. Like the Golddust award for sexiest wrestler or the Conor Hurley Award for Gerard C's best post.

flahavaj wrote: »
    I propose a seperate award for Gerard C, for the best post he has made all year. Its not fair putting him up against everyone else. Theres too many to choose from. I reckon I've thanked every one of them.

Also each award should be named after a wrestler. Like the Golddust award for sexiest wrestler or the Conor Hurley Award for Gerard C's best post.

I fully endorse this. I also propose that the award for biggest some man is renamed the Flahavaj award

Lads get a room.:pac:

Gerard.C wrote: »
    I fully endorse this. I also propose that the award for biggest some man is renamed the Flahavaj award

The Ger C award could be an Eason's voucher :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

What's Billy Gunn's woman called again?

chordtype wrote: »

Paula.. Gunn?..

Pinky something wasn't it?

PINK DIVA. I remember now. She's got a few of these in the bag already.

Most Tangoed Superstar (or can anyone beat Flair :p)

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Most Tangoed Superstar (or can anyone beat Flair :p)

Darren Young

Most Overrated Award?

Darren Young

Most Overrated Award?

Forgot about him :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

PINK DIVA is going to walk this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

this going ahead???

Was looking for this thread when i bumped a few other ones recently thought it was called the PW slammys(ies?) though so didnt find it.

recon Wrestler and Tag team should probably carry over from my top 30 thread though but im obviously biased on that one.

Yes to this. Danielson and the Guns would certainly win again. No point in repeating this vote.

There should be a best 'Outside North America' or something award for Devitt to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

How about these for the Awards??

Board Specific:
    The Thread of the year:
    The Poster of the year:
    Newbie Of The Year:
    Moment Of The Year:

General:
    Match Of The Year:
    TV Show Of The Year:
    PPV Of the Year:
    Newcomer Of The Year:
    Live event Of The Year (that you have attended):
    Moment Of The Year:
    Most Appreciated Wrestler of 2010:

General:
    Match Of The Year:

That would be too hard to specify.
    Maybe the best 3 could work better. Not in order, just the best 3.

Boards specific:
    Most memorable off topic banter of the year.

General:
    Most under-rated talent in each promotion.
    One to watch for 2011.
    Biggest loss in 2010.
    Letdown of the year.

Okay so this has been talked of long enough without happening im going to combine a number of posts now to make the catagories since Gimmick suggested either myself or he do so by about 2 weeks ago in the OP. However since he also put himself to recieve your nominations via PM ill not be doing that this time :D

So here is what you have to vote on:

Boards specific:
    Best one off thread of the year:
    Best continously used thread of the year:
    The Poster of the year:
    Newbie Of The Year:
    Moment Of The Year:
    Most memorable off topic banter of the year:

General:
    Most under-rated talent in any promotion:
    One to watch for 2011:
    Biggest loss in 2010:
    Letdown of the year:
    Match Of The Year:
    TV Show Of The Year:
    PPV Of the Year:
    Newcomer Of The Year:
    Live event Of The Year (that you have attended):
    Moment Of The Year:

Wrestler of the Year & Tag Team of The Year will carry over from the American top 30 vote as Danielson & the MCMG.

Any catogory which does not recieve enough votes may be eliminated from the awards process and I will let Gimmick set the date for vote submission as he said he would take PMs (if thats not alright let me know man).... so get voting

Will this double as the discussion thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Closing date 8/1.

So far I have received 1 pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Maybe a bit controversial but what about most shocking death, arrest or release of the year?

Sadly it's telling of the profession!

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Maybe a bit controversial but what about most shocking death, arrest or release of the year?

Sadly it's telling of the profession!

would that not be the biggest loss?

Forgot about these :o hopefully will get them in later or tomorrow

yeah i forgot too tbh gonna vote now

Ditto.

Gonna try to do it tonight.

id forgotten too, sent mine there

The response to this has been fairly pathetic. The poster of the year is a 3 way tie all of whom have the princely 2 votes, newbie of the year has 7 different people nominated with one vote each and almost everything else has completely different answers.

Close of is this evening, so unless there is a decent few more votes, I am not sure I am even bothered counting them up.

Leave it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

How about the mods just do a write-up of their PW General picks of wrestler/etc of the year.

Speaking for myself only, I know my favourite boardsies are but having a fair/educated mind on how 'good' a particular poster is far out of my reach! I'd just be wasting your and my time.

As mentioned,t he response of this was absolutely awful. With that in mind, I am only going to state the winners in a category in which someone has got more than 2 votes! That is how bad it is.

Will have it counted in a few minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Actually if it'll influence results and u've not yet tallied.....

Most under-rated talent in any promotion: Desmond Wolfe (he started the year being Angle's equal, was barely on TV the last 6 months - he could've been so much more)
    One to watch for 2011: Alberto Del Rio
    Biggest loss in 2010: Shawn Michaels
    Letdown of the year: Nexus booking since Survivor Series
    Match Of The Year: Anderson vs Angle @ TNA LockDown
    TV Show Of The Year: WWE RAW
    PPV Of the Year: None.
    Newcomer Of The Year: Daniel Bryan
    Live event Of The Year (that you have attended): Only attended TNA and it was a pile of sh!te
    Moment Of The Year: Nexus invade RAW (June)

Is there any sort of award we could give to Flahavaj to show our appreciation for him?

That did not take long.

The awards go as so.

Best One Off Thread : Obvious winner here and that is Pinkys Billy Gunn thread.

Continual Thread: The Off Topic thread takes this by a wide margin

Moment of the year: It seems we are a forum of begrudgers. The WZ effort and its subsequent failure tops the poll here. Sorry Alan.

One to Watch: Dolph Ziggler

Loss to wrestling: HBKs retirement was the one which disappointed us most

Letdown: Bret V Vince at Wrestlemania

Newbie Of The Year: Wade Barrett/Brian Danielson

Moment Of The Year : Nexus Debut/Invasion by a landslide.

That leaves us with the 3 main awards.

The All Ireland Championship Award for Match Of The Year
    Kurt Angle Vs Mr Anderson

The Minor Championship Award for Newcomer Of The Year

Its a tie between TheBostonCrab and Chordtype

and finally, drum roll

The Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh Award for Poster Of The Year

Munster cannot stop winning boards award. Congrats to
    Gerard C

hahaha how in the name of god did i win poster of the year? sound to whatever lunatics voted for me

Anyone think the biggest letdown award be given to the turn out of the awards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

What a year for Tipp.