Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you prefer to live.....

• 02-12-2010 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭

......Arrrdeeeee hey or Dundaaaaalk???

I'm stuck between the two choices of where I want to live, and I want to find out which place you'd prefer to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Sounds like a gruesome decision :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Hell part 1 or Hell part 2...
    Neither - BUT if I HAD to make a choice at gun point to the head, it would be Ardee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Shouldn't the thread be titled "Where would you prefer to not live?"

Joking really. I'm sure they are lovely places. And for some weird reason I have a soft spot for girls with those kid of accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

Depends what type of life you want,not much happens in Ardee whereas Dundalk's the biggest town in Ireland,although I would be slightly biased!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I think i'd kill myself before going to either.
    Or just burst both my eardrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Can we choose the comprise and select Drogheda?
    You know the place with multiple stabbings in a pub :eek:

Ah Louth, everyone in Ireland says book, in Louth it's bewk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Ardee has a nice little community actually and a lot safer and quieter than Dundalk, but there is fookall in it!. The basics are well cover, food shops etc.
    Pubs are a bit crap but there is music going on every weekend somewhere.
    Nothing to do for kids if you have any though and I literally mean NOTHING.
    I spent my youth in Ardee drinking MD 20/20 and smoking doobs cause there was nothing else to be at!. There is a gym now though!.

If you are looking for a quiet life I'd say Ardee, if you are looking for somewhere along the lines of Blanch or Swords, Dundalk wouldn't be far off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Cheryl Cole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭dougal-maguire

Biggins wrote: »
    Neither - BUT if I HAD to make a choice at gun point to the head, it would be Ardee.

I'd personally go for the bullet to the head. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Ardee. Dundalk is shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

Can we choose the comprise and select Drogheda?
    You know the place with multiple stabbings in a pub :eek:

Ah Louth, everyone in Ireland says book, in Louth it's bewk
    I'm living just outside draaaaaaaawda at the moment, probably spent have my life in drogheda from school and working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ardee or Dundalk?

Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭HornyDevil

Dear Paddy,

To answer your question: if I tell you which of your two places I'd prefer to live - are you actually GOING to live in that place then?

Would it really help to make up your mind if I tell you my answer?

Could your family or children have not helped you make up your mind better?

Shall we have a competition or poll to assist your hesitance?

Have you spoken to your priest?

Don't you know how much your helping the cause of the often portrayed image of Irishmen, everywhere?

Jeeezuz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Biggins wrote: »

Do you not live in Dundalk?!

Or am i thinking of someone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Hell.

Seannew1 wrote: »
    Depends what type of life you want,not much happens in Ardee whereas Dundalk's the biggest town in Ireland,although I would be slightly biased!
    What's dundalk like, the accent is super up there isn't it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I live in Clogherhead [ex-Dub], but my home is the Sahara. If I could eek out a living out there I would be off tomorrow.

Should have read the first post:o

p.s. - you had to be called paddy. lord help us if english folks is reading this now

What's dundalk like, the accent is super up there isn't it?!

Lived in the town me whole life,great place to live,good community spirit,good night life,good shopping, all you need really. It's suffered badly from the recession though like most of Louth.

Ya can't bate the Dundaaaaaaalk accent hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

Dundalk hands down! Ardee is tiny and you'd end up going in to Dundalk to do anything anyway. Go on the town!

HornyDevil wrote: »
    p.s. - you had to be called paddy. lord help us if english folks is reading this now
    Mods please!!!.... Absolute troll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

I'm stuck between the two choices of where I want to live, and I want to find out which place you'd prefer to live.

Id rather have my eyeballs poked out from inside my mouth than either of them places tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

Where does Peter Fitz live? I'd live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Fortune_Cookie

I'd choose Dundalk of the two as there's fcuk all to do in Ardee.

Derfil wrote: »
    Where does Peter Fitz live? I'd live there.

He's from Dundalk

Lived in the town me whole life,great place to live,good community spirit,good night life,good shopping, all you need really. It's suffered badly from the recession though like most of Louth.

Ya can't bate the Dundaaaaaaalk accent hey!
    Thanks for the feedback!
    I was leaning towards dundalk anyway.

Just one more question, what are the pubs like up there???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

What situation necessitates this question?

I want to know so if it ever occurs I know to kill myself.

Thanks for the feedback!
    I was leaning towards dundalk anyway.

Just one more question, what are the pubs like up there???

No Bother,there grand,good selection really,if you like the pubs in Draaaaaaaawda you'll like the one's in dundaaaaaalk aswell!

It's a good thing I come from draaaaaaawda, because i'll be able to understand the accent no bother at all hey!

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Do you not live in Dundalk?!

Or am i thinking of someone else...

Do I live in Dundalk?
    No, gawd no, bloody hell NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Well Louth is the best county in Ireland, with the best accents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

the two of those are just awful options
    it's like sophie's choice
    ardee is tiny and nothing to do
    dundalk is bigger with more of nothing to do and has that really weird smell in parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Raffo69

Fundalk all the way. Unless you want to live a very quiet life.

dundalk is bigger with more of nothing to do and has that really weird smell in parts
    Ahh come on now, that's not true.

It has Ice skating, Hill walking(Cooley Mountains), swimming(Aura), horse riding(Ravensdale) if you're feeling active.
    If you're in the mood for a good night out, you could go to the cinema, go bowling, or to the pubs (Courtneys, Spirit Store, The Phoenix).
    You can visit the museum, the art exhibitions or the music recitals(both in the town hall) if you're in a cultural mood. Also the spirit store and can check out the gig guide for it.

That's the stuff I can think of at the top of my head and I don't even live there hey.

Don't ever say that dundalk has nothing to do, a bit stupid don't you think?!

That's all the options I have kiddd!!!

Has the thread helped ya at all Paddy make a decision?? How come your moving up from Draaaaaaaawda hey,sure its only 20 mins away kiddd??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Dundalk, because the Gardee in Ardee are fúcking GEEeeee BAAAAaaaggs

Has the thread helped ya at all Paddy make a decision?? How come your moving up from Draaaaaaaawda hey,sure its only 20 mins away kiddd??
    It has kiddd, the reason why i'm moving up from draaaaaaawda is because the wife wants a fresh start somewhere where we can relax, not like drogheda hey!

She also has two Job choices hey, one in arrrdeeeeeee hey and one in dundaaaaaaaalk!... And whatever one she picks, we'll be moving to that location hey!

I'm going to miss the draaaaaaawda accent a lot hey!

Thanks for all your help Kidddd!

Are you still here Paddy? . . . . or have you fecked off yet?

dundalk removal.jpg

ardee removal.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Preferably outside Ireland, to be honest.

It probably feels like it to him. Likely he's never been further than the corner shop.

Hahahaha... Ahh you're some boy hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Well this entire thread just proves that the Louth accent can be tranferred to text.

It makes me want to rip out my eyes instead of stabbing my ears like I usually do upon hearing such droll accent. I have yet to meet anyone from louth, and especially Dundalk, who can sound in anyway intelligent.

If stephen Hawkings computer voice was in a dundalk accent he would have been ignored from the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I cant take all this Dundalk bashing - reeks of jealousy... :D
    Theres a reason its been named 'Greatest place on earth' 14 years in an row...

If the OP has to really make a choice, he should base it on ease of access to modes of transport (especially important this week alone), range of shops, schools, free facilities and maybe more available services.

I rather be in Dundalk when all is said and done for a number of reasons (as above alone) than be in Ardee.

There's pro's and cons to each but what ever one makes life easier in the long run, even if it comes down to more choices of delivery pizza services lol, that the OP should go with.

Paddy thinks he might go to Ardee after all

dundalk.jpg

I have finally decided, i'm moving to Dundaaaaaaaaaalk.

The wife reckons it will be an easier lifestyle than the other choice(Ardee). She has a lot of friends up there and she also got a new job, with better wages than the job choice(was a choice, not anymore) in ardee.
    She also said she'll be able to understand the 'Dundaaaaaaaalk' accent much easier than the 'arrrdeeeeee hey' one!

I'm doing it for her(moving to Dundalk). I always put everybody before myself!

Thanks to everyone who gave a helping hand in this topic!!! :)

So how is Dundalk then Paddy?

Are ye getting on with the natives?

Any regrets over Ardee?

Will ye not tell us?

. . . . ah gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan, gowan

So how is Dundalk then Paddy?
    I'll let you know in a week or two kiddd!!! :)
    Are ye getting on with the natives?
    I get on with everyone.
    Any regrets over Ardee?
    Not so far, no.

I admire your sense of humour btw. :)