Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So has anyone had an accident/near miss in the snow yet?

• 02-12-2010 2:33pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Weather seems to be getting worse, public transport is a joke at the moment, gritting roads only major roads isn't helping so it seems people are being forced to take their cars to work..

Just wondering if any boardsies out there have had any accidents or near misses in the snow yet?

I haven't done much driving to be honest, just a little bit around the city and my commute consists of a 3 min walk, slip or slide to the office at the moment so I'm lucky in that sense..

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Not driving in this weather, I'm using buses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

My car is tucked up in the underground car park at home for the last few days.
    I miss driving!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Haven't done a whole pile of driving, just in and out to college and over and back to the shop, mostly late at night.

Have to say I'm kind of enjoying the conditions when I get into the wide open spaces of deserted college/supermarket car parks. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭doOh

Near miss ... No. I just spinned twice with my IS 200 on my house estate during 90* turn :p Ice like glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Yep, nearly ran over a teenager playing on the skate rink roads of the housing estate when a group of teens frightening the crap outta me by pelting the car with snow/ice balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

New wing needed.

Was going slow down the N7 off ramp to the M50 SB when I hit black ice and hit the crash barrier.

Oh well, Sinnots in Wicklow quoted me €625 to fill it and respray it :eek:

Thats right, that price is just a repair and not a new wing

johnos1984 wrote: »
    New wing needed.

Was going slow down the N7 off ramp to the M50 SB when I hit black ice and hit the crash barrier.

Oh well, Sinnots in Wicklow quoted me €625 to fill it and respray it :eek:

Thats right, that price is just a repair and not a new wing

I hit a wall last year with the passenger wing and bought a second hand one in the right colour for €60 and got it fitted for €120. That's an option. Then a taxi man hit me this year and I got the wing repaired for €280 in Carcraft out in Fairview, Dublin. Shop around ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I got the number of the bodyshop they use and they are apparently a lot happier to deal with you in person if you have the readies with you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

slid into the opposite lane of an exit while coming around the Farm roundabout, didn't hit anything though (luckily)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

As I was entering a roundabout and saw a car coming from the left fast, knew what was coming so I stopped, sure enough the guy tried to stop and spinned out right infront of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

I have been driving about 60-70km per day, everyday since Monday. Maynooth-Celbridge-D15 and back, lot of untreated roads, no winter tyres either.

No crash yet:) But I been in the limit many times, even in small speeds. First gear down to hill, no brakes and only engine braking was enough to loose the grip. Going sideways in braking as well, even I have abs. I think this week has been absolutely mental, just like winter in home (Finland).

I dont want to sound too proud but if I would lack winter driving skills, I think I would go off couple of times already.

Crazy times, hopefully snow will melt soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Bumpstop

I stopped to let a jeep pass me on a small country road this morning. When I went to get going I had no traction and just slithered with the camber of the road, and came to rest against the bank.

Luckily in a bungalow right beside me I spied a tractor, Knocked on the front door and the gentleman came out, and towed me back onto the centre of the road. Luckily I had a tow rope in the boot, the whole thing which could heve been a disaster delayed me by about 5 minutes.

Thankfully no damage done.

On a side note. apart from this incident my venerable old XJ6 despite having rwd drive has played a stormer and has hauled me up hills and round corners, even in 6 inches of snow and seems not to suffer any problems on gradients. It has no traction control to intefere. and a lot of weight, which I think helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Yeh, a few hours ago. I nearly hit a pedestrian today. She didn't bother looking right, looking straight down at her mobile was more important. Driving me nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Flimbos

Had to take a trip up the M1 last weekend. The road was ok, but we were all taking it easy.

A couple of miles before the toll, there was a good bit of slush on the right hand side of the overtaking lane, and some complete idiot comes flying past, loses control, spins and goes into the car in front of us. Luckily, we managed to stop without hitting anybody.

Thankfully, nobody was hurt. Crazy driving from the guy overtaking, hopefully he learned a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

The first day I got a fright sliding out of my estate nearly in front of another car, but apart from that, I've had an uneventful few days of driving!

fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Have had serveral slides, all bar one were deliberate in an empty car park, have never driven on snow before so thought I should check the limits of the car in terms of breaking and steering and how to react.

The acidental one happened creeping down a steep driveway to join an N road, thankfully slide once lasted for about a metre sideways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xkariex

skidded on ice in a carpark and hit side of a gate luckily no damage ! If id been going ny faster would wrecked the car, knocked down a pedestrian ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

No collisions. But I did take the car out on Tuesday just to see what it was like. I live a little outside the town, so I took a spade with me.

Got all the way out and back and promptly got stuck outside my own driveway. Cue the spade.

The car has been tucked up ever since. And there it'll stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

gurramok wrote: »
    Yeh, a few hours ago. I nearly hit a pedestrian today. She didn't bother looking right, looking straight down at her mobile was more important. Driving me nuts!

Hahaha "Fùcking eejit!"

Really was stupid of yer wan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

oops.

bassey wrote: »
    Hahaha "Fùcking eejit!"

Really was stupid of yer wan

They do that a fair bit if it is where I think it is, the junction of the Drumcondra Road and Tolka Road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

I only drove once in the snow on day 2 and that was it. Not taking the risk, I've got a big pair of boots to give me plenty of traction :P

[IMG][/img]shapel-winter-boots-2.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Flimbos wrote: »
    Had to take a trip up the M1 last weekend. The road was ok, but we were all taking it easy.

A couple of miles before the toll, there was a good bit of slush on the right hand side of the overtaking lane, and some complete idiot comes flying past, loses control, spins and goes into the car in front of us. Luckily, we managed to stop without hitting anybody.

Thankfully, nobody was hurt. Crazy driving from the guy overtaking, hopefully he learned a lesson.

I saw an idiot like this in the Phoenix park last weekend, the road was covered with snow, everyone tipping along doing about 30kph keeping at least 10-15 metres between cars and some idiot in a fiat punto decides to overtake everyone in one go..

If he lost control he was either going to take another car out or some poor unsuspecting pedestrian.. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Paulcullen62

Crashed into another car in snow. €1300 damage to other car. IS it worth making a claim? If i even inquire with my insurance about accident are they going to black list me( i.e. put rate up even if i don't make a claim)? I have a 5 year no claim bonus. Any one had a simular issue? Did your insurance go up much when it came to renewal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Crashed into another car in snow. €1300 damage to other car. IS it worth making a claim? If i even inquire with my insurance about accident are they going to black list me( i.e. put rate up even if i don't make a claim)? I have a 5 year no claim bonus. Any one had a simular issue? Did your insurance go up much when it came to renewal?
    Do you have bonus protection? It is good for this... but it only works with the company you are with now, so next year if you change you will have 0 years no claims...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭996tt

Have you got your NCB protected?

this is usually what happens when you claim:
    1. You are stuck with that insurance company for between 3-5years(very few other comanies will quote),
    2. They will approximately double your current premium,
    3. Some insurance companies they will not quote for certain cars, so if you plan on upgrading your car in the coming years(eg from a family hatchback to a sports car) this may not be possible as your current insurance company may not offer cover on this type of car and you can not move insurance company because of 1.

Questions you need to ask yourself:
    1. Will the other driver claim for injuries, if so best to leave it to your insurance,
    2. Can you afford a straight up payment of 1300 versus paying multiples of this claim amount over the next few years in increased premiums,
    3. Is your own car damaged, have you got fully comp insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

My mx-5 is buried under a foot of snow, and I miss her :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Hmm...

On wednesday was taking a left from the Quays onto Church street. Move in behind a bus to wait in the left lane. Bus got stuck with wheels spinning and not going anywhere. I had to carefully maneuver my car around the bus on what has sheet ice and not crash into the bus while stupid impatient motorists start honking and beeping behind me...
    Can't you see what I'm trying to do here?!!

Yesterday, coming out of my housing estate. Road has turned into one big sheet of compacted snow. Turning left onto the big road. Slowing down for the corner. A bit too much speed, slide a bit, ABS kick in (warning lights flash on the dash), I sort of control it but the guy behind me ends up sliding into the rear. I check to see there's no damage. All good, I drive off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Three skanger girls each pushing prams walked straight out in front of me at an icy T junction beside mc dondalds in Dundalk yesterday...ABS and handbrake/slamming into 2nd was the only thing that stopped me hitting at least one of them. Leant on horn but all I got was a "f*ck you mister" and dirty looks.
    They are by no means the only pedestrians that need a dose of cop on, but they're the ones I came closest to hitting.
    What is it with people who just run or wander out into traffic without seeing if cars can even stop in time? Then it's the motorists fault if you hit them. Seriously need some laws regarding pedestrian responsibility and crossing roads at a desintaed crossing point, not just wherever the mood takes them...
    Some chance of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Was slowing down at a junction on a back road, car went into a skid and i hit a yield sign with my front bumper at about 5mph. No damage and it was probably a good thing the yield sign was there because I would have went into the ditch otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Paulcullen62

Thanks 996tt. No comprenhensive insurance. Will probably have to pay myself for other car. So annoying. Why do I have insurance???

If you have 5 years no claims bonus why are you not on fully comprehensive? The difference is negligible in most cases. Even better, why did you never avail of a protected no claims? Hindsight is 20/20, but you should look into it in the future.

Your third party insurance will cover their claim. You will have to look after your own damage. €1300 is not a lot - when I was looking for another insurer after an accident most of them wouldn't give me a quote because the claim payout was more than €5000. Your insurance company's payout will be lower than that so you won't have an issue getting quotes except from the most fussy companies - the big ones will still quote you and a lot of 'em will quote competitively.

The amount of loading (increase in your subsequent premiums following an accident) is not proportional to the amount of the claim. I had a claim against me for €47k when a cyclist made a move of pure lunacy. My loading, even over the course of 5 years, was never going to come to €47k, the loss is spread over many customers, it is the nature of insurance. My premium went up by €550 the following year for that crash, but I moved to the only other company willing to take me on and I paid €50 less than my first premium, never mind the post-accident premium on which I saved €600.

Personally, if the driver is not going to claim for injuries I would take out a small loan and pay them for the damage. You keep your 5 years no claims bonus and then next time you renew you should purchase NCB protection. You stand to possibly end up worse off than €1300 after your NCB discount is removed, and your premium is loaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭WildOscar

what kind of camera is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I was at the Cabinteely junction on the N11 and a old man and his dog just decides to walk across the road. Completely oblivious to the fact thats is a major road and its covered in ice. Complete idiot.

Yeah I was leaving work today, Southern Cross road this VERY elderly man decides to start crossing in the middle of traffic despite a crossing being 100m or so up the road. Traffic on that road goes fast at the best of times, today was no different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

WildOscar wrote: »
    what kind of camera is that
    Looks like one of the key-fobs..
    Ohhhhhhh.... fancy key-fob so! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭WildOscar

just under £ 200. anyone know where i would get a cheaper one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

WildOscar wrote: »
    just under £ 200. anyone know where i would get a cheaper one?
    Not the same and not as "fancy", but can't get much cheaper than this..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055935996

Sellotape it to your dash and you're away! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭gondorff

Wertz wrote: »
    ABS and handbrake/slamming into 2nd was the only thing that stopped me hitting at least one of them.

Lol you think that's impressive? I can do all that whilst simultaneously rolling a fag and playing Bat Out Of Hell on the ukelele.

gondorff wrote: »
    Lol you think that's impressive? I can do all that whilst simultaneously rolling a fag and playing Bat Out Of Hell on the ukelele.

and **** your willy ? ;>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭gondorff

doOh wrote: »
    and **** your willy ? ;>

Lol. Genius, you mind if I use that?

But seriously, what part of the bigoted post #30 did you believe?

Wertz wrote: »
    dirty looks

xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

gondorff wrote: »

That's nice. You sound like the type that walks out in front of cars wihtout looking too. Best of luck with that...