Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does ANPR give feedback to Tax Office?

• 02-12-2010 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

I understand that the ANPR can read from the Motor Tax Database but does it automatically report back seeing a Car without Tax on the road?

In other words will the Girl in the Tax Office know I was driving my car on the road despite me declaring it was not used. I will have a renewel form stamped ;). I was caught 2 weeks ago and fined €60 which I paid:(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

cardoor wrote: »
    I understand that the ANPR can read from the Motor Tax Database but does it automatically report back seeing a Car without Tax on the road?

In other words will the Girl in the Tax Office know I was driving my car on the road despite me declaring it was not used. I will have a renewel form stamped ;). I was caught 2 weeks ago and fined €60 which I paid:(

The cops will know if your tax is out of date. Instantly.

If it is, and you're caught, and you've signed an untrue declaration, it might not be nice for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭cardoor

The cops will know if your tax is out of date. Instantly.

If it is, and you're caught, and you've signed an untrue declaration, it might not be nice for you.
    I know they know.
    I won't loose sleep about the untrue declaration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I know they know.

Driving without tax is just a fine.
    Driving after declaring the car off the road is much more serious afaik.

I know they know.

You were caught without tax and then got declared to a Garda that the car was not in use for the period you were fined for ? Seriously ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

rather than a new thread with a very similar question :)

was asked recently if the new vans, when detecting cars with no insurance or no tax, issue an alert to Gardai/Tax Office etc who follow up with a fine in the post to owners address?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

The girl in the tax office will not know, or care, about anything other than you paying whatever tax you owe.

Even if she did know, what do you think she'd do? Citizen's arrest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭cardoor

Feck it. I'll go in tomorrow and get it done. I'd prefer to pay my Tax at the pumps than to fork out a lump sum once a year.

What's the declaration of non use about so ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I know they know.

Yeah your right. Its only fraud. Nothing to worry about there.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

If the declaration is signed then you'll be ok. Most Gardai when asked to sign a declaration will check on the system to see if a car has been stopped etc during the period of declared non use.

I wouldn't advise trying to pull the woll over the eyes of the Gardai, that may not end well for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

The UK go one further as far as I know. The ANPR's here also detect MOT compliance.
    Not having an MOT can cost 1000-2500 GBP. People tend to do it.

Also in the UK you must declare a car offroad using a Statutory Off Road Notification. Far better system in my opinion. If a car is detected by ANPR during that period its treated VERY seriously.
    We in Ireland however declare a period of disuse after the fact.

In my experience it is far too easy to feign car disuse in Ireland. I know people who get a Garda friend to sign/stamp their forms regularly. They only pay whenever caught at the side of a road. Saves them hundreds a year. The Gardai see it as a perk of the job apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Seriously dont do this.
    Sure, many people get the declaration signed and escape some tax that way but I think pretty much everyone agrees that if you happen to get caught for the tax or speeding etc, that you CANT go to the gardai to sign this.
    I know one idiot who did and got himself a day in court which turned out rather serious.
    In your case, the tax fine case might not be closed and when garda gets around to finalising the paperwork, they might well see that you escaped a period of tax in the mean time. Very very serious situation if you make a false declaration to garda!
    You did the tax avoiance a bit too long, got caught so PAY THE TAX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Why pay gardai to be out on the streets checking road tax when they can do it automatically at the M50 toll plaza. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭MarkoC

mickdw wrote: »
    I know one idiot who did and ....
    So you saying that all the people who trying to get away from the money racket and taxes are idiots ?
    I agree with that the taxes should be paid but i dont agree with the road tax, so i think that only idiots are paying road tax including me :D

MarkoC wrote: »
    So you saying that all the people who trying to get away from the money racket and taxes are idiots ?
    I agree with that the taxes should be paid but i dont agree with the road tax, so i think that only idiots are paying road tax including me :D

He is clearly referring to folks who declare a car is off the road for a period where there is record of a motoring offence against the vehicle.