Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

applying to college in the uk as a mature student

Options
  • 02-12-2010 1:56am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭

Hello,
    Im a mature student, im currently studying a fetac level 5 course and I want to apply to uk next year to study for a degree. Im on back to educational allowance. Would i be eligible for a EU student grant? because i don't think i would be able to study in the uk if i couldn't get a grant or financial help. Does anyone have experience of studying there? How did you cope financial, could you get the grant? Is it enough to get by on? I have researched and looked in to it abit i know it doesn't offer the tuition fee. I know its unpredictable, the uncertainty about the economy and many things might change so its hard to know whats going to happen. I would really appreciate to get any information or thoughts on it. Thank you

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

When you say EU student grant, what grant are you referring to?

At the moment, if you satisfy the conditions to qualify for a grant from your local council to go to college in Ireland, you can still get the same grant from your local council/VEC if you go to college in the UK. You effectively have the same entitlement as someone who studies at home and if you're awarded the grant they can pay it to you in sterling if you like.