Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MS Access 2007 - query problem

Options
  • 01-12-2010 3:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭

Hi, I'm quite new to Databases in general and SQL so I'm not exactly sure how to handle this query I've made.

My code is as follows:
    [SIZE=1]SELECT CUST_NAME, MAX(AMOUNT) AS TOTAL_PURCHASES, YEAR

FROM (
              SELECT C.CUST_NAME AS CUST_NAME, SUM(O.QUANTITY) AS QUANTITY,
                         SUM(B.PRICE*O.QUANTITY) AS AMOUNT, YEAR(O.DATE) AS YEAR

FROM CUSTOMERS AS C, ORDERS AS O, BOOKS AS B

WHERE C.CUST_ID = O.CUSTOMER_ID AND O.BOOK_ID = B.ISBN

GROUP BY YEAR(O.DATE), C.CUST_NAME
         )

GROUP BY CUST_NAME, YEAR

ORDER BY YEAR;[/SIZE]

What I want to do is end up with a table with three rows and three columns. The columns shall be CUST_NAME, TOTAL_PURCHASES, YEAR. The idea of the query is to obtain the three highest paying customers per year. By excluding the CUST_NAME in the first SELECT and the last GROUP BY I can get the top three purchases per customer per year but that leaves me without the company's name which is what I need.

I appreciate any help anyone can provide on this.
    Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭akamossie

looking into the code, it looks fine, as i have not seen anything mentioned about company's name.
    its a little confusing here, like you have three columns and rows whhere you have three attributes, is the company name in another table, are your trying to join them together??