Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Accomadation

• 01-12-2010 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Hi Everybody!
    I'm hoping to go to NUIG next yeaar ater my leaving and I'm just wondering what student accomodation you'd recommend. I was looking at Corrib Village but feel that I may not be able to afford to live there, then I found out about Dunaras never heard of it before so don't know much about it, started to research it but wondering is there anywhere else that I could look at aswell. :) Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Cuirt na Coiribe
    Gort na Coiribe

Dunaras is a good bit from the college, but there's a shuttle bus that goes to the college. Gort and Cuirt are only about 10-15 min walk away from the college across the quincentenary bridge.
    Look them up on google maps to judge how far they are from the college.

also have a look at the Accommodation office on the NUIG website. there are others, but the ones mentioned here are the more popular ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 SkinnyGenes

Thank You

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055798605

Here's the big thread on accommodation that was going on last year..
    I chose to live in Gort in the end.. Great place!

Realisticly how long of a walk? :p

Gort and Cuirt are right beside each other,

Realistically, 10 minutes to town and about 15 to college, depending on what building you're in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Realisticly how long of a walk? :p

In fairness, you can walk just about anywhere in galway city in 15 minutes, despite where you start from! One of the good things about it :)

I like this statement :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭hokeypokey

you cannot walk to anywhere ij galway in 15 minutes. Corrib village is great fun if ur a REAL socialite, otherwise its a pure and utter rip off... gort and cuirt are nice, but hte walk over the bridge isnt... private accommodation near would also be good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 thekingof79

dont live in cuirt is a disaster and really over priced, gort is good craic but u wont be gettin ur deposit back for a first year corrib is definitly the best craic...house in town wouldnt be a bad option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Get a room in a shared house or apartment if at all possible. The student accomodation is horrible from everything I've read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

You really can't! ... try walking from Knocknacarra or Ballybrit into college or even centre city, for example.

That said, OP, there tends to be plenty of accommodation within reasonable walking distance of the college, just familiarise yourself with a map of Galway before going looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 beanseile

To be fair, the accommodation kinda depends on who you live with? :)
    places like cuirt, gort and corrib are great in my opinion because in general you don't have the hassle of gettin money together on each regular occasion for rent, bills, etc; you pay all upfront. also you know what you're gettin ie: security, close to college, reasonably nice houses, apts.

Finding a house outside of student accommodation can prove to be alot of extra hassle you don't want or need in first year! its about meeting new people and enjoying yourself, aswel as a warm place to study:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

When would ye say the best time to apply for any of these places like Gort or Cuirt?
    I heard they tend to go quite quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

dont live in cuirt is a disaster and really over priced, gort is good craic but u wont be gettin ur deposit back for a first year corrib is definitly the best craic...house in town wouldnt be a bad option

And why would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Because first years trash the place?

dvemail wrote: »
    When would ye say the best time to apply for any of these places like Gort or Cuirt?
    I heard they tend to go quite quick.

Well Gort booking opened at the end of January last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Because first years trash the place?

Very few do from what I've seen.
    I haven't anyway, and fully expect some of my deposit back! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 aingel

Hi :) I'm hoping to go to Galway too. I've looked at last years thread on accomodation and it made me more confused:confused:. I really like my partying but I seriously wouldnt be able to take all night every night so does that mean corrib is out? coz it looked like most people were saying that. But is it any better this year. And If not where is the place to go? Gort? But will I make no first year friends there? Like I'm going totally by myself I'l no no-one. But neither do I want to be looked at by everyone if I go to corrib as a dry arse coz I physically cant party every night :/ ahhhhhh :confused:Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

aingel wrote: »
    But neither do I want to be looked at by everyone if I go to corrib as a dry arse coz I physically cant party every night :/ ahhhhhh :confused:

Aye, and you'll get unreal slagging if you don't shoot heroin with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Hi :) I'm hoping to go to Galway too. I've looked at last years thread on accomodation and it made me more confused:confused:. I really like my partying but I seriously wouldnt be able to take all night every night so does that mean corrib is out? coz it looked like most people were saying that. But is it any better this year. And If not where is the place to go? Gort? But will I make no first year friends there? Like I'm going totally by myself I'l no no-one. But neither do I want to be looked at by everyone if I go to corrib as a dry arse coz I physically cant party every night :/ ahhhhhh :confused:Thanks

The whole of Corrib Village doesn't decide when you go out :P I would say people were talking about the noise that can be around some of the blocks when theres parties on, it didn't bother me too much as if people are out they'll head to town at 12ish so it'd be quiet after that. If you're looking at a course that has a lot of studying in first year though you wouldn't want to depend on studying in your house all the time.

Other than that, I loved Corrib! Most people were really lovely, it was so handy to be so close to college and everyone else. Depends on who you end up with of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭MissMiami

Choose Corrib for first year. It's not as party mad as everyone says it is. You can have quiet nights if you choose or there's more than likely a party on somewhere if you're up for it. From what I hear, every year it seems to get quieter as it's getting stricter with security and all. Gort is not the best place to meet new people in first year from what I can tell. A lot of people living there are second years who met in Corrib. Cuirt would be similar and far stricter on security.
    For the best year of your life choose Corrib!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Yenoor10

Corrib Village is the place to be in first year, but it is really expensive. I chose not to live there this year and just got a house which is grand, but I end up spending most of my time in Corrib anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 guitarman1

Hey I'm in the same boat as you . gort seems the most comfortable option and its close to the shops and town .I've seen a video of corrib and they seem more like prison cells than rooms . But would hate to be away from all the crack .Don't know of anyone going here ,Most people I know are for the north or dublin . Iwonder how many 1st years actually end up in Gort every year ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Dunno why anyone would want to live in Gort. If you're not living in Corrib you may as well get a house. The extortionate prices Corrib charge are *kinda* worth it for the craic, but Gort charge the same as far as I know and it's never worth it.

I guess if you don't know a load of people though you'd do well settling for any student accommodation, good way to make friends. Unless ya get housed with rehabs.

There are a good few first years living in Gort.
    The only complaint I have is that they tend to be very spread out.

I head over to Corrib now and again, decent enough craic but I'd hate to actually live there myself! Ripped my favorite jeans climbing the fence :o

Few words on the other accommodations..

Cuirt is by far the nicest student accommodation but they're VERY strict when it comes to parties and having guests over.
    If you're having a party or even playing music loud enough, security will be at the door.
    Plus it's harder than corrib to get people in after a certain time because security is usually standing at the gate and apparently the guard is a bit of a prick.

I've never been in Dunaras but from what I've seen it seems nice, its stupidly far away from college though, and apparently in a dodgy area. About a half an hour walk away from town/college!

For next year I'm gonna put down another deposit for Gort. Im also gonna look for a good city centre apartment or house with a few lads around August and get my deposit back if I find one.
    Like I'm going totally by myself I'l no no-one. But neither do I want to be looked at by everyone if I go to corrib as a dry arse coz I physically cant party every night :/ ahhhhhh :confused:Thanks

There are around 2500 - 3000 first years and 800 people in Corrib.. Thats roughly 1600 'Dry Arses' that don't stay in Corrib.

I've talked to some people who absolutely love Corrib, some who just live there and accept its apparent sh*ttyness and I've met a few who totally hate the place (One person I talked to moved out after a week and moved to Gort).

I was like you, went to Galway pretty much on my own (bar a few people from my year who ended up staying in Corrib) I had the same worries as you. Accommodation is just ONE of the ways that you get to know people, as long
    as you're not totally antisocial it's very easy to make friends, especially during the first few weeks when there are literally hundreds of people just like you starting college. Clubs and societys are good too. You find that some societies are basically partying clubs disguised as sports clubs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Zillah wrote: »
    Get a room in a shared house or apartment if at all possible. The student accomodation is horrible from everything I've read.

Seconded.

Was in Lisdonagh in first year. Nice enough but way too far from the college and even further from town. Only upside is that it isnt far from Salthill so you can go to the beach on the 3 days of the year it is warm AND sunny.

Look in the Galway Advertiser for house shares. Comes out online every Wednesday (not sure of the time) and places can be gone fast from there. It comes out in print every Thursday.

Also try Daft.ie, but I found my amazing house 5 mins from college through the accommodation office. Might actually be free rooms here next year since a couple of us are finishing.