Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Litter fine

• 28-11-2010 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone know the ins and outs of this stuff? Apparently one of the housemates left the recycling out by the gate (we live in a gated area) and now we're being done for littering.

Thing is, I haven't seen this letter. I do not have the cash to pay it. I only have the housemate's word to go on that 50euros needs to be paid in by Thursday. I've asked her to see the letter but she's 'lost' it. Apparently there was a letter in the recycling bag addressed to the house and that's how they traced it to us.
    I haven't put out the recycling once so I feel a bit annoyed that I'm being forced to pay cash I don't have without knowing any of the details.

She's saying if it's not in by then we could go to court and have to pay more money so what should I do here? I'm slightly suspicious that the letter was addressed to her personally but I don't really want to start a war here.

I told her to try and fight the fine because it's obvious that we were trying to recycle but she says that there was no fighting it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Kold wrote: »
    Does anyone know the ins and outs of this stuff? Apparently one of the housemates left the recycling out by the gate (we live in a gated area) and now we're being done for littering.

Thing is, I haven't seen this letter. I do not have the cash to pay it. I only have the housemate's word to go on that 50euros needs to be paid in by Thursday. I've asked her to see the letter but she's 'lost' it. Apparently there was a letter in the recycling bag addressed to the house and that's how they traced it to us.
    I haven't put out the recycling once so I feel a bit annoyed that I'm being forced to pay cash I don't have without knowing any of the details.

She's saying if it's not in by then we could go to court and have to pay more money so what should I do here? I'm slightly suspicious that the letter was addressed to her personally but I don't really want to start a war here.

I told her to try and fight the fine because it's obvious that we were trying to recycle but she says that there was no fighting it.

Pop into your local garda station and explain it to them. They should be able to at least have it on record that you came in to sort it out.

Also how is she going to pay the fin if she hasn't the letter.

Something sounds a bit off about this to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Obaraten wrote: »
    litter fines are 150 euros usually are they not?

There's 3 of us so I guess? Except I didn't litter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Obaraten wrote: »
    Was it the local authority that issued the fine or the Gardai?

Don't know any details. I don't think it was the gardai though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Kold wrote: »

Hi OP,

If it turns out you have to pay up id ask the housemate to cough up half the bill, its only fair (and it sounds like some, or possibly all of this was down to her).

All the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't understand how you can get fined for leaving a bag outside of your house to be collected. So she lost the letter, I would get in touch with your local council and request to see a copy, and ask how it is possible to incur such a fine. Perhaps there is more to this than she is letting on. If the litter was found away from the house and dumped somewhere, then it is nothing to do with you and you shouldn't have to pay. Either way, that is just speculation but I wouldn't pay a penny until you find out more details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

Whom ever gave you the fine your entitled to request evidence of the item that had the address, further more if your renting and it has landlords name on the envelope why did she opened it?

I'd ring the local council tomorrow and first fines through the post is €150 not any less, if the fine was due this Thursday they will send you a letter to appear in court couple weeks/months, you have bit of time and I'd get it sorted sooner rather than later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I agree with WindSock, I wouldn't pay a penny of this until you get more details. Tell her to request another copy of the letter and that you won't give her any money until she does.

It sounds like maybe she knows more than she's letting on and I doubt you should be paying 50 euro if it's just herself at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I would contact the Council and request a copy of the letter. In my experience of houseshares if a bill like that arrives the first thing you would do is put it on the table so everyone can see it.

Seems odd that they would fine for a recycling bag being put out for collection. Would ye get many letters addressed to all of ye in the house? As far as I know to take ye to court they would have to have your names on the letter. Maybe the letter just had her name on it and that is why she lost it.

I would ring and request a copy of the letter and also ask where the bag was and where the bag should have been.