Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Terminal 2 TV ad

• 25-11-2010 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdjLBXlieI0

Lots of talk about Terminal 2 lately amid all the news of the bailout. I just saw the ad for it on TV last night and actually think it looks really well and makes you feel proud to be Irish. Have any of you seen it? What do you think?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

It's about as full in that ad, as it will be at peak time... Good enough ad, but you cant avoid the elephant in the room that it's not needed and will cost a fortune to run..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

What I want to know is why the hell the DAA are spending money advertising a new terminal?

What is the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Looks quite nice, hopefully will use it when i come for a holiday at end of december/start january.

Anyone know if they are going to bother finishing/starting the new runway which I thought was to open in 2014?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If it was a private company Id see nothing wrong with it but its €500,000 of tax payers money used in its production and media slots, its not as if Joe Soap on a plane can makd a decision as to what terminal a plane lands in. Reminds me of the Eirgrid advert which assumed the average person had a spare power plant that they wished to get connected to a national grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

It is a good advertisement in that its well made, but what is the point?

Its not like its going to make people say "OMG NEW TERMINAL?! IM GONNA BOOK FLIGHTZ"

Waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

We gave the world Dracula

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭AOwannabe

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    We gave the world Dracula

20100304120809_Constantin2007.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

The construction video of it is sweet too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭SVG

I hate it- it's so smug.

I don't like "ah sure aren't we great" ads at the best of times but this one really grates; especially at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

MaceFace wrote: »
    What I want to know is why the hell the DAA are spending money advertising a new terminal?

What is the point?
    There's no point. It's the O2 now.

Ba-dum-tish!

I hate it- it's so smug.

I don't like "ah sure aren't we great" ads at the best of times but this one really grates; especially at the moment.

I kin dof like it for that reason. It's certainly smug, but he lists a load of great things about Ireland, which people tend to forget about. People need to be reminded about being Irish more. Sure it's great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Conor108 wrote: »

All I thought of while watching that ad is "look at all those construction lads that are now out of work". :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Parakeets

If the Beaufort Scale of Wind is a highlight of our contribution to the planet,then they should have considered not making the ad in the first place. This scale is just a relative observational scale of wind. If a tree sways in the wind the force is 3-4 or if it falls down it's Force 10. Hardly rocket science. To me the ad is embarrassing.

SVG wrote: »
    I hate it- it's so smug. I don't like "ah sure aren't we great" ads at the best of times but this one really grates;

Maybe the ad is to remind us of the stereotypical smug, conceited, egotistical person whose investments are now controlled by NAMA... and that if we see such a person we should land a plane on them...

I certainly have no problem with tipping the hat to Ireland geniuses,...but to produce a 30 second ad highlighting such people, at a time when we are known world wide as the people who cant do simple accountancy, seems futile..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I don't like it for its smugness.

In fairness, compared to some countries we've invented **** all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

All I thought of while watching that ad is "look at all those construction lads that are now out of work".
    Exactly what i was thinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

The reason for T2? So we can all emigrate in style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Well in fairness we mighnt need its capacity now, but in 10 years time it might seem like a good investment in hindsight. However i still believe they massively overpaid for it ! how the estimates and real cost can differ so much amazes me youd think they would have sub contractors locked into pretty tight contracts!
    Ad on tv is good but i still dont see why its needed everybody in the country knows about it anyway at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Xivilai wrote: »

Would have been epic smugness if they put this lad in a hard-hat too.

meteor-bearded-guy-2.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

telekon wrote: »
    Would have been epic smugness if they put this lad in a hard-hat too.

meteor-bearded-guy-2.PNG

Please don't tell me he's back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭UPCurley

What an awful ad.

So we invented all these things.

Does that mean that other countries can take credit for the forty thousand other things invented.

Oh, dear.

We really didn't invent that much after all.

But then again, we are only a small country.

We are very proud of ourselves though.

Ya, we are superior than all those other countries, aren't we.

It's like an ad Bono would do about himself (or have someone do to promote him.)

Get that ad off. It's a joke, especially in today's climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Love the add..

I just like that style of direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭UPCurley

Yes, I agree with you.
    I love the acutal style of the ad.
    The content I have a problem with.
    Maybe I'm wrong, but it seems all about how wonderful we are as a country/people and it rings quite shallow at the moment.
    You know what they say about self praise, and it just seem ironic at the moment.
    I love Ireland, but disliked the whole 'we're better than anyone else' vibe that eminated over the last ten years or so.
    Prior to that our charm was that we were gorgeous, but didn't know we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Is it being shown abroad? Or is it just on TV in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

Isnt it strange how patriotic we become when we get near an airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 son of rob

Is it controversial that Aer Lingus is the only airline to appear in the add? or do I stand corrected and they are in fact the only airline to use Terminal 2? or is Aer Lingus being advertised as another Irish success story????????:rolleyes:

son of rob wrote: »
    Is it controversial that Aer Lingus is the only airline to appear in the add? or do I stand corrected and they are in fact the only airline to use Terminal 2? or is Aer Lingus being advertised as another Irish success story????????:rolleyes:
    The only thing I see is the Aer Lingus plane, which is only distinguishable if you look very closely..

They were certainly not gonna give Ryanair a plug anyway, given their history..

It's kind of ironic that he's in the airport and he doesnt mention the Irish success story that is Ryanair all the same... perhaps even mention Michael O'leary or Tony Ryan... And they bring IN to the state, as opposed to Aer Lingus and the DAA who drain it of funds..

It's just a pity the state wasnt run like RyanAir, then we would have a lot less financial difficulties..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I like the ad. Don't see the point of it, but it's nice.

Was in the terminal in December, it's lovely but really low ceiling-ed at the boarding areas, which isn't terribly modern. The day I was there, there were only 4 flights departing, so security had nothing to do but search people. Even though I didn't beep going through >:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

The way i see it its a glorified bus station.For the the money a brand new airport could have been built.I would much rather see a new hospital being built.Or even maybe the daa should of invested in a few snow ploughs.Daa= shower of tossers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If it was a private company Id see nothing wrong with it but its €500,000 of tax payers money used in its production and media slots

No it's not.
    bigroad wrote: »
    The way i see it its a glorified bus station.For the the money a brand new airport could have been built.I would much rather see a new hospital being built.Or even maybe the daa should of invested in a few snow ploughs.Daa= shower of tossers.

Well, it's unfortunate that the Dublin Airport Authority don't specialise in building hospitals isn't it?

Why do people talk about Terminal 2 as if we're all paying for it? Not one cent of tax payers money was used to build the thing but we all still piss and moan about it.

Fúcking typical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

I didnt say they specialise in building hospitals.who is going to pay for it if it dosent work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DeWitt

I think I'm in love with this David Murray fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

ashyle wrote: »
    Don't see the point of it
    Yeah, it's the airline that makes the choice of which terminal your fly out of. So whats the point???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Doesn't look like it's getting used very much. Kind of just seems like a penis extension for the country.

MaceFace wrote: »

What is the point?

Exactly i mean you'll go where the plane is flying from. Isn't as if we have a choice and i honestly don't give a f*ck if it fly's from T1 or T2 either so long as the plane not a tar barrel with a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭scoll

Conor108 wrote: »

That's brilliant. Although it was a waste of money, you have to admit it looks pretty slick on the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I love the ad.

I love the building too. I was part of the daa customer trials and it's really impressive.

Ps. I love your mans voice :p

amdublin wrote: »
    Ps. I love your mans voice :p

Typical woman, if he's handsome, suave and speaks well (not like us from "out in the sticks") you'll believe any oul waffle that he comes out with ...

I much prefer the ad with the decent country people, a bit like D'unbelievables' family I guess, telling us that the rashers are great and don't shrivel up on the the pan.. (not like the ones that the city folk would sell you).. Now those people I can believe..

You're not saying you like a Denny's ad are you :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

bigroad wrote: »
    I didnt say they specialise in building hospitals.who is going to pay for it if it dosent work out.
    Who's to say it won't work out?
    The taxpayer did not pay for this. DAA got investment from private investors and the EIB.
    In 2009, excluding the initial 40 million hit implementing a cost-saving programme, the DAA still made a profit. It owns a very successful, profitable international arm. From their Annual Report in 2009-
    The DAA receives no Exchequer funding. Airport charges, commercial
    revenue and borrowings are its only sources of income. To help fund the
    necessary capital investments in new and improved facilities, gross debt
    was €1.25 billion at year-end.
    It's planning for the future.
    People just seem to be complaining for the sake of complaining. The company raised the finance itself so taxpayers money doesn't even come into it so any "omg recession bailout imf nama" argument is a bit irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Xivilai wrote: »

I invented the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭annieire

When i first saw the ad i thought it was long and boring. Then a section of it was played on The Republic of Telly, showing the wind blowing hair moment. Since then, the little DAA ad has grown on me. I quite like it now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Ruffty^

To the point of the ad, to that I have no argument since one cannot choose their terminal.