Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canvassers - What will you be pressing them on?

• 22-11-2010 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so the dust is showing signs of beginning to settle after quite the turbulent 48 hours to say the least. Now it seems that we are looking at a general election taking place within the next two months and one can reasonably assume that various canvassers representing all mainstream parties will be calling to our doors soon. My question to the forum is what key issue or issues will you be pressing these canvassers on?

Personally my key issue will be that of electoral reform. For far too long the election of members of Dáil Éireann has been on the basis of local, rather than national, issues. This has led, in my opinion, to the election of substandad members of Dáil Éireann and to certain independent members holding an undue influence over the business of government. I would be interested in hearing what the representatives of the various parties will say on the matter - are they in favour of any reforms or are they in favour of maintaining the status quo. This will greatly influence my decision on what party I will vote for.

What key issues will you be pressing the canvassers on? The floor is open as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

pithater1 wrote: »
    I would be interested in hearing what the representatives of the various parties will say on the matter - are they in favour of any reforms or are they in favour of maintaining the status quo. This will greatly influence my decision on what party I will vote for.
    But they will tell you lies. It would be better to appoint a number of experts that are qualified to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Electoral reform is the top of my list as well I will be pressing them all except for the Fianna Fail canvassers who will be run from my door but given that neither they nor the Greens even bothered to turn up on my doorstep for the local elections I don't think I will have the chance during this General Election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

In a word: Expenses.

I know Gormley isn't too popular among certain posters here, but at least he doesn't claim an expensive chauffeur driven car or use the government jet to bring his mates to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I'd shake the hand of any FF'er that comes to my door (purely for his/her bravery).
    I won't give them any time or give them my vote, but they'd earn a small amount of my respect. Very small....

I'll be asking them about responsibility and measures for standards for TD's. There are so many public representatives in office at this moment in time that should never be allowed run for election ever again.

There needs to be more accountability for cock ups as well. There is none in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

In fact these would be what I will be pressing them on.
    • Abolish the Seanad.
    • Reduce the number of TD's to around 100.
    • The elections for the Dail to be fulfilled against a total list system.
    • Maximum term in office of 3 Dails for all TD's.
    • TD's only allowed to deal with national issues.
    • If a TD stands down or dies his party replaces them with the next person on the list submitted before the last general election avoiding by-elections.
    • TD's pay fixed at 50% above the average wage, Ministers at 25% above TD's wages and the Taoiseach at 25% above Ministers.
    • Any state employees that become a TD will have to relinquish their position so it becomes available to a full time employee to fill.
    • Dail Holidays reduced to 1 month in the summer, a week at Christmas and 10 working days for the rest of the year.
    • Pensions only become active at retirement age and only one can be held.
    • Reduce the number of councils to around 5 or 6.
    • Councillors to become fulltime paid positions at average wage levels.
    • Council elections to occur every two years.
    • All political positions subject to a vouched expense scheme with full receipts required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

FF come to my door, they'll be told not a feckin' chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I'd tell them I'll vote for them if they personally re-emburse me for the tax hikes they've inflicted on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Folks, as you'll notice from the thread title (with the first post it's always a good indication of what the thread is about), you're being asked what you'll press candidates on when they come to your door - questions you'll ask and issues you'll raise). Try to stick to that rather than going off on a tangent about who you'll run from your door or the other not-on-topic things in the most recent posts. The question is simple, the discussion topic is obvious.

/mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

gandalf wrote: »
    In fact these would be what I will be pressing them on.
    • Abolish the Seanad.
    • Reduce the number of TD's to around 100.
    • The elections for the Dail to be fulfilled against a total list system.
    • Maximum term in office of 3 Dails for all TD's.
    • TD's only allowed to deal with national issues.
    • If a TD stands down or dies his party replaces them with the next person on the list submitted before the last general election avoiding by-elections.
    • TD's pay fixed at 50% above the average wage, Ministers at 25% above TD's wages and the Taoiseach at 25% above Ministers.
    • Any state employees that become a TD will have to relinquish their position so it becomes available to a full time employee to fill.
    • Dail Holidays reduced to 1 month in the summer, a week at Christmas and 10 working days for the rest of the year.
    • Pensions only become active at retirement age and only one can be held.
    • Reduce the number of councils to around 5 or 6.
    • Councillors to become fulltime paid positions at average wage levels.
    • Council elections to occur every two years.
    • All political positions subject to a vouched expense scheme with full receipts required.

That pretty much covers it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Electoral reform: hoping to hear something along the lines of reducing TD numbers, abolish senate, and ban political appointments to state bodies

Personal taxation: hoping to hear an emphasis of personal taxation rises only after everything else fails

Will also more be listening out for anything they say on local issues. I don't want to hear anything about some local hospital or road or anything that'll distract them from doing their national level work when they get into office. They can talk about a national healthcare strategy, or a national transport plan, but nothing local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

I'll wait for them to get to know me and tell me what I want to hear.

say: "yeah, we believe in electoral reform, and promise to take action"

then I'll ask if their candidate would be willing to enter into a legal contract with me personally, the contract stipulates basically that the politician will do simply whatever was just promised and not sell out on day 1, but failure to do so means I get half his stuff.

after all, any sincere/honest poliician would agree to sign the agreement as they would have nothing to lose. howevey, no politician would do any such thing, because they all know in their heart of hearts what we all know, that they are all horrible lying sacks of sh*t.

I would then ask the canvasser to retort to my logic, wear them down, and convince them to go home and spend more time with their famlies or something worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Mr E wrote: »
    I'd shake the hand of any FF'er that comes to my door (purely for his/her bravery).
    I won't give them any time or give them my vote, but they'd earn a small amount of my respect. Very small....

It may well be me, but I'm not looking for respect. I have always canvassed regardless of circumstance. I only figured out at the weekend in Donegal that constant canvassing is unique to Limerick, and even more specifically unique to Fianna Fáil in Limerick. Most TDs outside of Limerick would simply not continue were they to have to spend 3 days a week on the doorsteps year round.

Say what you like about Willie O'Dea, but he has a work ethic that's unobtainable for most.

In relation to asking canvassers questions, you will mainly be getting the canvasser's view, as it is impossible that each canvasser would have a briefing on absolutely everything from the candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Electoral reform, public service reform mostly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

ninty9er wrote: »
    Say what you like about Willie O'Dea, but he has a work ethic that's unobtainable for most.

I would, except I'd be banned and I'd have to record it to ensure that I didn't lie about it afterwards.

As for what I'd ask, the earlier list covers most of it, but I'd add the following:

1) Will you sign this form that states that you will not, under any circumstances, go into government with FF ?
    2) Will you vote to represent me regardless of what your party whip instructs you ?
    3) Will you ensure that those who are responsible for the crisis are held to account, and people who had no hand, act or part in it are spared further pain ?
    4) Will you ensure that people barely scraping by are not hammered by unfair taxes (including stealth taxes ?
    5) Will you only claim vouched expenses ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

Certainly with the way the current government has operated two issue that are important for me are
    • Will the government be honest in its communications with the people and not blatantly lie to them (within a limit of course)?
    • If one of my representatives leaves the Dail, can I be guaranteed that a replacement will be elected soon?

These are two fundamentals, things one should take for granted in an old enough democratic country, but the FF government has shaken ones confidence in these things

Otherwise, I will be compiling a list for each party outlining my questions and problems regarding them.

I won't be kicking any FF canvassers from my door. They have pursued disastrous economic policies in the last decade; the least they can do in return is listen to why my problems with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I hope some SF reps call at my door, will press them about a number of things:

Dissident situation
    PSNI
    Treatment of anti GFA republicans(not necessarily dissidents)
    Electoral reform
    26 county finance proposals
    Cross border bodies, how will they lead anywhere?
    A number of local issues(don't shoot me!)
    Expenses reform
    If Gerry himself shows up I will ask about his involvement in the IRA, disappeared etc.

And I am sure I will think of a few other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I will be introducing my Fianna Failer to my 2 children and asking him to apologize for the financial pain his party have loaded on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    A number of local issues(don't shoot me!)

I won't, but will Gerry Adams? :p

Fair dues to you. You've been vocal in your support of Gerry Adams and Sinn Fein on this forum, yet you're still willing to challenge them. In my opinion, one of the main problems with people our age who are affiliated to parties is that they are unwilling to ask the tough questions of those they support.

I was just at a debate in UCC, and it was very disheartening to see young people, like us, stand up and spew out some preordained party line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

"How do you plan to change the way this country is run?"

More than one "em..." or "um..." and they're out of the running. ;)

Stork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'd mirror those questions that have been mentioned.
    Mainly in relation to:
    1. Electoral reform. Cutting the number of Ministers,Junior ministers, TD's, Senators, Councils and councilers.
    2.Changing the laws in relation to disclosure of any "interests" that politicians have. This is still not transparent enough. Changing the expenses schemes of politicians and the public service at large.
    3. What that politician plans to do about creating jobs. Still havent seen any major realistic real world solutions to this. Plenty waffle and spin, yet despite the billions being poured into banks (who will ironicilly enough be firing staff over the next few years) no actual policies have been defined for this.
    4. Trying to get the politicians views on energy prices and the impending energy crisis.
    5. Will ask for a record of the politicians attendance record in the dail if they have sat before as well as an outline of where their expenses go.

Theres a fair bit more but to be honest I will probably be so dissillusioned with Irish Politics I might even run myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

I usually inform myself of a partys policies so rather than ask for their views I'd give them mine, mostly re electoral reform, energy and infrastructural outlooks and prison/justice reform. But it'd only get to that after 3 screening questions to rule out wasting time on FF

Question 1. Are you a FFer?

Question 2. How do you sleep at night knowing the country views you as a traitor (because that's what you are)?

Question 3. You've got some ****ing cheek even asking for a vote, now how fast can you run mother****er?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I won't, but will Gerry Adams? :p

Fair dues to you. You've been vocal in your support of Gerry Adams and Sinn Fein on this forum, yet you're still willing to challenge them. In my opinion, one of the main problems with people our age who are affiliated to parties is that they are unwilling to ask the tough questions of those they support.

I was just at a debate in UCC, and it was very disheartening to see young people, like us, stand up and spew out some preordained party line.
    Thanks Eliot. I think we as a people have a responsibility to question everything. No one person or party has a 100% correct policy.
    I know, its cringe-worthy. In DCU we had a vote on whether or not to join the USI(we said no) and there were a few debates. It basically became Ok, I will stand up and read a bit from my leaflet, then you can read a bit from yours!"

I think many young people really want to make a difference, but dont really know how. They join a political party on clubs and socs day, enticed by slogans, read the leaflets and are brainwashed to an extent. Sure, the leaflet sounds good. They always do. And sure this crowd gave me a free Collins DVD!(FG were giving them to people who joined, FF were giving out copies of the proclamation, I pointed out the irony). Then they go to a meeting, and guess what! Everyone is saying the same type of things, the party line. Thus a sense of belonging.

I prefer to come up with my own ideas about what is best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Common as...

Abuse of the expenses system and the extremely overpaid TD's, Ministers, President, senior civil servants, Judges, Ryan Tuberty the list is very long.

The thing to hold in mind with your slippery FF man(nearly all of them are) is that he is gonna say
    OH SURE labour and FG wanted to spend more before 07...
    AND SURE after 07 what could have been done differant... to win a debate on this, with a candidate who already has all the answers rehearsed you really need to know you stuff or be an economist
    so i'll be pinning them down on more specific things like the recent lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Actually, speaking of canvassing, I wondered after todays debacle, is there any point now the the Donegal By election? Jesus whoever wins will probably sit in the shortest dail session in history? funny how the greens pushed for this election and now want to **** off and leave us to pick up the pieces, shower of ****.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    If Gerry himself shows up I will ask about his involvement in the IRA, disappeared etc.

Probably not the best idea. :pac: Though those 2 things are reasons why I'll go for a walk if he comes around, I don't want to be near him.

If any Greens come around I'll maybe give them a white feather.
    I don't think any FFers will be around because I cheeked Dermot Ahern when they were around for the last election.
    If Labour come around I'll ask if they still plan to roll back the paycuts in the public sector. :pac:
    If FG come around I'll let them know they would have gotten my vote but I can't cast a vote that gives Labour cabinet seats.
    Independents, no thanks, they seem to serve little purpose more than the Greens have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Actually, speaking of canvassing, I wondered after todays debacle, is there any point now the the Donegal By election? Jesus whoever wins will probably sit in the shortest dail session in history?

Will they still get a pension? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

pithater1 wrote: »
    My question to the forum is what key issue or issues will you be pressing these canvassers on?

Are they sound on the national question - obviously. Some of them I give history tests to, and these could range from who was second-in-command to Séamas Mac Muiris Mac Gearailt in 1579 all the way to naming all members of the Meath team which won the All-Ireland Junior Hurling Final in 1927. Extra geneological information on any of these questions will ensure bonus marks on this "Who will I vote for" dilemma.

I'd suggest abolition of Seanad Éireann and pretty much everything else Gandalf has, but I don't believe the nice boys and girls who come to my door are going to vote themselves out of jobs so I wouldn't waste my breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Personally I will be looking more at candidates with national policies.

1. I will be looking for a candidate who will improve life for unmarried couples with children. I dont see why couples should be forced into marraige just so they can get the tax breaks which allow a parent to remain at home with the children.

2. I will be looking for someone who has a serious plan for reforming the public sector. Put the money where it belongs in the front lines.

3. I will want someone who intends to reduce fraud in social welfare. This is crippling our country.

4. I will also be looking for someone with a plan for the HSE. The current plan seems to be sort out little problems as they arise. Like patching up a leaky dam.

5. Finally, I will be looking for someone who wants to improve our infrastructure in an efficient way. I would love to see some coordination. It's ridiculous to see a road being dug up over and over so different groups can lie piping or wiring or whatever. Our roads are in a tragic state because of this messy approach.