Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is Enda Kenny?

• 22-11-2010 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭

James Reilly, the deputy leader of FG seems have taken over all media duties for the party.

I don't think I've seen or heard Enda all week.

Is Enda being pushed to the side prior to a leadership battle?

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

scotchy wrote: »
    James Reilly, the deputy leader of FG seems have taken over all media duties for the party.

According to RTE he is in Galway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Mayo Miss

I had never heard of Dr James Reilly before the weekend. I have seen him about 5 times in the last two days on tv. Where did he come out of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Ah make yer mind up.

First Enda's a PR nightmare who shouldn't be let speak in public.

Now ye want to hear from him? Well in fairness to the man, he only called for the Government to quit both the last two days. He's not exactly in hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Very good question.

The cynic inside me says that they (FG) probably got public relations advice to keep Enda out of the spotlight because he's a liability considering his oratiorial skills are as bad as the other lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭scotchy

Ah make yer mind up.

First Enda's a PR nightmare who shouldn't be let speak in public.

Now ye want to hear from him? Well in fairness to the man, he only called for the Government to quit both the last two days. He's not exactly in hiding.

I never said I wanted to hear from him. Its his absence during one of the most important weeks in our states history had me wondering, thats all.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Mayo Miss wrote: »
    I had never heard of Dr James Reilly before the weekend. I have seen him about 5 times in the last two days on tv. Where did he come out of?

he´s been in the media for at least the last 5 years.
    Former Pres of IMO, FG TD for Dublin North since last election, depty leader FG since Bruton coup attempt a couple of months back.

The Kenny lack of visibility is a bit odd alright.

I never said I wanted to hear from him. Its his absence during one of the most important weeks in our states history had me wondering, thats all.

But he's not been absent. As I said, he's been calling on the Government to resign incessantly.
    If you don't particularly care to hear from him, and you haven't, then what's your problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

There's no doubt that his PR handlers are keeping him out of the limelight. Nothing he can say will gain him extra votes, if he speaks he invariably looses votes, so best to keep him quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

You obviously weren't watching RTE's Six-One News, so.

But he's not been absent. As I said, he's been calling on the Government to resign incessantly.
    If you don't particularly care to hear from him, and you haven't, then what's your problem?

Well I’ll have to disagree with you.

I’ve been following as many current affairs and news programs on TV and radio as I can over the weekend, and I cant remember the last time I heard his dulcet tones. And reading some of the replies here I’m not alone.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    You obviously weren't watching RTE's Six-One News, so.

I must have missed him:o

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

Well I’ll have to disagree with you.

I’ve been following as many current affairs and news programs on TV and radio as I can over the weekend, and I cant remember the last time I heard his dulcet tones. And reading some of the replies here I’m not alone.

As has been said, obviously the Six-One news eluded you then.:rolleyes:

Maybe I’ll catch him on the 9 o’clock news.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

Maybe I’ll catch him on the 9 o’clock news.

There's James Reilly again anyway.:)

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Enda's done a deal to get the budget through, he's afraid to rock the boat cos Lenny recorded the conversation on his iPhone and will hang him out to dry if the word gets out. That's my guess inanyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

There's no doubt that his PR handlers are keeping him out of the limelight. Nothing he can say will gain him extra votes, if he speaks he invariably looses votes, so best to keep him quiet.
    On the money. There is something hopelessly sad about that.

THREAD HAS BEEN CLEANED. PLEASE KEEP AFTER HOURS STYLE POSTING TO AFTER HOURS,

Your friendly neighbourhood mod,

Papa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Very strange indeed. He should be like a rabid dog in these times, going for the political jugular. I certainly think he has some kind of agreement with the government not to rock the boat on the budget. Outwardly he'll let his spokespeople attack the budget but they will abstain when it comes to the vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

he never has attacked the opposition properly in the last 8 -10 years, imo that is the reason that the dff scraped into office the last time, if he has any thing behind the belly button he would have made a few attempts at the dffs political jugular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

After the utter shambles that has been Cowen and FF, especially in terms of communication in the last 10 days - we need a strong communicator who is going to show his confidence in his party's plan and project that to the people of this country. Enda Kenny is a very poor communicator and lacks huge knowledge on economical issues. Yes he is going to manage a team but is it really too much to ask for to have a leader of our country that can project confidence and give leadership after what we have had to endure?

If it not just in the past week that Kenny has been essentially silent - it has been this way for bloody ages. The main problem is when he does do interviews it ends up making him even more unpopular due to how poor his performances tend to be - this is truly unacceptable for the leader of our opposition and the leader of our next Government. FG have a lot of talent within their party but because of backwards thinking from mainly CC who are more concerned about local issues instead of the country he won the heave in the summer. That damaged the party and showed a gross level of naivety. It's too late now for another heave - but it is very sad that overall (yes I know the majority of the TD's and Sentate voted no confidence in Kenny) FG mis-judged public opinion to such a massive extent because had they changed to a more knowledgeable and credible leader, one who can convey the message in a convincing manner they would not have to worry about going into coalition with Labour IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Mayo Miss wrote: »
    James Reilly is Brendan Grace's real name. He can hardly represent FG as his comic persona, can he?

I was thinking Jim McCann.:)

Sorry papa smut:o

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Duckytech

Where is Enda Kenny?

.....Found him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 snoepys

He having a pint in the Dail bar as we speak

Duckytech and snoepys have earned themselves a seven day ban. This is not After Hours. Please let us stick to politics,

Your friendly neighbourhood mod,

Papa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭thatsmyboy

Hi all first post here. All i want to say is if you were Enda and all around you were stabbing themselves in the back and jumping ship to try and save there own skins(the public do see what ye are doing gormley,healy rae,lowery,flynn and the rest we are not fools anymore) would you not sit back and watch the enemy self destruct itself.
    I personally think he can say no more and only his and labour policies with help from europe will get us back to normality and by normality i dont mean the way we lived for the past ten yrs...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Jesus he has been all over the news the past few weeks about the election and the bailout amongst other things. Roaring the house down and arguing with Cowen and Co. Hardly gone missing, its just that we are seeing 99% of the media time about politics and the opposition are hardly the hot topic at the moment.

Its mostly been Noonan from FG on media since the confirmation of the bailout simply because its finance matters but in the background, which was picked up by most media, he has been calling for an election.

Where the feck has Labour or SF been? Iv heard Gilmore once I think. SF because they refused to support the budget and decided to try ram the Dail again.

The opposition are not the news at the moment, don't expect much coverage from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

Considering that the Sky News top story at 7:00am Tuesday 23/11/10 referred to him as Enda Kennedy- would it not suggest to his handlers that they, to date, have got it wrong and they really need to up his profile - especially to the international media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Kenny IS conspicuous by his absence in the media. One would expect the leader of the likely next Government to be all over the media at a time like this. He's been on 1 or 2 things, but very little.
    To be fair, why would he go on - all he has to do is keep quiet & he's a dead cert, doing lots of interviews etc. just would give him an opportunity to f**k it up.
    James Reilly & Pat Rabbite appear to have taken responsibility to speak for FG & Labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

tv3 breakfast show this morning , refusing to answer whether he would support the FF budget or not (understandably cant see why people are suprised when he wont give a commitment when he hasnt seen the detail)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Hmm.To be fair (much as I pathologically dislike James Reilly), he sounds a hell of a lot better than Enda Kenny as a public speaker.

There might be something in the point that all Kenny has to do now is sit back and watch the others stab each other in the back and abandon ship. One way or the other, he's likely to be in Government, let's face it.....it won't require much effort on his party's part.For a lot of people, it's enough that they're not FF....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Lets be fair, all I've heard from Gilmore was him promoting his new book...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

flutered wrote: »
    he never has attacked the opposition properly in the last 8 -10 years, imo that is the reason that the dff scraped into office the last time, if he has any thing behind the belly button he would have made a few attempts at the dffs political jugular.

Ah yes it is all his fault the people were too effing greedy and decided they would rather a spive who couldn't explain why he had wads of cash including foreign currency in his wall safe. :rolleyes:

The political jugular ?
    Do you have any idea how Irish government works and particularly those of ff.
    They hang together like theives.
    Funny thing is they turned what used to be people of principle, the greens, into the same.
    Added to that ff attracted all the dodyd and ex ff characters like lowry, jackie healy rae, etc.
    Sleepy wrote: »
    Lets be fair, all I've heard from Gilmore was him promoting his new book...

Great what is it about ? :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

jmayo wrote: »
    dodyd and ex ff characters like lowry
    Eh? Might want to check that one before you go too much further with it...
    Sully wrote: »
    Where the feck has Labour or SF been? Iv heard Gilmore once I think.
    I'd imagine he's frantically cobbling together an election manifesto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Personally I cant abide Kenny and think Dr James Reilly would make a far better Taoiseach, however thats not going to happen. Kenny will be the next Taoiseach whether people like it or not, theres no real need for him to comment while FF and the greens implode. He is a PR disaster no doubt about it, and the more he keeps his mouth shut the less he annoys people, i think possibly he is aware of that at this stage hence the silence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭paddy462

Where is he?? Enda has called for an immediate General Election yesteday. Gilmore then seemed to follow suit having been dithering on the question earlier yesterday. I know Enda has is doubters etc. but I think he will do a great job as Taoiseach. Taoisigh have come in in the past with a low public rating but it has risen once they have gone into power.
    Kenny, unlike Cowan, faced a battle in his party for the leadership and he won. I have more respect for Fine Gael for that. None of that has happened with Fianna Fail. Noone opposed Cowan at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I think he will be detested as Taoiseach. With the severity of the budgets ahead over the next number of years and the nature of his personality and PR skills he will be deeply unpopular. Is a shame Richard Bruton did not succeed as at least he seems to have a nice manner. Something about Reilly troubles me deeply and I have developed a strong dislike for him. All of that said we just need someone different from FF in office

The country needs a new party. Fine Gael and Fianna Fail themselves will never do business but a new Liberal Democratic Party can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Eh? Might want to check that one before you go too much further with it...

I'd imagine he's frantically cobbling together an election manifesto.

Bad phrasing on my part. :o
    Trust me I know what parties these individuals have long term ties with. :rolleyes:

I meant the dodgy to apply to lowry who as we all know was done for tax avoidance/evasion in fact AFAIK and has numerous questions to answer on the awarding of the mobile phone license to one denis o'brien and Esat.
    Now to me that makes someone dodgy.

The ex ff applies to jackie healy rae as he was prominent ffer until he did not get selected to run in Kerry South and then he went off in his own canoe only to tie it back to the ff titanic at the first opportunity.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    Bad phrasing on my part. :o
    Trust me I know what parties these individuals have long term ties with. :rolleyes:

I meant the dodgy to apply to lowry who as we all know was done for tax avoidance/evasion in fact AFAIK and has numerous questions to answer on the awarding of the mobile phone license to one denis o'brien and Esat.
    Now to me that makes someone dodgy.

The ex ff applies to jackie healy rae as he was prominent ffer until he did not get selected to run in Kerry South and then he went off in his own canoe only to tie it back to the ff titanic at the first opportunity.

Yeah sure HR ran as independent FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

As Taoiseach, Kenny will trouble alot of people particularly if he has to implement very stiff austerity measures set out by the IMF. His main problem is an inability to communicate without sounding convincing or sincere. I would also expect alot of friction between labour and fine gael ministers in a coalition government owing to a conflict of ideologies, that being said, however unsavoury a Kenny lead FG/Labour coalition sounds, it is infinitely more acceptable to me than any government with FF in it. (FF will get 15% of the vote in the next general election, which will be 14% more they deserve)