Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your new oppressive overlord/moderators.

• 22-11-2010 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭

How’s it going folks, I’ve just been made a Politics moderator.

Basically, just wrote this to let ye know what the story is. It’s going to be a pretty hectic few months with the budget and onset of elections so I hope I’ll be able to contribute and support the high levels of debate on here.

If any of ye have questions or comments, please feel free to PM me and I’ll do my level best to help ye out. It’s a fairly daunting task to be modding a forum with such well-informed and active posters but I hope I’ll rise to the challenge.

Kickoutthejams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

How’s it going folks, I’ve just been made a Politics moderator.

Basically, just wrote this to let ye know what the story is. It’s going to be a pretty hectic few months with the budget and onset of elections so I hope I’ll be able to contribute and support the high levels of debate on here.

If any of ye have questions or comments, please feel free to PM me and I’ll do my level best to help ye out. It’s a fairly daunting task to be modding a forum with such well-informed and active posters but I hope I’ll rise to the challenge.

Kickoutthejams
    From what I've seen of your posts, your a partitionist so that stands to reason.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

From what I've seen of your posts, your a partitionist so that stands to reason.
    Enjoy your week off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I, for one, welcome our jams-kicking overlord. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Congrats. Looks like you'll have a busy time of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Just Contribute

Best of luck mate! I'm sure you'll do an excellent job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Can't win really, can you...:)

In the past few days we've also added Blue_Lagoon to the mod team.

We're very pleased that both kotj and Blue_Lagoon have accepted the mod roles and we should have another addition pretty soon. Thanks to both of you!

It's going to be a busy time in the Politics forum and subforums over the next few weeks and months and, as always, we appreciate it when people take the time to report posts (using the little warning triangles at the bottom left of posts) that are offensive, insulting and/or in breach of the charter etc - your reports with informative reasons (even short ones) help us to make the forum a better discussion place for all of us. Every forum member can help in that way to get the discussion standard to a good level and to keep it there. Help us to help you as they say...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

good luck with it KOTJ.

You´re right it will be a hectic few months, maybe by February you´ll have the chance to take a breath.

Your posts are generally well informed, and you don´t engage in sniping, personalisation, fighting etc.
    You look like a good choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Are ya mad :eek::D

Welcome addition to the team.

Invest in the steel caps and you'll be fine ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Anonymous1987

Congratulations. I'm afraid it will be baptism by fire though, best of luck :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

If people do something against all sense should we congratulate them ;)

Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

FYI, the big green mod button has just been pressed on Papa Smut (the "another addition pretty soon" I mentioned above) so that brings three additions to the mod team (Papa Smut, kickoutthejams and Blue_Lagoon), all very welcome and bless all those who sail in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Enjoy your week off.

That's terrible punctuation, deserved a week.
    Any best of luck new mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You must have passed the speed reading test of hundreds of posts a second 24/7, yeah you qualify as an overlord! :)

I'm very grateful to the mod team for asking me to be co-mod. It will be a challenging time over the next few weeks/months and we'll need all the help we can muster from our regular posters. Report any posts that should be reported and action should take place sooner rather than later.

If you have advice, questions or comments, feel free to PM me.

Looking forward to the next few months!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I haven't had any dealings with Papa Smut but my experience with both Blue Lagoon and KickOutTheJams has been entirely positive. These are thoughtful, measured and fair contributors who I'm sure will become great mods. /asslicking ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Best of luck lads, I am sure we will keep you all busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

I wish you luck but can you please ensure no censorship and a fair mod procedure.

Surely this must be at the heart of being a politics mod and not just being able to read fast and cull??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

NickDrake wrote: »
    I wish you look but can you please ensure no censorship and a fair mod procedure.

Surely this must be at the heart of being a politics mod and not just being able to read fast and cull??

I'll do my level best to keep an open mind and keep a fair mod-hammer.

For everyone else: thanks for the support and welcome to Blue and Papa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

I'll do my level best to keep an open mind and keep a fair mod-hammer.

For everyone else: thanks for the support and welcome to Blue and Papa.

Well I certainly will be keeping an eye on the mod performance and what ye are deleting.

A good few of us have been talking via pm about the deleting of posts and locking of threads. We have a group keeping an eye on things.

I wish you look but can you please asure no censorship and a fair mod procedure.

I have been a mod for 7 years now, because of that I can promise impartiality. But I will uphold the charter. Ie: no more AH type threads, no more sniggering, one liner, thanks whoring posts. I am a believer in substance in politics and that goes for posting too.
    I cannot ensure that there will be no censorship as boards is a private business that can get sued. Any accusations that cannot be backed up will be deleted.
    There is an awful lot more to modding than reading fast and culling ;) Thankfully, there is a great team of mods to help us new guys along and point us in the right direction. And I'm sure I'll get some PM's from the regulars as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Well I certainly will be keeping an eye on the mod performance and what ye are deleting.

A good few of us have been talking via pm about the deleting of posts and locking of threads. We have a group keeping an eye on things.

Feel free to send a PM if you have any queries or issues, likewise, Helpdesk is always there for grievances.

But I'm sure we'll all get on grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Good luck and I hope your additions will ensure the forum is cleaned up of undesirable/sub-standard posts in an efficient manner.

As I said in the feedback thread if need to ask advice please feel free to pm me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

We are boards.

We are everywhere.

We will never rest.

We will never sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

Congrats guys and good luck

I hope you keep your debating pens dipped in the ink while you get to grips with your new (and improved) mod pens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Papa Smut wrote: »
    I have been a mod for 7 years now, because of that I can promise impartiality. But I will uphold the charter. Ie: no more AH type threads, no more sniggering, one liner, thanks whoring posts. I am a believer in substance in politics and that goes for posting too.
    I cannot ensure that there will be no censorship as boards is a private business that can get sued. Any accusations that cannot be backed up will be deleted.
    There is an awful lot more to modding than reading fast and culling ;) Thankfully, there is a great team of mods to help us new guys along and point us in the right direction. And I'm sure I'll get some PM's from the regulars as well

Being a mod of the humour and Stand-up comedy forums make you more qualified than most to be mod of politics too :)

I'd imagine you'll need that sense of humour in the coming months.