Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Performance survey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭jonski

Survey completed ... although my new mobo cpu and ram were dispatched from pixmania today \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I am absolutely gobsmacked by the amount of people still running a C2D chip! Jesus I taught everyone would be on quad cores at least...there is me thinking I am soooooo 2009 with a Q9450, I found the survey very good for a few reason I am in the minority.

For a start there are very few people running my native res of 1920x1200 and even fewer running a Ati 5970....and I honestly taught that most people would have an ATi card at this stage by about a 60-40%...I would have hated to see that poll before the 5 series ATi cards :rolleyes:

Hmmmm, I do notice a massive FPS increase with the latest patch for me personally. I do not get that micro stutter just a big freeze prolly once per map for a second then nothing...so I would say it is the map loading or something to that effect. When I turn of Vsync I get well over 100+ FPS (thanx to cherry for the console command) constantly at the max settings with no shadows.

Still very good find Cherry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    I am absolutely gobsmacked by the amount of people still running a C2D chip! Jesus I taught everyone would be on quad cores at least...there is me thinking I am soooooo 2009 with a Q9450, I found the survey very good for a few reason I am in the minority.

For a start there are very few people running my native res of 1920x1200 and even fewer running a Ati 5970....and I honestly taught that most people would have an ATi card at this stage by about a 60-40%...I would have hated to see that poll before the 5 series ATi cards :rolleyes:

Hmmmm, I do notice a massive FPS increase with the latest patch for me personally. I do not get that micro stutter just a big freeze prolly once per map for a second then nothing...so I would say it is the map loading or something to that effect. When I turn of Vsync I get well over 100+ FPS (thanx to cherry for the console command) constantly at the max settings with no shadows.

Still very good find Cherry.

Sure, what would be the point in upgrading ? Not like theres been many big releases lately that are gonna really push a top of the range system, alot of people on the PC are playing the same game they were playing 2 or 3 years ago, be it CS/TF2/CoD4 or WoW. Theres a bunch of new games coming to the PC next year that should require an upgrade from the older modeled PC's tho.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Most games are optimized for 2 cores anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭ABE

Magill wrote: »
    Sure, what would be the point in upgrading ? Not like theres been many big releases lately that are gonna really push a top of the range system, alot of people on the PC are playing the same game they were playing 2 or 3 years ago, be it CS/TF2/CoD4 or WoW. Theres a bunch of new games coming to the PC next year that should require an upgrade from the older modeled PC's tho.

Yea I havent upgraded in a good while due to this fact. though this will be the last year ill get out of my gfx card I think.

Nice to see another Newry gamer like myself :D

ABE wrote: »
    Yea I havent upgraded in a good while due to this fact. though this will be the last year ill get out of my gfx card I think.

Nice to see another Newry gamer like myself :D

:) Yeah, newry is awesome... not ! :D

Most games are optimized for 2 cores anyway :rolleyes:

Dunno about that cherry, Older games maybe. Newer games are advertised as optimised for multi core...but specifically optimised for QUAD CORE

Dont get me wrong, I am not slating C2D chips...I had a C2D before I got my Q9450...and again I am not saying you atre gonna get x2 the performance from a quad over a dual core....FAR FROM IT. The list is only a sample but I am sure there are tons more at this stage 8 mths later.

Source Web.
    Saturday, March 27, 2010

List of Quad Core optimized games.
    intel-quad-core-logo.jpg
    Note:It is important to note that these games offer a serious performance increase when upgrading to a quad core from a dual core,and not from a triple core.

Football Manager 2010 (unconfirmed)
    HAWX (confirmed)
    Battlefield Bad Company 2(confirmed)
    Supreme Commander(confirmed)
    Supreme Commander Forged Alliance(confirmed)
    Supreme Commander 2(confirmed)

Resident Evil 5 (confirmed)
    Prototype(confirmed)
    Grand Theft Auto IV(confirmed)
    Left 4 Dead(confirmed)
    Left 4 Dead 2(confirmed)
    Far Cry 2(confirmed)
    Dragon Age:Origins(confirmed)
    Flight Simulator x(confirmed)
    Devil May Cry 4(confirmed)
    Lost Planet(confirmed)
    Lost Planet 2(confirmed)
    Company of Heroes series(confirmed)
    World in Conflict(confirmed)
    Medal of Honor Airborne(confirmed)
    Call of Duty World at War(confirmed)
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2(unconfirmed)
    ARMA 2(confirmed)
    Stranglehold(confirmed)
    Empre Total War (patch 1.3)(unconfirmed)
    DIRT(unconfirmed)
    DIRT 2(confirmed)
    Brother in Arms: Hells Highway(confirmed)
    future Source Engine games(confirmed)
    future Unreal Engine 3 games(confirmed)
    Unreal Tournament 3(confirmed)
    GRID(confirmed)
    The Sims 3(confirmed)
    Anno 1404(confirmed)
    Batman Arkham Asylum(confirmed)
    Shattered horizon (confirmed)
    Red faction:Guerrilla (unconfirmed)
    Assassin's Creed 2(unconfirmed)
    Tomb Raider Underworld (unconfirmed)
    The Last Remnant(unconfirmed)
    Aliens vs Predators (unconfirmed)
    Operation Flashpoint 2:Dragon Rising (unconfirmed)
    Prince of Persia (unconfirmed)

Thing is wonda... you'll still get 60-100fps on any of those games with a decent C2D... hence.. whats the point in having a QC if theres no games that really need it to run well.

LOL....yeah in Black Ops you will, not in other games. I would love to see someone with a C2D get 100FPS in FSX...no way mate.....or Metro 2033.
    As I said I aint bashing C2D's here...they are a great chip and clock like FOOK.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Dirt 2... 70fps on a 2.8ghz core 2? Sound.

Metro 2033, 45fps on a quad core, 42fps on a core 2.

Do your maths Wonday Toy! :P GTAIV is probably the only game on the PC format that currently 100% utilizes 4 cores in a system. I've yet to find a game that doesn't, and I own well over 300 games

Interesting.....What setup are the above games running?

Batman Ark A:- Dual Core Min 63FPS/Ave 160FPS- Quad Min 90FPS Ave 184FPS.....Difference of 30FPS average.

Dragons Age:Origins is another game that hammers a C2D aswell have a read of this Cherry Trifle ;)

The multi-core optimizations Bioware integrated into the Eclipse Engine come into full effect: The Intel Q6600 is 75 percent faster than the E6600 (which runs at the same frequency) and the Q9650 beats the E8400 by about 70 percent. Furthermore Dragon age: Origins seems to be running smoother on a multi-core, too, and especially the streaming system seems to benefit. Even overclocked to 3.6 GHz the E8400 can't surpass the Q6600 while AMD's triple-core Phenom II X3 720 BE can do it..

I am not saying for one minute that a Quad core is x4 times faster then the, hell not even twice as fast....Alot of factors also come into play in regards to setup and the monitor size for the individual gamer.

I have 2 setups atm

My main:
    i7 860 @ 4ghz
    8GB DDR3
    GTX295

2nd:
    E7400
    2GB DDR2
    GTX295 (same card from the first machine, just have a bench setup)

FPS's are almost identical on the majority of games, just maybe a 10-30% increase on other games. Dragon Age I get about 80-100fps with i7, about 65-75 on the Core 2 :D

I do a lot of bench testing. Got some graphs at home if you're interested in looking at it

Graphs....I love graphs...I will be around tonite. Maybe a pie chart would be more easy on the eye....YOU GEEEEKKKKK!!!

pmsl.

Only pulling you leg, very nice PC's mate. Do you have any of them folding when not in use. I will have my current rig (Below) as backup early next year. Nothing will be ported to my new SANDYBRIDGE rig when released Q1 2011.

Cant wait to build a new rig again...been far to long.

Intel Quad Core Q9450@3.8Ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooled CPU
    Coolermaster Real Power 1000w
    Asus Maximus Formula 2 Mobo
    M.S.I ATi HD5970 OC Edition
    G Skill DDR2 1100 2x2GB
    Thermaltake KANDALF Balck Super Tower Case.
    2x74GB 10,000 RPM W/D Raptors.
    2xSamsung 1.5TB F1 10,000 RPM 32mb Cache
    W/D 1.5TB External HDD
    Creative Labs X-FI Xtreme Music Sound Card
    Creative Labs Gigaworks S750's 7.1 Surround Sound Speakers
    BenQ 24" TFT 1920x1200 with Perfect Motion Technology.

BTW,

Why 8GB of RAM....in the main rig. You do alot of Video Encoding or something?

The only games you'd notice a difference between getting 60 and 90 fps would be first person shooters and even at that getting 60fps constant is REALLY smooth.

I never said that C2D's are better, just that you dont really need a high end quad core processor unless you're using the PC for more than just playing normal games... At the moment anyway, im sure crysis 2 and **** will push even quad cores to their limits.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

maybe someone could help me here, I had a C2D and the game played fine. Some stuttering but nothing that affects my playing.

So I then bought a quadcore yesterday and now the game runs crap. Freezes after one game and gives me errors and blue screen (all the time). :(

Now I done many checks, temperatures are fine and cpu isnt maxing out, not even close.

Any one know whats going on?? Really wanna get playing again.

Well this is really not the place to get into this but as I see it you took out a C2D and just dropped in a quad and you expect it to be FINE!

You really need to update a few things before you do that mate. For a start you could very well need a bios update for your mobo and then intel drivers for the chip. You rig has been setup for a dual core and now you are running a quad. Did you have the other CPU overlocked, that clock will not try to be put into effect on your new CPU.

If it was me, anytime I make a major hardware change I reformat and start again (overkill maybe but best overall) that way problems can be sorted alot quicker.

Is it just this game or the PC in general?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I didnt just throw it in lol, my bro who builds pc's put it in and did all that stuff bar a reformat.

Its just COD thats acting up, reinstalled it, updated graphics drivers, installed directx 9 and still nothing from it.

Whats the speed of the Quad Core's compared to the Core 2? I bet you anything your Quad core per core is clocked slower. Black Ops doesn't optimize Quads... yet. The eejits at Treyarch don't have a clue what they're doing

Did you update the BIOS on the motherboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

I got back to BO last nite after a 2 week absence hoping that the few patches that were released would sort out my stutter. I first tried the MP and it was exactly the same as when I left it. Very bad stutter which seemed to get worse when i pulled the trigger or went ADS.
    Next I tried the SP and the game froze after reaching the first checkpoint.
    Just rage quitted then and am now going to head to the shops to get GT5.

Fup you Treyarch, ye baxtards!