Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fox hunting problem

• 22-11-2010 2:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31

hi all just started fox shooting 2 weeks ago ,,,

borrowed an electronic caller ,, have a lamp.

went out for the third night and no good i am all new to this so would appreciate any advice..

1.. we drive around and stop at the ditch
    2.. shine the lamp out to see if any foxes
    3.. get out if 1 spotted
    4.. turn on the caller
    5.. turn on the lamp

most of the time the fox just looks or does a runner
    also need advice on best weather conditions as i reckon the nighs were bright would this also effect ??? the local gun dealer gave me the caller he used it himself and he said it does the trick please help....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

best advise i can give is park up the wagon if u can and walk they get used to cars lampin what rifle u usin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

1. Ditch the car.

2. Work individual farms by foot.

3. Get to know the lay of the land.

4. Learn from all fox encounters, where's it come from, where's it gone/going to.

5. In the words of Elmer Fudd, "Be wery, wery quiet".

6. As you now know your land you now know the best "stands" to lamp from. Never on a hill if you can be seen against the sky, or against city/town/village lights.

7. Set up on a stand, shine around, if you see nothing, give a call and wait there no less than 20 minutes. Move to your next stand if nothing happens.

8. You've three options when you see a fox. In order of preference - Shoot it, move to where you can shoot it, call it in. If they turn and run they're either lamp shy, call shy or both. A lot of this comes from lazy drive by lampers.

Moon isn't as important as knowing what you're doing. I've shot six foxes this week, all on very bright nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

most of the time the fox just looks or does a runner

Your not the only one out lamping I'd say..
    If you have lamp shy foxes you have someone either taking poor shots or the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 shane_318is

thanks lads already know i was doing everything arseways

1. was making too much noise

2. was lamping from the top of the field against the sky

i hope my next night out will be sucessful only have the shotgun for the time being untill i get a rifle so will have to get em up close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

i hope my next night out will be sucessful only have the shotgun for the time being untill i get a rifle so will have to get em up close

Crawl before you can walk.
    Get used to the shotgun awhile in daylight by hitting birds and rabbits. From going out alot with lads with shotguns its few and far between that you'll stumble upon or get up close enough to get a shot at a fox. The foxes will always be there so just wait until you get your rifle. You dont want the fox(s) to get lamp shy either awhile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

The shotgun is well capable of dispatching Charlie within suitable ranges.

I and a lot of lads I know have shot a lot of foxes with shotguns :D

You need more skill & patience with the shottie :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Ah, shotgun. That's a different kettle of fish altogether I had thought ye were using a rifle.

This isn't good weather for shotgun lamping foxes. It's too bright seeing as you need to get close in. It's too calm, and there's also a touch of frost these nights, which I'm sure is a lot crunchier inland than it is with me.

Best to wait for the moon to go back a bit and for a windier nights. Still get out on foot. It's the only way to figure out the foxes paths through their territory. Again this gives you the advantage in information. You will be able to locate the best stands with the greatest chances of spotting and intercepting your fox.

Often on windy nights you can "stalk" the fox. But it really helps to know where he wants to be, where he's come from, and put yourself in between those two points on his path. Calling them with the shotgun can be trickier, as you have limited range they can often run right in at you then abruptly turn a hundred yards out to circle down wind of you so ALWAYS keep that in mind using a call.