Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it p.c. to be buying a new car?

• 21-11-2010 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

I ordered a new car for January in mid October. Obviously the country has deteriorated sharply since then. Now I'm wondering, what with all the hardship everyone is going to face, is it right to be driving around in a brand new motor? What do people think? Is it acceptable to cancel an order for a mid to late Jan delivery?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

No.

Very, very politically incorrect.

How very dare you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭turbobaby

sid40 wrote: »
    I ordered a new car for January in mid October. Obviously the country has deteriorated sharply since then. Now I'm wondering, what with all the hardship everyone is going to face, is it right to be driving around in a brand new motor? What do people think? Is it acceptable to cancel an order for a mid to late Jan delivery?

Waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Your supporting an industry...well done.

Contributing to the govts tax...VRT/ROAD TAX

prob will never buy a new car again after next election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

If you can afford it then I don't see the issue. I certainly can't afford to buy a new car, but I wont be throwing a brick at yours if I see you.

I find this begrudging attitude of people so pathetic, and have only encountered it to a serious extent here in Ireland.

Enjoy your new motor. Why should you care about how other people view how you spend your money?

Life is too short to care about people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Magown3

It's a free country, you can do as you like...

And stop worrying about what other people are thinging of you. If you want a new car, get one!!! Simples

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Do what you feel best, if you have worked your ass off and you can afford it then why not.

Good luck with it, I'm as jealous as hell :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Depending on the car/deposit, it's probably not too late to cancel, but I'd have to agree with this:
    Your supporting an industry...well done.

Contributing to the govts tax...VRT/ROAD TAX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Once it's not something horrible looking. People have suffered enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

completely unacceptable for you to be seen driving around in a brand new car.
    look, just give it to me altogether, im somewhat used to being a social pariah!!:P:P:p:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

oh yeah completely.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Why exactly buy a new one though? There's a glut of good value almost new 2nd handers around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭sid40

s-cogan wrote: »
    look, just give it to me altogether, im somewhat used to being a social pariah!!:P:P:p:p

Well I have to say your sense of humour eases my worries a bit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

Only if you're a FF TD

Defo not a FF TD...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Its your money not mine, for all I care you can buy a Bugatti Veyron and set fire to it (although it would be great waste of such a fine car :o).

There is alot of snobbery amongst Irish drivers, if you drive a BMW you are automatically some how a bad person, unable to drive, be overpaid, have a very small Penis and bad in bed, your wife may also be a "Trophy".

My advice go right ahead and do it, irregardless of what people think, I wouldn't buy a new car myself but that is because I am afraid of the economy. Once your not over stretching yourself financially then you have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

is it right to be driving around in a brand new motor?

It's fine, as long as it isn't a piece of shoite made in Korea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

KerranJast wrote: »
    Why exactly buy a new one though? There's a glut of good value almost new 2nd handers around.

Possibly because he may have a "second Hand" one already and would like a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

turbobaby wrote: »
    Waste of money.

buying a new car is one of the nicest wastes of money an individual can do

but each to their own

and, i dont bear a grudge with anyone who buys a new car, its just a stupid waste on metal that will dramatically lose its value over time

but shur fire away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Tell us what car it is and you'll have your answer in seconds as to whether you should cancel it or not. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Tell us what car it is and you'll have your answer in seconds as to whether you should cancel it or not. :)

what car is irrelevant

the only case would be a superlative car like a carrera gt or the like whose value would more than like go up over time

even cars like BMW which used to hold value quite well now can be got for huge chunks less than what the original owner paid

the wise motorist lets people like the OP take the initial hit

Well going from an 06 A4 1.8T to a 520d. I think the fact that it is a relatively big jump visually just gives off the wrong signal. I know most of the replies above say it shouldn't be a problem, it's my money and I can finance it but in small town Ireland (make that very small town) I just don't know. And yeah I know I shouldn't be worrying about what people think but it ain't that simple always. Anyway I'll have to think about it seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It perfectly fine and is good to support the industry if you can.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I'd donate it to the St Vincent De Paul...

but then again i am an incrediably nice guy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

its just a stupid waste on metal that will dramatically lose its value over time

Yes, you should invest the money instead, something nice and safe like Bank shares. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Wait until next year and then pick up a 1 year old 525d.

You'll have a better car and it'll still be 'second hand'.

Defo do it, you won't know yourself driving the new 520d. It's a gigantic leap from an '06 A4 1.8T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭locomo

s-cogan wrote: »

Many many people in Ireland would feel the people who can afford to spend 45 k on a new car in 2011 have not felt enough pain yet. The vast majority of people in the private , wealth producing sector certainly cannot afford new 45k cars anyway. Maybe if you are a top public servant like a politician, or a banker, or have earned the money, then go ahead and get it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

locomo wrote: »
    Many many people in Ireland would feel the people who can afford to spend 45 k on a new car in 2011 have not felt enough pain yet.

Many many people would prefer that you work really hard and give all of your income to taxes instead of buying a new car.
    In my opinion that's why we don't have a large entreprenurial enterprise in Ireland. Why take all that risk when you've got a queue of people willing to drag you down?

If you can afford a new car and you want one then buy it. People will be jealous, I would be, but if you've earned it then why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭r1_2010

There will always be begrudgers. The problem at the moment is people are not spending. People are too scared to spend a penny. At least you will have something nice and tangible to show for all your hard work.
    Enjoy and congratulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Go and buy your nice new car and enjoy it.

If you can afford it then fair play to you, you don't have to apologise for having some success in life.

Many many people in Ireland would feel the people who can afford to spend 45 k on a new car in 2011 have not felt enough pain yet. The vast majority of people in the private , wealth producing sector certainly cannot afford new 45k cars anyway. Maybe if you are a top public servant like a politician, or a banker, or have earned the money, then go ahead and get it.

Well in fairness if I was a politician or a banker I would defo not be buying a new car. Absolutely an awful lot of people can't afford that sort of money currently but I reckon there are a significant number who could on the other hand. I'm self employed and do work hard and I have experienced significant downturn in the business and will feel more pain in the upcoming year. However in funding a new car, I have saved and been prudent with money and can manage it. But your response is exactly why I asked the question in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Enjoy your new car, your money so do what you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

go for it, I did and am loving every minute of it..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

New 520d? Go for it. Or cancel and get the new 530d. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

At a premium of only €285 per horsepower - why wouldn't ya?

Good reason why not - 535d is now listed on the price list :D

Don't cancel it OP - screw the begrudgers (and look after the car, fancy a well looked after 520d in a few years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

I was reading down through the comments thinking "yes no one has told him to buy a 530" then I got to Voodoomelon's comment and it ruined everything!

Back to the PC question:

Why the f*ck do you care what other people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Nobodies business but your own if you want/own a new car.

Go for it.

As one of the many who has felt the pain, I think this sentiment is fairly obnoxious. Certainly I wouldn't let it influence my decision-making anyway...

Go for it op. You cant be worrying about what other people think.

The thing is if people who still have some money stop spending it (for what whatever reason), that would cause a circle where more people would lose jobs as no money would be spent in retail, pubs, motor industry etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

My parents ordered a new car today. Quite funny I thought considering its French built. They're already repaying Ireland's debt to France (and the others) before the ink's even dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

-Chris- wrote: »
    Defo do it, you won't know yourself driving the new 520d. It's a gigantic leap from an '06 A4 1.8T.
    I'd echo this.
    Go for it, the best time to buy is now! At 42.5k you can't afford not to get it! It was 57k with no leather seats in the old model and less bhp not 18 months ago!
    You'd be daft not to get it. In fact, it's very wrong of you to consider not contributing to the economy!

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I'd echo this.
    Go for it, the best time to buy is now! At 42.5k you can't afford not to get it! It was 57k with no leather seats in the old model and less bhp not 18 months ago!
    You'd be daft not to get it. In fact, it's very wrong of you to consider not contributing to the economy!

Well when you put it like that.... lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

-Chris- wrote: »
    As one of the many who has felt the pain, I think this sentiment is fairly obnoxious. Certainly I wouldn't let it influence my decision-making anyway...

Exactly, go for it.

And more importantly enjoy every minute of it. Who the hell cares what our begrudging nation thinks. I certainly wouldn't, I'd respect it above all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I am getting a new car in January 2011 and do not really worry about anyone else.

Part of the problem over the past few years is that people are too interested in what other people think and other peoples business.

Do what you can afford to do yourself.

When I changed the car in 2009, I got some smart comments from friends and neighbours (no recession in your house) and even strangers stuck up their fingers at me in the lane beside me driving down the naas road. A friend in work had their new car keyed all across the bonnet, like skates on ice.

Enjoy your new car but do be careful where you park it as there are some begrudgers out there.

Thanks to all for the comments, both for and against. Anyway I'm NOT going to cancel the order. Life's too short... Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

About two weeks before delivery, buy a €300 nissan micra, drive it around and let they local all chat about how poor sid40 must be going through a hard time, then arrive in your 2011 520. If your going to do it, do it right:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Senna wrote: »
    About two weeks before delivery, buy a €300 nissan micra, drive it around and let they local all chat about how poor sid40 must be going through a hard time, then arrive in your 2011 520. If your going to do it, do it right:D
    Exactly. And when they ask about why you're driving the Micra, tell them your company went wallop in the recession and it's all you can afford. Let that image seep out there, then arrive in the 520. When they ask what happened, tell them NAMA bailed you out so it's happy days again! Watch their blood boil! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭PattheMetaller

I was thinking of changing again in 2011 and had the same concerns as OP. Obviously there will be begrudgers, they were about even in the boom, but feck them. I'm going for it.

Enjoy your car OP and like a previous poster said, take care where you park, I know I will too!!!