Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a great day stalking

• 21-11-2010 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭

i had the pleasure of bringing out two lads for a stalk on Wednesday, gentelmanjim and his cousin. we decided to start the day off on the new permission that i had some luck on recently:).

so we started of threw some fields and it was not long before we saw a couple of doe's but the winded us so we soldiered on up the hill. before long eagle eyed gmj spotted a few more doe's a couple of fields away.

so we ranged them at 312y, no bother i thought this is what all the practice has bin for up on the mountain shooting silhouette's out to 550y has bin for. besides i didnt want them to wind us like the previous couple had. and there was a whole lot of mountain behind them for a back stop.

so with that i flipped down my by pod and lay prone on the ground, i clicked up 4 moa on the scope took aim for a high chest shot and let fly with the 150gr sst's.
    success it struck her good and dropped her on the spot. i was chuffed
    f2d5be94.jpg

that was one in the bag for me.
    on we went for some lunch then on to the next permission that usually has deer out during the day. we stalked in along the permission and i was getting worried that i wouldnt be able to produce some results for two good lads that had traveled a long way to shoot some deer for the larder.
    with that gmj's cousin spotted a couple of dark spotts moving around in a field a long way off, about 800y to be exact.
    great we were on for a good stalk. we worked our way threw some rough ground and down threw a deep gully that looked untouched apart from the track threw it that the deer used and now us.
    we ranged the deer again 450y, at this stage we could see about 12 deer grazing completely unaware of us. great we soldiered on. we got to a comfortable spot and watched the still unaware deer and picked out a good doe and a handy buck for us to take. doe was 149y and the buck was 208 yards. no problem for these two shooters.
    we got into position and took aim, i watched as both lads counted down and then fired, BANGGGG. SUCCESS GRESAT. all three of us had taken a deer for our larder and we had a great stalk.

pics of the other 2 deer are up loading i will post them asap
    c925489f.jpg

314c279b.jpg

thanks lads for a great day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

nice bit of stalking lads 3 deer for the table fair play homework pays off the steyr is a sexy bit of kit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I was out Thursday, Friday and sat, Oh dear, NO DEER :(

Well done Pio!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I was out Thursday, Friday and sat, Oh dear, NO DEER :(

Well done Pio!

i'v had many a day like that tack, i was delighted that we were able to get one each. it does not always work out that way.
    i forgot to mention it we got a monster dog fox as well;)

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    i'v had many a day like that tack, i was delighted that we were able to get one each. it does not always work out that way.
    i forgot to mention it we got a monster dog fox as well;)

I had a dog fox that would put many a greyhound to shame on Friday. All to be seen was a swish of a bushy tail shoot across the field.
    I would have tried one from the shoulder except the field was full of heifers.

I may revert back to two of my other stomping grounds.

The landowner tells me he has only seen one deer all year, which ties in with the amount of tracks. I'm concerned to where the others are as there used to be a herd of 10-15 in this spot split into a bachelor herd and a herd of does and fawns.

Perhaps the pheasant boys have scared them off as the place is crawling with phezzies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Good shootin lads, well done :D

johngalway wrote: »
    Good shootin lads, well done :D

this one is for you john. gmj's cosine got this lad just after i shot my deer
    ab548e03.jpg

Some better pics
    d3c2fd1f.jpg

Gentlemanjim's doe
    aedd8bd8.jpg

Paulo, I'll lend you a camera!

Those pics don't do you Justice!

get rid of that iphone!! ;)
    Get a good Nokia with a Zeiss Camera lense ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Nice work - was the fox the bonus ball??:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

this one is for you john. gmj's cosine got this lad just after i shot my deer
    ab548e03.jpg

Good vet, dab of superglue, he'd be back on his feet in no time. Not enough gun, that's the problem methinks :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Gentleman Jim with a styer in his hands:eek:
    It would of been a better pic if he had his remmy in it:)

Well done boys...

Nice long shot Paulo....That new scope is on the money...

Paulo, I'll lend you a camera!

Those pics don't do you Justice!

get rid of that iphone!! ;)
    Get a good Nokia with a Zeiss Camera lense ;)

cheeers tack the phone was in my pocket all day and the inside of the lens was all steamed up sorry. i have two other pics that gmj took on his phone that i will try and put up.

johngalway wrote: »
    Good vet, dab of superglue, he'd be back on his feet in no time. Not enough gun, that's the problem methinks :p

ya i know what you mean john, when we left him down he just lay there pretending to be shot. he's a was a sneaky one ;)
    dwighet wrote: »
    Gentleman Jim with a styer in his hands:eek:
    It would of been a better pic if he had his remmy in it:)

Well done boys...

Nice long shot Paulo....That new scope is on the money...

hi d, i know the pic i not to clear but it was his remmy in the pic. he wouldnt have it any other way

that scope is right on, and with the 150gr sst's its a deadly combination.
    i was practicing out to 770y with it the other day. 26.5moa
    i think i'm ready to ring your 800y gong :D

cheeers tack the phone was in my pocket all day and the inside of the lens was all steamed up sorry. i have two other pics that gmj took on his phone that i will try and put up.

ya i know what you mean john, when we left him down he just lay there pretending to be shot. he's a was a sneaky one ;)

hi d, i know the pic i not to clear but it was his remmy in the pic. he wouldnt have it any other way

that scope is right on, and with the 150gr sst's its a deadly combination.
    i was practicing out to 770y with it the other day. 26.5moa
    i think i'm ready to ring your 800y gong :D

the pic is the wee lad wit your rifle..unless you have shrunk in size and got ugly....

give me a shout and we can sort the long gong out mate...

havnt been out to strectch the legs for a while..

the pic is the wee lad wit your rifle..unless you have shrunk in size and got ugly....

give me a shout and we can sort the long gong out mate...

havnt been out to strectch the legs for a while..

dont worry d i'm still pretty.
    i'm down in killarney this week, let me know when your thinking about going out for a shot .;);)

dont worry d i'm still pretty.
    i'm down in killarney this week, let me know when your thinking about going out for a shot .;);)

thinking of heading to kerry this week end... give ya a shout later..
    not shootn with 4 guns though...that lad runs like forrest gump...:eek:

too old for that craic..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

thinking of heading to kerry this week end... give ya a shout later..
    not shootn with 4 guns though...that lad runs like forrest gump...:eek:

too old for that craic..

i thought aussies were tough :rolleyes:

4gun wrote: »
    i thought aussies were tough :rolleyes:

Were well tough...just not fit;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Well done Paulo good to hear your seeing plenty of animals and getting a few for the pot. Good to be able to dail in the range to get those long shots.

How did you manage to keep GJim from talking?? He must have learnt to keep it zipped at the HCap course. ;)

I'm getting a few myself now so the new lett is looking good for me (and others :rolleyes:) and it's near to home, better still.

clivej wrote: »
    Well done Paulo good to hear your seeing plenty of animals and getting a few for the pot. Good to be able to dail in the range to get those long shots.

How did you manage to keep GJim from talking?? He must have learnt to keep it zipped at the HCap course. ;)

I'm getting a few myself now so the new lett is looking good for me (and others :rolleyes:) and it's near to home, better still.

glad to hear your gettin some.....

gmj was on his best behavior :D