Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new AH Recession subforum?

• 21-11-2010 04:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭

AH has turned from being a good light-hearted forum to being one big massive conversation about the recession and politics. Here's a serious proposal. Why don't we create a new subforum within AH and simply call it Recession. It's a bit much when every single thread has some sort of politics or recession reference in it.

A new subforum? 39 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 39 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

AH has turned from being a good light-hearted forum to being one big massive conversation about the recession and politics. Here's a serious proposal. Why don't we create a new subforum within AH and simply call it Recession. It's a bit much when every single thread has some sort of politics or recession reference in it.

It'd be easier just to rename AH for the next 2 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

It's been talked about in a few threads. Don't think it's gonna happen at all, not a sub forum anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Do the Irish Economy and Political forum's not cover the recession on a serious enough level already?.

I enjoy the light hearted craic about it all here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Being discussed here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

where are ye going to get the funding for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Could we not just ban recession talk from AH, its getting depressing at this stage and it would be nice not to have to read about it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Do the Irish Economy and Political forum's not cover the recession on a serious enough level already?.

I'd hardly call it light hearted craic to be fair. Almost every thread on the first page of AH at the moment has some link to the recession. The Irish Economy and politics forum are places for serious debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'd hardly call it light hearted craic to be fair. Almost every thread on the first page of AH at the moment has some link to the recession. The Irish Economy and politics forum are places for serious debate.

A lot of people can't/won't seriously debate it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes, and I enjoy reading those other forum too.

But I also kick back and laugh in this forum too..

Up's and Downs, Smiles & Frowns my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

There should be a sub-forum called ' lets talk about not having recession threads in AH' seems there are more of these threads than anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Sitec wrote: »
    The next 15 years would be more like it.

I'm thinking 2 months. After that the only people still visiting AH will be the recession-proof few who can still afford internet/computers/food etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Heyes wrote: »
    Could we not just ban recession talk from AH, its getting depressing at this stage and it would be nice not to have to read about it all the time.

Which is your opinion and fair enough. But there's plenty who want to read about it too, AH has the knack of explaining things in an oft times entertaining way.
    Of course you don't have to click on any thread you dont want to

I can't stand all these dublin/culchie threads but dont want them banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

On the front page of AH there's 4 stickies, and 13 threads relating to politics/the recession/the state of the country/where to emigrate to (including the threads about how there's too many threads about it; without them there's 11).

There's 3 or 4 "general" AH-spirited threads.

13 recession threads.
    4 stickies.
    3 or 4 normal threads.

Seriously, to anyone who says "ah sure it's no harm, there's not that many"-- look again. There's more political threads than the stickies and "normal" threads combined! There's loads. It's consuming AH, and frankly, it sucks balls. Keep it to one mega-thread or a subforum or whatever you have to, but this is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There seems to be several different types of recession threads on the go in AH .The humorous ,sarcastic ,the piss taking and the angry .People obiously want to vent their opinions and release stress in different ways , as long as each doesn't overlap over onto another . The more in depth ones should rightly be kept to the politics forum .

Edit- many of course just want to avoid the whole issue like the plague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Yo Buddy. You still alive?

In essence AH is like pub talk. It is just the current wave of conversation.

Perhaps a toilet humor sub forum were people can discuss pubes and stuff would better suit some people. There can be polls galore too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

What could be worse than forced "light-heartedness" or forced happiness for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

YAY FORCED LIGHTHEARTEDNESS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Give it a few weeks and it'll go back to normal, just a few political threads a day. The IMF/EU thing is massive news, everybody is talking about it.

Normal service will resume shortly and we can start b*tching about religious, racist or sexist threads, whatever you are having yourself.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its just current affairs pub talk style and whats current now is the IMF/Budget issue. Come January, we'll be talking about something else when all the ruaille buaille about said IMF/Budget will die down.
    liah wrote:
    On the front page of AH there's 4 stickies, and 13 threads relating to politics/the recession/the state of the country/where to emigrate to (including the threads about how there's too many threads about it; without them there's 11).

Ignore the threads about the recession if you don't like them and start a humourous thread about something else instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

gurramok wrote: »
    Its just current affairs pub talk style and whats current now is the IMF/Budget issue. Come January, we'll be talking about something else when all the ruaille buaille about said IMF/Budget will die down.

Ignore the threads about the recession if you don't like them and start a humourous thread about something else instead.

Easy to say, not so easy to do, unless some kind of [POLITICS] or [RECESSION] or [IMF] or whatever else is added to the thread title. Today I've unknowingly clicked at least 3 different threads that ended up being about something to do with politics/recession/etc in the last hour.

Tag 'em, mega-thread 'em or subforum 'em.
    I'm not saying to ban them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

liah wrote: »
    Easy to say, not so easy to do, unless some kind of [POLITICS] or [RECESSION] or [IMF] or whatever else is added to the thread title. Today I've unknowingly clicked at least 3 different threads that ended up being about something to do with politics/recession/etc in the last hour.

You're around here long enough to know that there's trends in AH though Liah.
    This is huge huge news, the biggest in Ireland since the foundation of the state. People can't not talk about it.

Why I do agree that there's probably too many threads, a lot of people starting bs ones etc, you're just gonna have that in AH. Mega-threads can't be followed and I hate that idea. Wouldn't mind a sub-forum but it sounds like a lot of work for the mods/admins.

As with any discussion forum if you don't like the discussions you just have to try to start a better one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I gonna repeat something that I stated in anther thread - if only because I'm also getting sick of the new threads whining about other threads!
    Right, there is a couple of things that stick out for me...

1. We can't stick our heads in the sand for its not going away. I know we all know that.

2. People (the vast majority of them not boards.ie users also) are very worried about what's coming next, how it will effect them and what they should be doing to minimise the possible personal damage to them. To that effect many are talking about current issues - when in fact without having to admit they are worried about their own personal self, are looking desperately through chat to pick up answers/others advice.

3. To compound the problem of it being everywhere at home, now in the last weeks with talk of IMF/EU/whatever funding coming in, the international media has hyped up their interest and across Europe has put Ireland on the front of their newspapers daily - repeatedly day after day.
    For a lot of Irish folk that have had pride in their nation as they grew up with it, they see this with a sense of shame and humiliation.
    They (the vast majority) all their lives had paid their taxes, did their daily work toil and in their own way (despite the fools in government) had pride in their country.
    Now they see that stripped away and they feel powerless to stop it.

4. There are a number of things that keep me sane (well as sane as a daft bugger can be) and one of those things that does that job is the thought/reminding of one's self, that nothing lasts for ever.

We are riding on the crest of a wave at the moment in a number of ways.
    Be it in now constant maximum exposure in the media, in constant conversation chatter, in a high level of country humiliation for having to hand over some national governance to foreign heads and so painfully on and on...

...But I know this can't last for ever!
    Its that one thought that is keeping me (and others) from upping sticks and getting the hell out of our country that we love.
    (Hell, if we didn't love it so much, we wouldn't argue about it as passionately!)
    Sooner or later - probably later in our case, things will start to reach their peak, the crest of the wave we shall no longer be on - and I look forwards to that day.

In the meanwhile, we will still grumble, fight for our corner, belief and rights (be it for sheer example; medical care for wife and kids) and in all honesty - try to seek a correct balance between doing the right thing and accepting to fork out more in earnings in order to get our country back on an even keel ...and maintaining a decent semblance of keeping running our great public assistance systems (hospitals/fire service/Garda/etc).

5. Now just as regards threads on AH, in the past I have created a number of things political related myself.
    Since things has taken a major jump in scale, I've laid off doing so - and I'm not the only one I have noticed that has taken this action.
    While there still exists threads discussing the current situation (and rightly so) I have noted that many fellow members are now just joining in with other threads rather than start up too many of their own.
    Of course some days in AH there seems to be a flood of them (depending on events of the day or previous) but in general, I have now start to notice, things are calming slightly on the whole.
    (The mods have helped this too by combining certain threads)

So here too the wave that is seemingly at its peak - will fall eventually.

We have no choice too really in this matter. We can grit our teeth, grumble sometimes and ride out the wave - or we can up sticks and walk away, even for a while from the likes of AH.

They are possibly the only two choices that we do have power over presently.
    Speaking for myself, I'm keeping my head down, posting into other threads but not worsening the situation by creating more.
    I think a lot of other posters here too have come to the same conclusion.

All we can do (if we staying) is ride out the present wave because of something that we love.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056095414

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

You are witnessing the political and economic awakening of your generation.

P.S. the party is over. Like SO ova!

Heyes wrote: »

Banning recession threads and posts from After Hours would likely either have the current mods worked off their feet or require additional mods to be taken on to clean it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

liah wrote: »

I know Firefox lets you get a small preview of the first couple of lines of a thread, without opening it. You just hover over the thread on the main AH page and a small pop up comes up with the preview. Not sure about other browsers, I think Chrome does it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Which is your opinion and fair enough. But there's plenty who want to read about it too, AH has the knack of explaining things in an oft times entertaining way.
    Of course you don't have to click on any thread you dont want to

I can't stand all these dublin/culchie threads but dont want them banned

True, but its nearly in every thread, perhaps a sub forum in ah would be good, as it would then prevent it been in every single thread.