Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIANNA FAIL. PLEASE JUST RESIGN......

• 21-11-2010 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭

Enough said.

[MOD]Actually, not nearly enough said for an OP.[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

You need to ring/e-mail your local FF TD and tell them this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Do people actually want the government to resign before the Budget and during negotiations with the IMF/EU? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

As I said on the other thread they'll be out of power within the year.

Edit: Eh Politics forum much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Right now, a general election isn't what we need. We need Ff to put the budget through and finalise the deal with the IMF. A general election can come in a few months but, to me, this isn't the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

gizmo wrote: »
    Do people actually want the government to resign before the Budget and during negotiations with the IMF/EU? :o

yes why not! As if they care about the best deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TheShield

I actually felt sorry for Brian Lenihan on RTE Radio today.

It's as if he has to break the news when the other waister Cowen protects himself while dragging everyone else down and blaming them sits by no doubt with a drink!

Cowen is a national disgrace and deserves what ever abuse he gets!!!!!

maxxie wrote: »
    yes why not! As if they care about the best deal
    Because a GE now would stall the current efforts to begin dealing with the situation and that should not be allowed to happen.

And yes, of course they want the best deal out of this, thinking to the contrary is just silly.

I reckon there'll be an election in the first quarter of 2011 and that's when they can be gotten rid of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I dont feel the slightest twinge of pity for these lying traitors.

They will not suffer in the same way a family with small kids and a mortgage will.

They may be voted out, but they have three pensions and corporate directorship to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

You'd have to have a certain degree of respect for Lenihan in that he's going through all of this whilst battling a serious illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Bob_Latchford

Not really, he is well enough to do the job or is sick and should not be at work.

He should not be sick in work at such a time but maybe he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strathspey

cson wrote: »
    You'd have to have a certain degree of respect for Lenihan in that he's going through all of this whilst battling a serious illness.

Personally, I wish the cancer would kill him off before he creates any more damage to the country!

[MOD]Banned for a month. PeterIanStaker banned for a week for the Thanks.[/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

No. None at all.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

I did respect him (compared to others in FF he seems OK. I reserved my hatred for Cowen. Ahern. Haughey. Dempsey. Roche. Cooper-Flynn. Healy-Rae. Gormley. PJ O'Mara. Coughlan. O'Keefe. ) but having just read his statement abut the loan/bailout/dig out application I think I retract my respect.

He says the minimim wage has to be 'looked at'!

Does he actually believe that the level of minimum wage has caused this problem?
    The problems were caused by reckless banking practises, govt co-operation with property developers, lack of financial sector oversight or regulation, overpaid elected officials, overpaid senior civil servants, hugely bloated public sector bueracracy, explosion of qaungos over the last 10 yeas, overpaid bankers pocketing bonuses while over inflating propertiy values to increase the personal debt levels of the nation.

Deal with the larger problems then look at the minimum wages. They may need to be lowered, but not before a cap on TD/senior Civil servant salaries/bonuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

how can one have respect for a person for whom LIES are all that he utters.

Tenger wrote: »
    He says the minimim wage has to be 'looked at'!
    He said it needed to be looked at because it had increased beyond the rate of inflation and is also one of the highest in Europe, something a country in our position cannot afford to maintain. Nothing really debatable there to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

YES!!! We don't need/want these incompetent so and sos representing us any more, why can't people understand this?

bleg wrote: »
    YES!!! We don't need/want these incompetent so and sos representing us any more, why can't people understand this?
    For the logical reasons I outlined above. Glancing through other posts here it seems the majority agree thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Maserati23

I was in marketing up until 8 years ago.

I have a pancreas problem because of the stress of running so many companies.

Yes I am on disability now... I am currently wearing morphine patches.. probably like Mr. Lenihan.

No ... nobody can function properly with the amount of drugs required to keep the "PAIN" at bay.

I very rarely post or start a thread here, If you would like to peruse my posts go ahead. You will see I dont lie.... but find it hard to concentate because of medication.

Long and short of this thread was to get Media attention .... lets see what happens.

May I finish off by saying that Pancreatitis is the second most painful disease around. Also I beleive Mr. Lenihan was not up to the job in the first place, coupled with Cowen/ FF not succumbing to reality.

Yes Enough said.

They will announce an election days after budget. ( you may Pillary me for being so wrong and make this a heading )which I am sure will not come to pass!!

PS .. Had to through in a Mr.Brian L paragraph at the end to cover myself ^:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

RichardAnd wrote: »
    Right now, a general election isn't what we need. We need Ff to put the budget through and finalise the deal with the IMF. A general election can come in a few months but, to me, this isn't the time.

And why wasn't it the time a few months ago? I cant seem to recall you caling for an election then? And what will happen if in a few months something else emerges from the closet and again it becomes 'not the time for an election'. FF should announce an election for February, they should try and pass the budget with an agreement that if it passes, no party can campaign on reversing the cuts. We need a bloody end date for this shower of incompetents so they cant keep ****ing things up and putting the election off. It seems that there is never a good time for an election when your country is circling the drain, but the lack of an election and a fresh mandate is multiplying our woes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Maserati23

A taste:D of my meds>>>>>>>>> Transtec patches 35 micrograms buprenorphine.........and wait for it cymbalta :D 30 mg and 60 mg tabs I.E. 90 mgs per day.

Morphine + Cymbalta 90 mg per day.

Cymbalta tabs main ingrediants.. Ecstasy and Cocaine. Google it

Does that smell of Reality to you..

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

He said it needed to be looked at because it had increased beyond the rate of inflation and is also one of the highest in Europe, something a country in our position cannot afford to maintain. Nothing really debatable there to be honest.

Our min wage level of 8.65 is the 2nd highest in Europe. This is not sustainable. So Yes I do think it should be looked at.

HOWEVER I do think there are issues with a far larger impact on the financial situation of our country than the lowest pay level. So I am off the opinion that mentioning the Min Wage level seems to hint that as we expected the 'everyday taxpayer/citizen' will take the pain for the follys of a proveleged elite who may well get through the next 10 years fine. Why not mention 'looking at capping salary levels of top earning civil servants? Why not mention reducing TDs expenses and allowances? Why not mention imposing strict monitoring of all banking practises?

Tenger wrote: »
    Our min wage level of 8.65 is the 2nd highest in Europe. This is not sustainable. So Yes I do think it should be looked at.

HOWEVER I do think there are issues with a far larger impact on the financial situation of our country than the lowest pay level. So I am off the opinion that mentioning the Min Wage level seems to hint that as we expected the 'everyday taxpayer/citizen' will take the pain for the follys of a proveleged elite who may well get through the next 10 years fine. Why not mention 'looking at capping salary levels of top earning civil servants? Why not mention reducing TDs expenses and allowances? Why not mention imposing strict monitoring of all banking practises?
    The point being, everything is being looked at in the search for the €6b worth of cuts and minimum wage is one of the most obvious areas.

With regards the other points, a reduction of TDs wages et al was mentioned in the papers this morning. Public service pay, it seems it won't be touched due to the agreements already in place. The reform of the banking system is almost guaranteed to go hand-in-hand with the funding from the EU. Public service pay in general will most certainly need to be looked at in the future and should be tied to the rates of other countries, not our own private sector as was done so foolishly in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭bipedalhumanoid

FF are having a laugh at this stage. They show a complete disregard for democracy by dragging out their term for as long as they can when it is very clear that the people don't want them in power.

Those suggesting they should hang around until the budget is released need to consider the fact that any budget put out by these people has NO MANDATE from the people of Ireland.

In fact, not only is there no mandate but this government is too weak to put out a fair and balanced budget. They have the greens and independents blocking them at every turn. Ireland desperately needs an Election and we need it NOW.

Each party can present their budget options and then put it to a vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭freewheeler

RichardAnd wrote: »
    So we are to trust these incompetent goons to negotiate our nations foreseeable future???

TheShield wrote: »
    I actually felt sorry for Brian Lenihan on RTE Radio today.

It's as if he has to break the news when the other waister Cowen protects himself while dragging everyone else down and blaming them sits by no doubt with a drink!

Cowen is a national disgrace and deserves what ever abuse he gets!!!!!
    Agree about Cowen..not about Lenihan..he is an integral part of the problem and only looks even half decent when compared to our great 'leader':rolleyes:

Ehhh NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Maserati23 wrote: »
    A taste:D of my meds>>>>>>>>> Transtec patches 35 micrograms buprenorphine.........and wait for it cymbalta :D 30 mg and 60 mg tabs I.E. 90 mgs per day.

Morphine + Cymbalta 90 mg per day.

Cymbalta tabs main ingrediants.. Ecstasy and Cocaine. Google it

Does that smell of Reality to you..

Cymbalta is duloxetine, not ecstasy or cocaine. It's not a painkiller, it's an antidepressant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

No, you wouldn't.

If he's able for the job, he should do it.
    If he's not, then he shouldn't.

Most of his almost universally crap decisions have had nothing to do with his illness.

The Taoiseach's wage is also one of the highest in Europe but I haven't heard him say a word about fixing that problem, have you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The Taoiseach's wage is also one of the highest in Europe but I haven't heard him say a word about fixing that problem, have you ?

Of Course not! Liam, please stop making such ridiculous suggestions when we are discussing such a serious matter of the state finances.

Wrong Taoiseach, methinks.....Cowen is paid from "the state finances"; it was his predecessor that wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

At this stage now, FF might even find it hard to field candidates. Cowen would want to have some neck to stand before the people again in Laois-Offaly. Ditto to each member of the cabinet. No-one in their right mind would want to stand for FF in this or any future election.

I would encourage and advise anyone who is now a member of FF at cumann level to write to their branch confirming their resignation, Why would you take the undoubted abuse and threats from the electorate, when your party has no future? If the leaders won't ditch the party, then time for the party to ditch FF.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Wrath

Facebook Group, Growing fast please support -

Brian Cowen Please Resign - http://on.fb.me/9PFmL0 Join and please Spread the word #bailout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

strathspey wrote: »
    Personally, I wish the cancer would kill him off before he creates any more damage to the country!

[MOD]Banned for a month. PeterIanStaker banned for a week for the Thanks.[/MOD]

right while the outlook is bad. whats gone on in the past, present and the future is quiet frankly crap. i would like to think we are all human beings here.
    i think brian lenihan has shown alot of courage throughtout the last year what with his illiness and facing up to the economy and the banks alot more so that what mr cowan is and would do
    i think this quote is very disrecpectful thing to say lenihan has a family like alot of cancer suffers in this country ive known of family and friends who have cancer . i hope he gets a full bill of health and whatever comes in the future for him and the country the it works for everybody in this country. it will be a tough few years but we will come of it eventually.

cazzak79 wrote: »
    i think brian lenihan has shown alot of courage throughtout the last year what with his illiness and facing up to the economy and the banks

For the last time. His illness is irrelevant, and no-one should raise the subject - supporters OR detractors.

His massacre of the economy is not related to his illness in any shape or form.

He made these choices.

Until such time as someone finds a link between cancer and delusion, incompetence and denial there is absolutely no reason for ANYONE to raise the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I would encourage and advise anyone who is now a member of FF at cumann level to write to their branch confirming their resignation, Why would you take the undoubted abuse and threats from the electorate, when your party has no future? If the leaders won't ditch the party, then time for the party to ditch FF.......
    It would be very easy to do so, and we've been given reason...but then they would have nobody to send the resignation to.:p

Anyhow...what has happened is a massive massive **** up and there's no denying it, but the government IS focussed on resolving it. It's not that people aren't entitled to disagree with how, but governments get mandates at General elections and one isn't due until 2012 at the latest, if it comes sooner so be it, I'll be ready for it and I'll take the abuse, because when compared to the policies of opposition, continuing on a course that is painful and is costing more than expected is better than the other options.

FG - Burn the bondholders in laymans terms:
    Me - "Hey bank manager, I owe you €10k, I'm not going to pay that back, but I'm looking for €20k for this other thing I've got going"

Bank Manager - "Go **** yourself"

Labour
    We only want to cut €4.5bn, but if Fianna Fáil and the Greens make €6bn cuts we won't undo them if we get elected in the new year. What that really equates to is Labour saying it doesn't have the stomach to do the necessary.

Fianna Fáil
    ****ed up, but at least is being rational in seeing that cuts are necessary. Need to outline how the cuts are going to happen and give people certainty.

Realistically, I've knocked on over 100 doors in Donegal this weekend, and the lack of certainty is the thing that angers people more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

cazzak79 wrote: »
    i think brian lenihan has shown alot of courage throughtout the last year what with his illiness and facing up to the economy and the banks alot more so that what mr cowan is and would do

So should we give him a pat on the back and say 'there there, sher wern't you not feeling the best anyhow' instead?

His health has nothing to do with the piss poor job he did as a minister for finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

So should we give him a pat on the back and say 'there there, sher wern't you not feeling the best anyhow' instead?

His health has nothing to do with the piss poor job he did as a minister for finance.

i agree just think the wording kill brian lenihan would be offensive to him and his family

ninty9er wrote: »
    It would be very easy to do so, and we've been given reason...but then they would have nobody to send the resignation to.:p

Anyhow...what has happened is a massive massive **** up and there's no denying it, but the government IS focussed on resolving it. It's not that people aren't entitled to disagree with how, but governments get mandates at General elections and one isn't due until 2012 at the latest, if it comes sooner so be it, I'll be ready for it and I'll take the abuse, because when compared to the policies of opposition, continuing on a course that is painful and is costing more than expected is better than the other options.

Me - "Hey bank manager, I owe you €10k, I'm not going to pay that back, but I'm looking for €20k for this other thing I've got going"

Labour
    We only want to cut €4.5bn, but if Fianna Fáil and the Greens make €6bn cuts we won't undo them if we get elected in the new year. What that really equates to is Labour saying it doesn't have the stomach to do the necessary.

Fianna Fáil
    ****ed up, but at least is being rational in seeing that cuts are necessary. Need to outline how the cuts are going to happen and give people certainty.

Realistically, I've knocked on over 100 doors in Donegal this weekend, and the lack of certainty is the thing that angers people more.

Don't come near my door. I have a hurl ready.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Don't come near my door. I have a hurl ready.......

I know who you'll be voting for so :rolleyes:

Y'see that's where FF always go wrong.....making assumptions that they know best what the people of Ireland want.

If Stroke Politics has sensibly and patriotically decided that any FF canvassers should be run off their property, there are still plenty of options as to who they might vote for.

Basically (in relation to who he/she will be voting for) you - like your party in general about how to run a country - haven't a clue, and the above response is the typical bluster from FF when cornered and caught out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Labour

Fianna Fáil

Realistically, I've knocked on over 100 doors in Donegal this weekend, and the lack of certainty is the thing that angers people more.[/QUOTE]

How many poor auld ones in their 60s or above have you managed to brainwash on the doorsteps so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭bipedalhumanoid

****ing clueless is how I'd describe most of the commentry here. :mad:

You could start by having a clue about fractional reserve banking. Go and google that and you might begin to have a clue why we are in the position we are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Actually on a professional level i would like to have them face the music and hang on into the next buget...

We are traveling though the traffic at the moment dont want them to jump ship and leave us freewheeling..

This would really screw us up internationally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Labour

Fianna Fáil

Another pathetically simplistic response from FF's fanboy. I have no time for the opposition, but it was not under their watch that the IMF took charge. Say what you like, this FF administration (note I am not saying that FF has been a historic failure) has failed us, and deserve to be punished at the ballot box.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Y'see that's where FF always go wrong.....making assumptions that they know best what the people of Ireland want.

If Stroke Politics has sensibly and patriotically decided that any FF canvassers should be run off their property, there are still plenty of options as to who they might vote for.

Basically (in relation to who he/she will be voting for) you - like your party in general about how to run a country - haven't a clue, and the above response is the typical bluster from FF when cornered and caught out.

Careful now. You might be asked to sit in the thinking chair for suggesting that people are not welcome or allowed on your property. Sure, it's all the IMF/FF's property now, isn't it......