Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weird question

• 20-11-2010 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭

kind of a weird question dont know if this is the right section or not....

i was out shooting today. crossing my neighbors field and seen something under a cover. went over to look at it and it was a car.. now i recognized it a my neighbour's nieces car. its a fairly new car but it is on uk plates. now she is driving around in a cheap car but she was driving around this one on the uk plates for a good few months... now i cant figure out why it would be parked in a field under a cover... the only thing i can think of is an insurance claim.... any one got any ideas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

sean1141 wrote: »

i was out shooting today. crossing my neighbors field and seen something under a cover. went over to look at it and it was a car.. now i recognized it a my neighbour's nieces car. its a fairly new car but it is on uk plates. now she is driving around in a cheap car but she was driving around this one on the uk plates for a good few months... now i cant figure out why it would be parked in a field under a cover... the only thing i can think of is an insurance claim.... any one got any ideas??
    STOP BEING SHERLOCK HOLMES.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

but its bugging the crap out of me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

probably got caught running it and was too expensive to pay the VRT on it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

'cause she aint paid the VRT maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

but its bugging the crap out of me lol
    Investigate who fcuked up the country and point that shooting gun of yours at the entire fianna fail party.:D

probably got caught running it and was too expensive to pay the VRT on it....
    'cause she aint paid the VRT maybe?
    vrt would only be about 1200. car she is driving now would be worth more than that
    PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Investigate who fcuked up the country and point that shooting gun of yours at the entire fianna fail party.:D
    waste of bullets!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

nosey fcuking cnut:rolleyes:

thanks!!! i do try!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

maybe it had some form of catastrophic failure that was stupidly expensive to fix

but why park it in a field under a cover?? why not leave it at the back of his house or in his farm yard?? the car would be about worth 7000 euro.. there is no pannel damage.. the car she has now would be about 2000 to buy...
    her uncle live next to me in the country side but she is from a large town about 60 mile away. the car is in a long lane parked in a gate way in the middle of two fields under a cover with the number plates taped over. it would have to have been towed in with a tractor or 4x4 as the land is very wet. it would be hidden from most people but there is another mans land next to these fields where the car is and it can be seen from them.. it could have been hidden better but then again if it was something simple why go to all this trouble. her uncle has a big farm yard with load of places to leave it..... it looks very suspicious but my neighbour wouldnt be the kind of lad to be mixed up in anything illegal (i think)...
    its really bugging me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Report it to the cops,if it's an insurance fiddle you and me are paying for it,if its a car involved in a hit and run or any other kind of illegal pu then you know the rest yourself.

wouldnt think it was a hit and run.... no damage done to the car... dont think they would ne the kind of people to be involved in anything illegal either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I dont think they would ne the kind of people to be involved in anything illegal either

That's what they want you to think... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

:)The most unlikely of people are neck deep in illegal things.

Hope you work it out anyways.

guess so!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Without staring the obvious...ask em? Strange place to put a car alright!

i will.. i just want to hear other peoples thoughts on it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

i will.. i just want to hear other peoples thoughts on it....

Well nobody here is going to know anything about it to be honest...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Report it to the cops,if it's an insurance fiddle you and me are paying for it,if its a car involved in a hit and run or any other kind of illegal pu then you know the rest yourself.
    ffs.....is this what the country has come to? Mind your own buisness ! They can do what ever they like with the car. Remember, it's not your car.

im not asking if anyone knows anything about it. im asking peoples opinions of why it would be there... or what would make someone hide a perfectly good car under a cover out in a field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If you want opinions as to why it is there then it sounds to me like it is stolen. No other reason to be acting so shady with it to be honest.

but she had been driving it for ages. i cant see it been stolen and stashed on her uncles land. plus its not coming up as stolen on motor check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Of course not but he's just asking for our thoughts about it.
    So that lets speculation come into it, not hard facts which we could never know.

Me, I have no idea why they would be doing that other then summet shifty. Even at that I dont know what that could be aside from it being stolen. Insurance pops into my head. Could it have been a money pit so they get some sort of stolen claim on it and get a more reliable car with the dosh?
    My mind isnt great at workin these sort of things out.

i done a check on the plates and its not coming up as stolen or anything... thats what i thought at first...

The only way it will show up as stolen is if a guard runs a check for you in their system or you pay for a motorcheck and the car has actually been reported as stolen to motorcheck (they do not have access to the garda stolen car register).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

On the face of I doubt its to avoid paying VRT as a few people have suggested as such. As long the car is kept on private land I would imagine one is not compelled to pay VRT, right? I stand to be corrected in saying that though. Then again maybe the people storing it in the field don't know this if such is the case or, are overly cautious. Also if their yard is anything like my own uncles farmyard with machinery flying around the place chances are the car would get a wallop at some stage so hence why they may have choose to drop it in the field.

OP I reckon if you are talking to farmer or owner it may be no harm to tell them they should start the car from time to time as leaving a car engine idle for months on end like that may not be a fantastic idea. They may well know this already though

ya i guess i could ask the local guard to run the reg for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

Check the boot! Could be a body in there!!

there would be loads of place to leave it around his farm.. if it was me i wouldnt like leaving it somewhere where it could be broken into or damaged or the lovely 18'' alloys thats on it be stolen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Probably a dead body in the boot.

DonalN wrote: »
    Check the boot! Could be a body in there!!
    its locked lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

And Nosy Neighbour of The Year award goes to *drumroll please*....... SEAN1141!!!!

And the most helpfull post of the year goes to

not you anyway!!:eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

ya this sounds real dodge. what kind of car is it? give us a rough idea.lol..its definitely not parked there just to keep it out of the way..

And the most helpfull post of the year goes to

not you anyway!!:eek::rolleyes:

What do you want people to say? You are being a nosey neighbour! :p

Youve been given several scenarios as to why it might be there like that; broken down, avoiding VRT, stolen etc. The only way youre going to know for definate why it is there like that is to ask your neighbour!

For all we know its a time machine from the future and your neighbour is hiding it there until they can come up with an alternative to plutonium to power the flux capacitors so that they can get home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Jesus Christ lads all the consipiracy theories around here.

To me its obvious.

She was obviously caught for VRT and now the car is parked up until the new year when the VRT will be cheaper.

Hardly anything dodgey when it was driven around for months.

I would also say mind your own business, snooping around looking under covers on other peoples land.. ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

dutchcat wrote: »
    nosey fcuking cnut:rolleyes:
    Banned for a month for repeated personal abuse.

Carson10 wrote: »
    ya this sounds real dodge. what kind of car is it? give us a rough idea.lol..its definitely not parked there just to keep it out of the way..
    sri astra
    djimi wrote: »
    What do you want people to say? You are being a nosey neighbour! :p
    i know lol but i dont think anyone here could honestly say they would not of had a peek.. if it was under a cover in his farm yard or at his house it wouldnt cost me a second thought!!
    Youve been given several scenarios as to why it might be there like that; broken down, avoiding VRT, stolen etc.
    and i thought of all these things myself but it dont make sence to leave it there if broken down or avoiding vrt... stolen maybe but its not hidden enough if she was claiming it was stolen and claiming off insurance. its visiable from the lane way where a few lads would be passing going shooting. plus there are a few other land enterances on the lane way but this fellows enterance is the last one.... any of these could easly report it to the guards
    For all we know its a time machine from the future and your neighbour is hiding it there until they can come up with an alternative to plutonium to power the flux capacitors so that they can get home...
    its a vauxhall!!! i dont think so :D:p
    PaulKK wrote: »
    Jesus Christ lads all the consipiracy theories around here.

To me its obvious.

She was obviously caught for VRT and now the car is parked up until the new year when the VRT will be cheaper.

Hardly anything dodgey when it was driven around for months.
    if she was caught for vrt would they not take it off her??
    I would also say mind your own business, snooping around looking under covers on other peoples land.. ffs.
    can you honestly say if you seen a car in the middle of a field you wouldnt take a look at it..... if so fair fecks to ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Put a few rounds in it.. sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

can you honestly say if you seen a car in the middle of a field you wouldnt take a look at it..... if so fair fecks to ya!!

Yes I can honestly say I would not look.

1) Its on someone elses private land.
    2) It is covered over.
    3) Its none of your business.

Reasons it is not suspicious IMO:

1) The car was driven around already.
    2) You have already stated that you have done a check on it!!
    3) It is near the end of the year - VRT will be cheaper in 2011.

What is it with people in this country, people have no privacy anymore, small town mentality, you can't piss without everyone knowing about it.

Of course loads of posters here jumping to the conclusion that something dodgey is going on, ever hear of benefit of the doubt? :rolleyes:

OP just forget about it, I don't think its any of your business what the owner of the car is doing, its on private land and not being driven.

2) It is covered over.
    3) Its none of your business.
    Thats your opinion...Fair enough I can accept that.
    Reasons it is not suspicious IMO:

1) The car was driven around already.
    Thats whats bugging me.. Why not stay driving it be it on uk plates or just pay the vtr
    2) You have already stated that you have done a check on it!!
    Only weird thing coming up on the check is the date of last sale.. Im sure she was driving it before and after this date
    3) It is near the end of the year - VRT will be cheaper in 2011.
    vrt on the same car but a year older would only be 140 euro more than it is now... I dont think it would be worth the hassle
    What is it with people in this country, people have no privacy anymore, small town mentality, you can't piss without everyone knowing about it..
    I think the biggest problem in this country is that we did not ask enough questions.. now the country is on its knees.. if people were not going around with thir heads up their arses we might not be half as bad off...
    Of course loads of posters here jumping to the conclusion that something dodgey is going on, ever hear of benefit of the doubt? :rolleyes:
    Of course I have heard of the benefit of the boubt... but would you park 7grands worth of a car in the middle of a field under a crap cover for any normal reason??
    OP just forget about it, I don't think its any of your business what the owner of the car is doing, its on private land and not being driven.
    It was just bugging me. I came on here to hear peoples thoughts on it... posted on a few other forums also.. Have to say the answers i got here have to have been the most strange for lack of a better word...
    Something more important will come up and it will soon be gone from my mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

2) It is covered over.

FFS :rolleyes:

If I see a covered car in an underground car park, If it isn't obvious what it is & I can easily lift a corner, I'll always have a cheeky peek.
    It's usually something well kept/rare/a thing of beauty. I'll replace the cover exactly as I found it and continue on my way, generally a happier person for seeing something that's brightened my day, no harm to the owner or car.

If I came across a covered car in a remote field, it's going to be looked at.