Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People in cars giving me the finger!

• 20-11-2010 6:08pm

I was walking through the town a week or two ago and the next minute I heard a passing car blowing it's horn really loudly and continuously. I looked and as it passed me all I could see was someone's hand and the v sign. I thought it a little odd but just today the same thing happened. I crossed a busy road and next minute from behind me I heard a car slamming on it's horn. Conscious of the previous experience I kept my head down and didn't look to give them the satisfaction. However when I raised my head and looked straight ahead and saw that miles down the road ahead of me I could see a hand sticking out of the passenger side with their finger extended.

I'm just wondering if this has happened to anybody else? Either I'm extremely offensive to drivers or I'm guessing this is some kind of prank that's popular at the moment? I don't know what to make of it really. Some people have odd senses of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Are you emo, goth, ginger, or suffer from any other affliction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Give them a thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Is that you larry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

They didn't happen to shout 'Bus ****' at the same time did they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I was walking through the town a week or two ago and the next minute I

snip/

don't know what to make of it really. Some people have odd sense of humors.

The Spell Czechs are everywhere.

Pookah wrote: »
    Are you emo, goth, ginger, or suffer from any other affliction?
    Nope!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I was walking through the town a week or two ago and the next minute I heard a passing car blowing it's horn really loudly and continuously. I looked and as it passed me all I could see was someone's hand and the v sign. I thought it a little odd but just today the same thing happened. I crossed a busy road and next minute from behind me I heard a car slamming on it's horn. Conscious of the previous experience I kept my head down and didn't look to give them the satisfaction. However when I raised my head and looked straight ahead and saw that miles down the road ahead of me I could see a hand sticking out of the passenger side with their finger extended.

I'm just wondering if this has happened to anybody else? Either I'm extremely offensive to drivers or I'm guessing this is some kind of prank that's popular at the moment? I don't know what to make of it really. Some people have odd sense of humors.

No wonder they are giving you the fingers!
    Mr Cowen, please return to Dublin from your Donegal jaunt and get back to talking to the people for three days, you even denied even ye were talking to! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

....................../´¯/)
    ....................,/¯../
    .................../..../
    ............./´¯/'...'/´¯/`
    ........../'/.../..../....././¨¯\
    ........('(...´...´....¯~ /' . ..')
    .........\.................'...../
    ..........\.................../
    ............\..............(
    ..............\.............\..

Print this out and stick it to your back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I'm just wondering if this has happened to anybody else? Either I'm extremely offensive to drivers or I'm guessing this is some kind of prank that's popular at the moment? I don't know what to make of it really. Some people have odd sense of humors.

We've decided as a nation to bully someone to feel better about ourselves. We drew a name at random, unlucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Is it your 'All Drivers are W ankers' T-shirt, perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

Some people are just fúcking idiots when they're out driving. Cruising up the M50 feeling like fúcking Biggie Smalls in their Micras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

Xavi6 wrote: »
    They didn't happen to shout 'Bus ****' at the same time did they?

Only Inbetweeners fans will get that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Just laugh at them the next time. Fooking hate drivers who are the big man while driving away. Dont feed into the muppetry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Do you look like Sean Fitzpatrick by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

AntiRip wrote: »
    Only Inbetweeners fans will get that ;)

Would be funnier if the vid played outside upside down land!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Some people are just fúcking idiots when they're out driving. Cruising up the M50 feeling like fúcking Biggie Smalls in their Micras.
    maybe you're on to something here..
    OP, pro tip : Don't go for a walk on motorways :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

Terry wrote: »
    ....................../´¯/)
    ....................,/¯../
    .................../..../
    ............./´¯/'...'/´¯/`
    ........../'/.../..../....././¨¯\
    ........('(...´...´....¯~ /' . ..')
    .........\.................'...../
    ..........\.................../
    ............\..............(
    ..............\.............\..

Print this out and stick it to your back.
    Great idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

V for Vendetta sign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You were so close to getting fingered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Someone threw an egg at me from a car a few months ago. They missed, I threw a bag of sh1t at the car. I didn't miss. The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Boys in cars just beep and whistle at me.

Sometimes its hard to be a woman :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's happened to me a few times. The last time was a couple of months ago. Someone beeped while driving past me. I then saw an extremely ugly red faced child aged about twelve sitting in the back seat shouting something incoherent and sticking his finger up.

I can just imagine the converstation in the car - "Hey son, when I beep the horn stick your finger up at that man. Good lad".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Absurdum wrote: »
    Someone threw an egg at me from a car a few months ago. They missed, I threw a bag of sh1t at the car. I didn't miss. The end.
    So you carry **** with you when casually walking around? maybe that's why the egg was thrown?

shblob wrote: »
    So you carry **** with you when casually walking around? maybe that's why the egg was thrown?

next time you step in dog ****, you'll wish there were more good men like me around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

so you were just carrying around a bag of ****...interesting

ShadowGal wrote: »
    so you were just carrying around a bag of ****...interesting

you never know when you might need to go on a dirty protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

You happened to have one on ya?:rolleyes:

jaysus I already said I was after cleaning up after my dog

and ladies please stop PMing me with propositions for scat-related activities :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

.. you mean there's people operating these "cars"? so thats where all the people are!

or.. 90% at least? they'd be hard pushed to get noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I usually give people I know very well the middle finger,as I drive by them ,with a big gawping smile.
    They usually laugh to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

I bet it was that schlippy fecker the viper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

I do that to hewers that try to cut in from the bus lane at the last minute.

If I see someone trying to pull a fast one and fly up on the inside and get in, I extend my arm and give them the middle finger while not letting them in.