Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

box/drum mags on rifles - cool or uncool

• 20-11-2010 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭

I tried one and I liked it.

Are they considered uncool or cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

replica support weapons - cool
    assault rifles/smg/dmr/pistols - uncool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I had a drum on my RPK and I hated it, I would have liked a few drums in pouches that held say 500 rounds, but no such thing exists.

I only use mids now because reloading is fun, looks cool, and lots of mags on a vest looks cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭cobra 08

I my opinion there are only meant for support weapons and when you lads on site with then on a M4 or so you here other lads giving them stick all day;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

<head explodes>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

who care's what anybody else thinks? if you like it and it works for you, go for it :cool:
    just because you have a 5000 rd drum mag clipped to your gun does not mean you have to shoot 200 rds in one go

i made a drum mag for my FAL,,,, now thats cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

FAL drum mag- cool.
    RPG/249- Cool.
    Otherwise GTFO

Leftyflip wrote: »
    RPG/Cool.

i like it,,,,,,,,,,, a drum mag fed shoulder launched rocket launcher :cool:

Does my MGL count as that? Since airsoft RPG's and MGL's both use 40mm shells...

thermo wrote: »
    i like it,,,,,,,,,,, a drum mag fed shoulder launched rocket launcher :cool:
    Ooops meant rpk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

I was thinking it would be good for using an m4 in a support weapon with a bipod ect.

<exploded parts of head explode again>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

IMO, they are ok for an MG36, XMG8, H-bar AUG, L86. Only drum mags though, no boxes. Maybe too if you are doing the AR-15 LMG variant made by Colt Canada but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

NakedDex wrote: »
    <exploded parts of head explode again>

Woohoo stubby killer support gun.

*starts mopping up dex's brian pieces to reduce the mess*

andy_g wrote: »

*starts mopping up dex's brain pieces to reduce the mess*
    Finally! A job that suits you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

Mod a shotgun to take an m249 mag and you are my god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Mod a shotgun to take an m249 mag and you are my god.

Talk to flashingbluelite (keith) aka one of the shotty twins.

He has modded an m14 hi-cap for his shotty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Daz1214

Arkslippy wrote: »

Are they considered uncool or cool.

IMO as uncool as high caps :D

andy_g wrote: »
    Talk to flashingbluelite (keith) aka one of the shotty twins.

He has modded an m14 hi-cap for his shotty

I saw his one :) pretty cool,but a box mag, undead, shotgun, monstrosity, eh.. thing,, would look even cooler :p Yeah i dont think i'd actually ever watn one really, more of a fantasy, like buying a Barett :pac:

Daz1214 wrote: »
    IMO as uncool as high caps :D

Do highcaps become cool if you have i dunno say , at least four of them?? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Cool or uncool? Completely perceptive - what is cool? Is it visually pleasing? Is it functional? Is it the realism? Is it the middleground of all the aforementioned? All of the above, and none of the above, are true. Cool is for you, the user, to decide. Not for us.

Personally speaking, I prefer midcaps. I do not like anything more on standard DMR/Assault Rifles, or SMG's. Box mags on dedicated support guns & bob's your uncle! Otherwise, I can't say I'd be a fan. But as I said, tis your choice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Cool on the bigger guns, They really intimidate people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

*Waits for Shane to get online and tell everyone what a box magazine really is*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Arkslippy wrote: »

carry on so !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Dread-Lock wrote: »
    *Waits for Shane to get online and tell everyone what a box magazine really is*

ill do that :D
    this is a drum mag [Beta C-Mag]
    C7M1420.jpg

these are box mags
    800pxm1m14m16magazines.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

Inari wrote: »
    Cool or uncool? Completely perceptive - what is cool? Is it visually pleasing? Is it functional?

Defining cool??? - VERY UNCOOL, in fact that is JAmes May style uncool!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

Personally myself I think box mags on an rifle are just wrong an epic fail, It's like those lads you see with a Nissan micra with an exhaust that you could launch a vertically challenged circus performer from ..... no it's just wrong ha ha next we'll have go faster stripes painted down the sides :D

all in jest lads :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

If we do some statistic work from the previous 100 threads on the issue I think we will find something along the lines off
      Boxmags wreck the buzz when used on anything other then a support gun. Do what you like, but dont expect everyone to like you doing it. If you are playing skirmishes with a boxmag on anything other then a support gun, your not developing your player skills and will be mediocre If you are playing skirmishes with a boxmag on anything other then a support gun, your probably wrecking the game for other players The game is about realism, teamwork, developing player skill and enjoyment. Boxmags on assault rifles is one step closer to paintball

Something along those lines anyway ...

I'm not in favour of them, everyone knows my reasons, but they don't cause that much damage in milsim anyway so I guess it doesn't directly affect my enjoyment of the game.

Actual proper support gunners, theres a whole other ballgame,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

I used to own a CMag, it was hilarious, the magazine couldn't keep up with an 8.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Stephen-mx3

who cares?!

It depends on how you game. If you're out for fun, a bit of a laugh, not taking things too seriously, then go for it! If you want to be realistic, follow real world rules, then don't. (Even though in real world, box mags are used on assault rifles by certain spec-ops)

But as Nick said, it depends on what kind of style you play

Personally I'm past the stage of caring if other people giggle at my setup. I left school a few years ago. I rock high-caps only because I prefer a bit more movement then a drum mag would allow

I haven't decided what to do on it yet, i just thought like you said it might be a bit of fun, the one I tried is just a simple winding one like a large hicap in a box, no motors or the like.

I have a few hicaps and style wise I'm definitely not a sprayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Stephen-mx3

Then go with it. It's how the person plays, not what they play with

To an extent, yes. There's also a massive element of simple fairness involved to other players too. It's incredibly hard to defend, attack or play in any way against someone with a short assault rifle/smg and a 3000 round magazine. Your average airsoft player will take about 600-1000 rounds into a game across all of their magazines. At least with high capacity magazines, there are still the moments where the mag needs to be wound or swapped out. With a ultra-high capacity magazines, you suffer none of the drawbacks which balance out the advantages of such capacity against the disadvantages of the platform it was designed for.

I'll give you an example. Back when airsoft was still new in this country, when every player had each others number because there were so few, when there were no shops, only one site and none of the ridiculous politics of late, I bought a C-Mag. I'm not proud of it, but it was either that, or wait six weeks for the now defunct Airsoft Warehouse in the UK to get G36 magazines back in stock.
    So I duly loaded the bulky, ugly double-drum magazine into my finessed piece of German engineering. Now, none of you reading this can confirm this story, because none of you were skirmishing back then, but this is what happened, and what swore me - and everyone else there that day - off such magazines forever.
    Old, old HRTA-1 was mainly indoor in it's infancy. During one of the games, it fell upon me to protect the two objectives in the room behind me. There was one entry point. I stood in the open firing long bursts at random at the entry point for 20 minutes. Nothing could pass without being hit. I, alone, held off a ten-man team without taking cover, changing position or even using both hands.
    Did it work? Sure, I won the game. Was it fun or fair? Hell no. It was a waste of 20 minutes and, had I not known the lads pretty well, would have pissed everyone off.

Airsoft is about having fun, but it's about everyone having fun. Not just the guy with the biggest gun. You can play just as well with high/mid/low/real capacity magazines, and your play will be more appreciated for it. If you find mid-capacity magazines aren't enough, try high capacity ones. If you're using STANAG style magazines, and a high capacity magazine still isn't enough, there's even a longer version of same that holds 150 more than a regular one.

As someone who has tried exactly what you're thinking, I assure you, it's not as great as it sounds and it's counter productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Very much with Dex on this one, as much as there is a case for " aslong as you like it and are having the craic who cares"

Well there is alot of people who care, because in truth, drum mags and cmags on assault rifles is fun only for the wielder

And **** for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Harveey

Nothing worse than someone with a stubby, a lipo and a box mag. Seriously runs game's in my opinion, countless times I've had a great spot defending a base, I'd be picking people off with short bursts or single shots and you get one lad who just holds the trigger non-stop to get you!:mad: Or even through bushes aswell, encountered it many times where after 2 or 3 mins non stop firing you get hit because of that boxmag :mad:

Ok stupid question here but....... Is there mags on the market, that look like drum mags but are in fact mid caps. That is to say they are loaded with a speed loader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Nope.

It seems everywhere that plays airsoft wants hi-caps and electro winding shite.

You could make one, but its hard to get the case itself without the shitty autowinding internals upping the price.

I'd love some drum mid-caps for milsim.

Nope. I actually checked that out before. Nearest I could get to real-cap support was throwing a mid-cap STANAG into my M249 for a 100 round simulation. Turned out to be fantastic craic. Running your mag dry on a support gun under direct assault is somehow far more unsettling than with any other gun.

The one I saw had a winder on the bottom like high cap and would fire about 150 rounds provided you kept trigger pulled. then it would need winding like a hicap.

I suppose you could just fill with your mid or lowcap allowance and use it from there. battery winder are just feckin lazy.