Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has the World Gone Mad?

• 20-11-2010 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭

I have two friends both older than myself. One has a 16 nearly 17 year old son and he recently got a tattoo and the other has a 13 year old daughter who today, got her bellybutton pierced!
    Has the world gone mad or have teenagers there days just got way more freedom than we had back in the day?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My adult nappy has cheeky love hearts on it. I'm down with the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Poor parenting has always existed. I wouldn't want to judge anyone based on just what you quoted, but I think that most parents under the age of 40 think that being a good parent means saying 'yes' to whatever their kids want. If your kids are not complaining about you half the time, you are probably not doing it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'm tellin ye now, Joe, the young ones Joe, if ye did that in my day it was off to the Magdalene Laundry wit ye, and ye thanked 'em for it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

and neither of those parents are even allowed beat their kids for doing those kinds of things anymore, what has the world come to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

i only turned 18 and have two tattoos..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I'm not saying there's anything wrong with having tattoos and piercings but I think those two are just too young, espically the 13 year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Biggins wrote: »
    The Daily Mail says a lot. Doesn't actually make sense much though :rolleyes:

Daddio wrote: »
    The Daily Mail says a lot. Doesn't actually make sense much though :rolleyes:
    It wanders but its sadly an indication of what teens are doing and allowed get away with - at too young an age to begin with.

True. But still though, I'm just waiting for The Daily Mail to write a shock horror story about The Daily Mail itself.

ALARMIST REPORTERS FRIGHTEN ELDERLY MAN

Thanks for that, but you'd wonder how true is it? The Daily Mail is just a tabloid paper

StereoLove wrote: »
    Thanks for that, but you'd wonder how true is it? The Daily Mail is just a tabloid paper
    Agreed.

The question arises as the first OP post indicates; does today's teens have it too easy or get away with too much too early?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Got my first tattoo at 16 and had my ear pierced at 13. On both occasions my parents didnt have a clue until it was done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

You have to wonder what sort of a tattoo artist would tattoo an under 18 year old. I know at least one who won't allow under 18 on the premises. He has even turned away business when he thinks adults are rushing into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

One has a 16 nearly 17 year old son and he recently got a tattoo

If it's not a tramp stamp, I wouldn't worry.

Agreed.

The question arises as the first OP post indicates; does today's teens have it too easy or get away with too much too early?
    I know when I was growing up in a then-rural village (now a suburb of the Dublin conurbation though) the most trouble we got into was during the long summers was climbing some farmer's tree or something. Same village these days: idiot teenagers playing squash with a football and a bus shelter on the busy main street, while drinking a few cans of whatever beer is on special offer in the local off-license.

Not quite sure what changed - maybe rapid and ill-though-out urbanisation?

You have to wonder what sort of a tattoo artist would tattoo an under 18 year old. I know at least one who won't allow under 18 on the premises. He has even turned away business when he thinks adults are rushing into it.
    Fair play to him, sounds like someone who thinks just beyond himself and just profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

lol the world IS gone mad!

Teenagers these days! Stuck up little bolloxes, caring about their education, planning for their 'futures' :rolleyes: whinging about emigration, studying for exams,:eek:, dismally failing to get on drugs, remaining un-pregnant and STD-free. I don't know what the world has come to. :mad:

There was none of this nonsense in my day I tell ya. We did it right! I fondly remember my first school disco; staggering around drunk and pregnant while riddled with syphilis and aids while having wild sex with some farm animals on smack, and that was just first year.

*sighs nostalgically*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Every generation thinks that theirs was somehow better behaved than those that followed, and I'm almost sure that the whole idea is complete nonsense.

Our grandparents said the same about our parents, and our parents probably say the same thing about us, and now we begin to repeat the cycle.

Let's see, the previous generation:

for the most part tolerated and funded the Catholic church child abuse ring;
    elected greedy and corrupt politicians;
    messed up the environment;
    packed innocent girls and boys off to a lifetime of abuse in state-sponsored institutions; and
    contains the bankers that bankrupted the country.

If the worst teenagers get up to is get tattoos or sneak a few cans then I think I'll forgive them for it when those condemning their 'outrageous' behaviour are the generation who've ensured that said teenagers most likely have no future on this island.

*is not a teenager*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I have two friends both older than myself. One has a 16 nearly 17 year old son and he recently got a tattoo and the other has a 13 year old daughter who today, got her bellybutton pierced!
    Has the world gone mad or have teenagers there days just got way more freedom than we had back in the day?

Also what's inherently wrong about tattoos or piercings? If I had kids, I'd be more concerned about the hygiene in the tattoo parlour rather than them actually getting a tattoo. Granted, if my son or daughter wanted to do something stupid like have HATE tattooed on their forehead I'd put a stop to it, but otherwise I really don't see the problem here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Also what's inherently wrong about tattoos or piercings? If I had kids, I'd be more concerned about the hygiene in the tattoo parlour rather than them actually getting a tattoo. Granted, if my son or daughter wanted to do something stupid like have HATE tattooed on their forehead I'd put a stop to it, but otherwise I really don't see the problem here.

Dunno, I never liked tattoos at all.

Always think there's something dodgy about people who have them.

I wouldn't like it if any of my kids got them when they get older.

Then again, I'm a bit of an old fogey about a lot of things really.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

...remaining un-pregnant and STD-free.

Here's a boring little fact, STD's have actually been steadiily on the rise in Ireland for the last decade. There has also been a 27% increase in the number of newly reported HIV cases amongst the hetrosexual population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Here's a boring little fact, STD's have actually been steadiily on the rise in Ireland for the last decade. There has also been a 27% increase in the number of newly reported HIV cases amongst the hetrosexual population.

thanks, my work here is done! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Here's a boring little fact, STD's have actually been steadiily on the rise in Ireland for the last decade.

Babies:

The worst kind of STD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,676 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

They grow up so fast these days. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

OP, if the biggest problem you have with teenagers is that you've seen a couple with tattoos and one has a belly-button piercing, you live a grand life.

So stop bloody complaining OR come back when one of them has killed your pet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Ooooh short answer "yes" with an "if", long answer "no" with a "but"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭SquirrelFace

Darn kids!
    Sure having your bellybutton pierced is as good as selling heroin to orphans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Darn kids!
    Sure having your bellybutton pierced is as good as selling heroin to orphans!

Or leaving Snow-Blow on the door-step of the Orphanage!

I didn't say that there was anything wrong with tattoos, I'm just simply saying that he's a bit too young to get a tattoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...of hysterical shite....

Not as bad as a TEENS ARE HAVING SEX!!!!!!!!!!!!!! job in the Sindo a while back though.