Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Didnt Cowan Give A State of he Nation Address This Week?

• 20-11-2010 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭

Surely this was one of the most appropiate times in our history for a Taoiseach to give a State of The Nation Address. Yet Cowen seems to blindly go on from day to day without thinking of his duties as leader of this country.

The TV programmes this week were completely bereft of the senior ministers. Instead all we got was sean Power, Pat Carey, Dick Roche and an occasional brief interview with Brian Lenihan.

Does Cowen not realise that he is digging an even bigger hole for himself with every day that goes by that he doesnt propery address the people.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

Too much of a coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A speech from the dock would be more appropriate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

kev9100 wrote: »
    Too much of a coward.

Nope, he was busy canvassing in Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

he's like a rabbit caught in the headlights of a car, he's too stupid and frightened to know what to do and has run out usual clap trap nonsense cliches, making a grand statement would heve been the intelligent and statemanlike thing to do!, clearly too much for our esteemed taoiseach:D, about to go down in history as a complete liar and disaster and bufoon:P

I doubt he cares. Past actions have shown that they have absolutely no respect for the people, and feel no responsibility for the situation. They probably figure this is all about them, and we shouldn't be bothering them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

Too much of a coward.

Exactly what I was going to post before I opened this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

It could be part of a negotiating strategy. He's been maintaining a position that Ireland is not in immediate need of a bailout and indeed on RTE as late as Thursday evening it was reported that he was saying that Ireland was not even in discussions over a bailout. This stance would make sense if it is Europe putting pressure on Ireland rather than the other way round.

Don't get me wrong: he will still have to go after all this but I would still give him credit if he's negotiating strongly for the benefit of Ireland rather than sycophantically toadying up to his opposite party.

I don't know whether any of this is the case; I'm just suggesting it as a possibility. It is also possible that he doesn't want to face the public. We will find out soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I think it was a calculated decision rather than an oversight.

The first time he admitted Ireland would need IMF help, it was at the T2 opening and it was no more than a side utterance.

If he had gone on TV and announced that the IMF were in Dublin, it might be enough to wake up all the oblivious Irish people.
    As it stands, an awful lot of people are still utterly clueless as to the catastrophe that Fianna Fail have waltzed the country into.
    It won't be until December 7th that people start to have some notion.

As it is, 1 in 5 people in Donegal are still prepared to vote for Fianna Fail.
    That's like 1 in 5 Irish voting for Cromwell after he has torn the country asunder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Bambi wrote: »
    A speech from the dock would be more appropriate

Preferably the gallows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Sure why would he? We all know the state the nation is in! We dont need him comin on telling us! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

As crazy as it sounds ,I believe fianna fail actually blame the people of Ireland for the mess the country is in. They hold us responsible for their need to be in power.

I don't want to know what Brian Cowen or anyone else in Fianna fail gets up to anymore ,they can do it in their own time from now on.
    When Fianna fail are gone ,it will be one less ball and chain tying down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

My guess is that they're trying to keep him out of the way because he's an unmitigated PR disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Too much of a coward.

Plus, what does he care what the Irish people think? They are not the people he has been working for for the last 10 years, are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

"Why Didnt Cowan Give A State of he Nation Address This Week?"

I would have thought it was because he hasn't the faintest idea what state the nation is in.....

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    That's like 1 in 5 Irish voting for Cromwell after he has torn the country asunder.
    Yeah, but their parents voted from Cromwell, and their grandparents voted for Cromwell - it's a tradition.

Besides, the Irish who are resisting the English invasion are just as bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    I think it was a calculated decision rather than an oversight.

The first time he admitted Ireland would need IMF help, it was at the T2 opening and it was no more than a side utterance.

If he had gone on TV and announced that the IMF were in Dublin, it might be enough to wake up all the oblivious Irish people.
    As it stands, an awful lot of people are still utterly clueless as to the catastrophe that Fianna Fail have waltzed the country into.
    It won't be until December 7th that people start to have some notion.

This is a fair point.

From a "circling the wagons" point of view it is far better to allow a drip-drip of half baked media coverage to reach the people then a clear and unambiguious statement of defeat.

He has never made a "State of the Nation" address. Any address he has made has been from behind a FF podium. He has no ability to reach out the to the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Because he is Brian Cowan .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

The precedents are not good.

I remember Haughey's "living beyond our means" speech.

That didn't work out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

i am old enough to have suffered from mac the knifes budget, if this one is as bad or worse then people are going to SUFFER, as in badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

flutered wrote: »
    i am old enough to have suffered from mac the knifes budget, if this one is as bad or worse then people are going to SUFFER, as in badly.

Ray MacSharry has already said the current situation is worse than what he was faced with in his day:
    He says the present situation is worse than the one he faced in Charles Haughey's government.
    "People are angry. They were led to believe that things were not as bad as they have turned out to be. Now that they know the truth, action can be taken."

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/mac-the-knife-reveals-where-hed-make-spending-cuts-2368746.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Would anybody believe a single word he said, if he did address the nation at this stage?

drBill wrote: »
    Would anybody believe a single word he said, if he did address the nation at this stage?
    Yes, apparently the 18% or so of morons who would still vote Fianna Fail. They probably still simultaneously believe that the IMF are here and they are not here. If the Fianna Failure hierarchy told them to eat $h!t, the only sound you'd hear would be 'yum yum'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Het-Field wrote: »
    This is a fair point.

From a "circling the wagons" point of view it is far better to allow a drip-drip of half baked media coverage to reach the people then a clear and unambiguious statement of defeat.

He has never made a "State of the Nation" address. Any address he has made has been from behind a FF podium. He has no ability to reach out the to the public.

You mean that he doesn't give a **** about "the public" - he's an FFer, they look after their members, then their voters, then their potential voters.