Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some advice for Ireland

• 18-11-2010 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

"NoteToEire" is a lovely man or woman from America who has decided we could benefit from their wisdom-
    I have set up this small youtube channel up to warn the irish people of there possible future.

Multiculturalism just dose not work , every area i have lived in since i was a child were people like me were not in the majority i have been attacked because of my skin color.

My experience:

There will be organizations set up by immigrants that will seem "anti-racist" they will be every were calling everything you do racist. In most cases they are black or Asian supremacists calling everyone who wants to slow down immigration racist.

"Only whites are racist"
    - NCCAN an Anti-racist group

Dont let ireland become like America please to god , you will wake up.

Good luck from america.

Seems to be some strong anti-immigrant sentiment expressed on youtube with reference to Ireland.

I hope to God the far right doesn't rear its ugly head in the coming years. Some lads tried to "recruit" me to some new right wing party or something not so long ago (i'm a skinhead,which they mistook for a racist.)Absolute morons, 3 o clock in the morning and five of them cornered me interrogating me over my views. They didn't like when I said i had gay,jewish and black friends. Managed to talk my way out of it thank ****.

Yer man above with the youtube chanel is obviously inarticulate and plain stupid,but i'm afraid the recession might be a cause of catalyst for racial tension,whch i've already seen.

If yer honest,do ye think this sort of nonsense will take hold on poeple ye know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The moron american probably didnt realise all the immigrants have left by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

People will join different groups or follow different beliefs. It's not a bad thing until they try to force their opinions on eveyone else.
    If we were all the same the world would be very dull. I just don't like the extremists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

least. of. worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

A Google search for NCCAN and "Only whites are racist" brings up only one result - that guy's youtube video.

Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

The Irish are racist enough to their own people anyway without outside help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

Saila wrote: »
    least. of. worries.

Maybe for some, but racism will be a major concern in the coming months.

As social welfare is tightened, many may find an outlet in minority groups-that they are somehow are responsible for the economic downfall and feel they should be entitled to welfare payments over those they feel aren't ''truly'' Irish. This leaves the door open for national socialism etc. Of course dressed up in middle class virtues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

BickNarry wrote: »
    Maybe for some, but racism will be a major concern in the coming months.

As social welfare is tightened, many may find an outlet in minority groups-that they are somehow are responsible for the economic downfall and feel they should be entitled to welfare payments over those they feel aren't ''truly'' Irish. This leaves the door open for national socialism etc. Of course dressed up in middle class virtues

So the PD's are coming back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Punctuation nightmare. Hurts my eyes to read it. Though not the only reason why I jump to the conclusion that the youtube poster is an idiot.

Yer man above with the youtube chanel is obviously inarticulate and plain stupid,but i'm afraid the recession might be a cause of catalyst for racial tension,whch i've already seen.
    In that case, maybe you were better off not posting that video here. It only spreads this type of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Johro wrote: »
    In that case, maybe you were better off not posting that video here. It only spreads this type of crap.

I would hazard a guess that that is exactly why it was posted here. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

The racial divide in the US is unreal & is a major reason why I'd have no interest in living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

Johro wrote: »

Can't disagree.

It just made me wonder to what extent do people really see the possibility of racism becoming prominent in Irish society and will this affect political reform adversely.

Perhaps Politics would have been a better area to post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Cant see it happening. Some of our lefties have guns.

Can't disagree.

It just made me wonder to what extent do people really see the possibility of racism becoming prominent in Irish society and will this affect political reform adversely.

Perhaps Politics would have been a better area to post.
    Maybe.. You'll always get the usual suspects who'd agree with the youtube poster, they can be found everywhere. I think they're a minority. I don't think multiculturalism is a problem, or immigrants.
    People do like to lay blame though, and it seems to me it's mostly the uneducated ones who blame immigrant workers.
    Politicians do try to gauge the mood of the public and legislate accordingly, but that has a lot more to do with attracting votes than voicing their own opinions, and deflecting blame away from government.
    Immigrant workers didn't cause the financial crisis, and I haven't come across any shouting 'racist' at people who weren't.
    I've come across plenty 'I'm not a racist, but..' people though..

The media doesn't help. You only ever see the bad news. There are lots of people out there doing great things, working together to better their environment, setting up help centres and voluntary bodies, anti-racist campaigns etc. But they're not newsworthy. News has to have conflict to excite the viewer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Multiculturalism never works, and that includes Irish emigrants.

You get the few who do integrate, but the vast majority seek out their own.
    If you move to a foreign country, then you adopt their traits. Don't like it? GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

An American who reckons "multiculturalism doesnt work" ?
    FAIL !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

Right Wing politics has a history of rearing its head in recession times. Just look at when the seeds of Nazism were sown in Germany, during a depression, when people had lost hope.
    I even recall the British right wing group in Europe all wearing Irish jerseys when we voted no to Lisbon treaty some time back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Terry wrote: »

If you move to a foreign country, then you adopt their traits. Don't like it? GTFO.

*makes sure this is AH*

I agree, I've been pissed every day since I moved here 11 years ago...

...hic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    An American who reckons "multiculturalism doesnt work" ?

true, it's all apple pie and holding hands there, isn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Terry wrote: »

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Le sigh. Happily surprised to see that vast majority of posts on this thread aren't along the same lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

The racial divide in the US is unreal & is a major reason why I'd have no interest in living there.

Have been all over the states and haven't noticed any huge racial divide. Have been there on work even, whites, latinos, blacks, jews etc. all working with each other in jobs.

My cousin in New York has mainly black friends and he's white.

My grandfather was seeing a Jewish lady a few years ago...

I don't get why so many people seem to think America is particularly racist, I know there are extremist groups, mostly down south but they are in a minority. Everybody thought Obama would be shot within a week of his presidency and he hasn't been.

The only places I've heard of being overly racist are the likes of some African countries and Australia. As in heard that from friends who have been there, not just going on popular belief.