Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power to create 500 Jobs

• 17-11-2010 10:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭

More good news on the job front. Great news, though I expect someone in AH will find something wrong with it.:p
    Paddy Power to create 500 jobs

Irish Times Latest News
    Bookmaker Paddy Power is to create 500 jobs at its Irish operations, it was announced today.

Some 375 of the positions will be in the company's international online business, located in Tallaght, in e-commerce, technology, quantitative research, online marketing and risk management.

Once the new positions have been filled, Paddy Power will employ a total of 2,120 people here.

Minister for Enterprise Trade and Innovation, Batt O'Keeffe TD described the investment a significant employment boost for west Dublin and for the country.

"The new high-end jobs align well with the Government's policy focus on driving new levels of innovation and skills across the labour force so that we can achieve sustainable employment growth as our economy recovers," he said.

"Paddy Power's rapid international expansion has direct revenue benefits for the Irish Exchequer and, as overseas markets deregulate, growth prospects are strong for the firm's online business. The Government's overriding priority is the protection and creation of jobs and we will continue to shape a pro-business policy environment that allows innovative firms, such as Paddy Power, to grow and generate jobs."

The jobs are part of a company-wide expansion. Paddy Power is also recruiting in the UK, where it is adding 810 jobs, and a further 130 positions in Australia.

The new jobs will be filled by December 2013.

Paddy Power also announced interim results for the period between July 1st and November 15th 2010. The group's retail, online and telephone channels serving Irish customers performed broadly in line with expectations, it said. However, the group noted Irish economic conditions have become more challenging.

Paddy Power said it expects to grow underlying diluted earnings per share by 35 per cent to 40 per cent in 2010.

http://news.ie.msn.com/business/article.aspx?cp-documentid=155274087

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

More good news on the job front. Great news, though I expect someone in AH will find something wrong with it.:p

http://news.ie.msn.com/business/article.aspx?cp-documentid=155274087
    The jobs wont come on stream for 3 years, thats whats wrong with it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

More good news in After Hours, what's the odds of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

They are currently looking for 15 developers. That is a hell of a lot of devs and apparently the market is very short of good developers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Potentially excellent news but it will be seen whether all the jobs actually matierialise or if this is just a great piece of politics by a smart company in order to make sure the government don't double the gambling tax.

Batt O'Keefe was invited out there today to make the announcement and it seems like a smart, cynical piece of business to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Max Power1 wrote: »
    The jobs wont come on stream for 3 years,

Wanna bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

The bad thing about it (well, you did issue a challenge) is that if they are opening more shops it means that there are more desperate people trying to win the Santa money or the mortgage money on the gee-gees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

yey for the gambling industry

seriously??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭bestleftfull3

get me to austrailia il take one of them 130 jobs :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

The bad thing about it (well, you did issue a challenge) is that if they are opening more shops it means that there are more desperate people trying to win the Santa money or the mortgage money on the gee-gees.
    How is this Paddy Powers fault exactly? They provide a service that can be found in every town and village up and down the country. If people want to gamble money that they cannot afford to lose I would see the fault lying with the individual and not the bookmaker.

with that kind of logic then drug dealers are only doing a job and it's totally the individuals fault for becoming a junky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Great for them and the dole heads who spend all their money in that kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

How much you loose Elevator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 rocktavern

Great to see a jobs boost even if it is in a particular part of the economy that sucks the good out of some. Either way it's money been recycled....someone bets....somebody gets employed and paid....Winner alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Elevator wrote: »
    with that kind of logic then drug dealers are only doing a job and it's totally the individuals fault for becoming a junky

So we should just shut all bookies and betting shops down because some people are irresponsible? Please.

it always makes me lol when I see the desperate eejits who pack into the bookies in Galway for race week, grand nationals etc etc.

I would give my right leg to open a shop beside and install tvs for all to see and just take monies in left right and centre but no I prefer to actually provide a real service/product to people before I take their cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭bestleftfull3

yis are gettin totally off the point lads !!job creation=happy times if ye wana give out about gambling go elsewhere

I didn't say it was Paddy Powers fault, now did I? I was getting at the fact that if they are a growth industry it means that more people are willing to chance losing hard come by money on the hope of winning something. Never a good thing except for the bookmakers.

Fair play to Paddy Powers and the jobs will be more than welcome.

Precisely, what a person does with their life is their own concern and no one elses. You want to try heroin then off you go, everyone knows the risks but if you want to disregard them then thats up to you, just don't expect people to clean up your mess you made of yourself afterwards.

gpf101 wrote: »
    How much you loose Elevator?

I only ever bet a handfull of times

being from Galway n all it had to be done but when ya stand outside bookies on a big day and just watch the fools go in one after another, each one a sudden fcuking horse racing expert you see the blatent exploitation of the working/lower class!!

and don't get me started about online poker!!

I would give my right leg to open a shop beside and install tvs for all to see and just take monies in left right and centre but no I prefer to actually provide a real service/product to people before I take their cash

Try it.

I'll double your profits if you make any return on investment with 5 years.

Do you have the same issue with the drinks industry? There are lots of products and services that are not really needed in a practical society. Personally, I like the option of placing a bet for entertainment and am thankful that somebody offers this service.

Dealing drugs is an illegal, licensed bookmaking is not. Do you think we should ban everything that people can get addicted to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭dangerousdavem

I wouldn't get my hopes up. I have a degree and a masters in computers and have applied for numerous jobs recently that they have advertised and I keep on getting rejection emails. Its just a publicity stunt

Try it.

I'll double your profits if you make any return on investment with 5 years.

Do you have the same issue with the drinks industry? There are lots of products and services that are not really needed in a practical society. Personally, I like the option of placing a bet for entertainment and am thankfl taht somebody offers this service.

Dealing drugs is an illegal, licensed bookmaking is not. Do you think we should ban everything that people can get addicted to?

I have a problem with the drinks industry yes, for another thread tho

the one major problem I have with today's announcment is that it increases the amount of gambling going on, people are near broke enough without more bookies popping up

I didn't say it was Paddy Powers fault, now did I? I was getting at the fact that if they are a growth industry it means that more people are willing to chance losing hard come by money on the hope of winning something. Never a good thing except for the bookmakers.

Fair play to Paddy Powers and the jobs will be more than welcome.
    Thats fair enough and I accept that you were not blaming the bookies but I stand by my assertion that if you can't afford to lose then don't gamble. I myself enjoy the poker but I manage it like a hobby business, if I lose it's money that won't affect me putting food on the table. People who can't afford to lose on a nag or whatever should not be placing bets. This is the fault of the gambler not the bookie, who as you pointed out never loses because the odds are always stacked in their favour. I know this because I used to be a bookies clerk and we used always say amongst ourselves that gambling was a mugs game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

I only ever bet a handfull of times

being from Galway n all it had to be done but when ya stand outside bookies on a big day and just watch the fools go in one after another, each one a sudden fcuking horse racing expert you see the blatent exploitation of the working/lower class!!

So are you saying that gambling should be banned? People aren't able to make their own decisions?

I have a problem with the drinks industry yes, for another thread tho

the one major problem I have with today's announcment is that it increases the amount of gambling going on, people are near broke enough without more bookies popping up

It won't really increase the amount of gambling in Ireland at all.

It's mainly part of a global expansion so those 500 jobs created in Ireland (on top of planned 840 in Britain and 110 in Australia) will almost all be aimed at increasing their customer base abroad. They are a minor player in the British markets compared to Ladbrokes, Hill, Corals and others so will be looking to increase that. They also bought a controlling interest in a large Australian bookmaker last year and will be looking to increase that market share greatly.

Basically, 500 Irish jobs (I remain sceptical about this figure) to try and take money off gamblers in other countries which could lead to more Irish jobs. That is an economic pattern we really f**cking need.

Leave your fairly overblown dislike of gambling aside and see this as a wholly postive news story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

I wouldn't get my hopes up. I have a degree and a masters in computers and have applied for numerous jobs recently that they have advertised and I keep on getting rejection emails. Its just a publicity stunt

So you're just crap at interviews then? :D
    Good first post though, well done!

Don't care who it is, jobs in this day and age are to be welcomed and especially if they result in more taxes to pay for the running of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

+1 to flipflops.

There are dozens of products and services out there that can be misused/abused. Pubs, off-licenses, grocery/sweet/restaurant/fast food shops (heart disease #1 killer in Ireland don't ya know).

The reason Paddy Power has done so well is that they focus on leisure and entertainment thereby creating value for their customers. You can have a lucky 10c lucky 31 on (costing €3.10) and get a days entertainment out of it. You wouldn't get that kind of value from a video shop.

Good on them. It's great to see a) an Irish company doing well and b) good jobs being created here. Bualadh bos, stand for the anthem, I'm never going to let, yer negative vibes and comments get through to my psyche and cripple me

Thats fair enough and I accept that you were not blaming the bookies but I stand by my assertion that if you can't afford to lose then don't gamble. I myself enjoy the poker but I manage it like a hobby business, if I lose it's money that won't affect me putting food on the table. People who can't afford to lose on a nag or whatever should not be placing bets. This is the fault of the gambler not the bookie, who as you pointed out never loses because the odds are always stacked in their favour. I know this because I used to be a bookies clerk and we used always say amongst ourselves that gambling was a mugs game.

If only the majority had had that attitude throughout the Celtic Tiger years! It's easier said than done though. It's very difficult when you have no hope so people will try to buy a little.

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    So are you saying that gambling should be banned? People aren't able to make their own decisions?

well if all involved in running the industry agree amongst themselves that gambling is a mugs game then why not ya!!

just because it's been legal for so long doesn't make it right

in my mind it's as credible as the 3 card trick

also I find it astonishing that a government official be sent out for a photo op to announce "500" jobs for the gambling industry in the middle of a fcuking recission!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Mozoltov!

This is a boardsie's video.

smokingman wrote: »
    So you're just crap at interviews then? :D
    Good first post though, well done!

Don't care who it is, jobs in this day and age are to be welcomed and especially if they result in more taxes to pay for the running of this country.

headshops? maybe if there were more connected people or horsey people involved in head shops they'd be still here employing many people in every town and city in Ireland

instead the government missed their chance to maybe ban the unknown substances and introduce the ones we know about, work with the shop owners and keep the profits from murdering drug dealers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

also I find it astonishing that a government official be sent out for a photo op to announce "500" jobs for the gambling industry in the middle of a fcuking recission!!!

So how much DID you lose? :pac:

In fairness, this i agree with.

Maybe not astonishing as a politician will take any chance to announce good news but incredibly cynical on all sides.

It's amazing how easily an Irish politicain will still line up behind big business for personal gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

rocktavern wrote: »
    Great to see a jobs boost even if it is in a particular part of the economy that sucks the good out of some. Either way it's money been recycled....someone bets....somebody gets employed and paid....Winner alright!

And I'd rather see the person that worked for it have the money, than the person that threw it away!

Mozoltov! wrote: »
    This is a boardsie's video.

shocking similarities here with the insurance industry

they'll take your money with a certain amount of risk but when it comes to paying out they'll do all they can to hold onto your money!!

both are massive massive scams imo

If only the majority had had that attitude throughout the Celtic Tiger years! It's easier said than done though. It's very difficult when you have no hope so people will try to buy a little.

It's funny because I was actually going to mention that in my post but I deleted it because I couldn't word it correctly. The way I see it the problem with the property developers and buy-to-letters is that they were allowed to gamble in an environment that promoted the idea that property was a sure thing and could not fail. Everyone was at it and making big bucks but they forgot the cardinal rule, prices can fall as well as rise, someone has to lose for you to win.

With all this money sloshing around and tens of thousands been made hand over fist no one really stopped to ask, where is this money coming from, who is the loser in this bet. The banks weren't asking because at the time they were minting it, the sellers weren't asking because they were making a tidy profit and the buyers weren't asking because they hoped to realise a bigger profit.

Unfortunately the people who should have been keeping an eye on things bought into the foolproof money making system like many a degenerate and let this state of affairs carry on, they became pound smart but penny foolish allowing lots of small relatively insignificant bets to grow and multiply until they swallowed everything up.

They then decided to break cardinal rule number 2, against all reason and common sense because they could not stand to lose and they still believed in their wonderfully flawed system, they preceded to throw good money after bad into the banks and double down on their bets hoping to break even.

smokingman wrote: »
    So how much DID you lose? :pac:

I already said I don't gamble, I placed a handfull of bets as a younglad at the local Galway races but have more sense now at risking money on four legged animals racing round a track with midget men on their backs with any amount of variables like corruption and **** possibly interfeering with the overall outcome

a rose by any other name is still a rose

scam!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

A pity the government is talking about introducing more gambling taxes that would send them abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why does you not having a job equate to this being a publicity stunt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I agree with the person who said an announcement is just that when it comes to jobs that are supposed to be created over a prolonged period. I remember a rake of Quinn Health customer service jobs were supposed to come to Cork a few years ago, before the recession - the whole thing just fizzled out though, no explanation. This was before he lost a load of money.

But hopefully these PP jobs will materialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

yes it is their own fault,there is basically no such thing as drug pushers who go around forcing people to take drugs in this country, everyone who does starts on their own free will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Great news if this is true..but on an unrelated point I can't understand why they haven't brought Tax back on betting. Remember the days you'd pay 5p on the pound when making a bet in tax. It would pull in millions each year.

cos the 5p on the pound is not all we give away each and every year

the whole horse racing industry gets looked after here cos McCreevy and his fellow thieving bastard friends like the horsey crowd!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

There is a tax on bets, which the bookie absorbs. It generated €31m last year.

it always makes me lol when I see the desperate eejits who pack into the bookies in Galway for race week, grand nationals etc etc.

Because its great fun, but I'm afraid fun is a concept alien to a lot of people. Horse racing is a fantastic sport which wouldn't be there with out gambling for instance.

Oh and my gambling spreadsheet indicates that over the last two years I'm a few 100 euro up so the bookies are not beating me.

Also I doubt very much any more shops will open Id imagine the jobs will almost all be the the area of online gambling.

Also gambling is quite a good service in that you can actually make money unlike almost any other service you pay for.