Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Ticket rant

• 14-11-2010 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭

folks,

given the disaster that the rugby has been with tickets, where fans stayed away rather than pay high prcies, and now 36K poeple turned out for the FAI cup at 10 euro a tciket,

Can ye see any trouble next year if the GAA dont drop ticket prices?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

No, I think the GAA ticket prices are generally fair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

By and large the GAA ticket prices are fine.

The season ticket is exceptional value.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

By and large ticket prices are usually spot on for GAA matches, the All Ireland final was €75 and I believe that is normally the most expensive of the season. I don't think there'll be much trouble with ticket prices, the GAA don't have massive debts for a new stadium that they have to pay for with a limited number of games to cover the costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I just hope they dont remove the student concessions for league games and the amount you can get back at the cUsack stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The difference with GAA and rugby/soccer is that we aren't paying terrible prices for ****e performances, well I suppose Galway footballers would be an exception to that rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The difference with GAA and rugby/soccer is that we aren't paying terrible prices for ****e performances, well I suppose Galway footballers would be an exception to that rule.

Well the real difference is that the GAA do not have to sell tickets as a package or have any sort of 'block booking' system that requires fans to buy a ticket for each game regardless of whether they wish to attend or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Well the real difference is that the GAA do not have to sell tickets as a package or have any sort of 'block booking' system that requires fans to buy a ticket for each game regardless of whether they wish to attend or not.

Yes they do. When theres a double/triple header in Croke Pk we are told what great value €30/€35 is for 2/3 games, even though a sizeable proportion of the potential audience may only wish/have the time to attend one game.

There is no option (I do understand it would be unfeasible) to buy a half price ticket just to attend one game so its effectively a 'block booking' system.

Yes they do. When theres a double/triple header in Croke Pk we are told what great value €30/€35 is for 2/3 games, even though a sizeable proportion of the potential audience may only wish/have the time to attend one game.

There is no option (I do understand it would be unfeasible) to buy a half price ticket just to attend one game so its effectively a 'block booking' system.

No it's not the same, it's completely different

To go and see Ireland v Russia in a EC qualifier on Oct 8th you had to pay €50 for that game and also buy a aticket for the Norway game for €40, that is a total of €90.

If you are a 'block booker' with the FAI you are obliged to buy a ticket for every game or else you loose the 'blocker booker' status

For rugby if you wished to go an see NZ, you also had to go and buy a ticket for Samoa, the total price being something over €100

For a GAA double header you pay €35 or whatever for two games on the one day.
    To see Mayo v Dublin in a quarter-final you are not obliged to also buy a Ticket for Down v Kildare a few days/weeks/months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

No it's not the same, it's completely different

To go and see Ireland v Russia in a EC qualifier on Oct 8th you had to pay €50 for that game and also buy a aticket for the Norway game for €40, that is a total of €90.

If you are a 'block booker' with the FAI you are obliged to buy a ticket for every game or else you loose the 'blocker booker' status

For rugby if you wished to go an see NZ, you also had to go and buy a ticket for Samoa, the total price being something over €100

For a GAA double header you pay €35 or whatever for two games on the one day.
    To see Mayo v Dublin in a quarter-final you are not obliged to also buy a Ticket for Down v Kildare a few days/weeks/months later.
    Its not completely different. You are obliged to pay for the proceeding matches before even if you have no interest in them. Although not exactly the same you still have to pay for something you might not want.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Its not completely different. You are obliged to pay for the proceeding matches before even if you have no interest in them. Although not exactly the same you still have to pay for something you might not want.

Its completely different,

If the cost of the game is €35 and due to a draw the previous week they add in an extra fixture the price stays at €35, they don't make you pay €70.

Essentially you are getting 2 games for the price of one.

Also as mentioned previously the season ticket is excellent value,

Getting you up to 9 games for €75 Euro.

adrian522 wrote: »
    Its completely different,

If the cost of the game is €35 and due to a draw the previous week they add in an extra fixture the price stays at €35, they don't make you pay €70.

Essentially you are getting 2 games for the price of one.

I don't believe this is true. During the summer I recall one game in the qualifiers at Croke Pk being €20, and the following week for a double header it was €30. Heres the thread where the €30 game was being discussed
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055973818 though I can't find proof that I'd paid €20 the previous week.

Now the GAA could say because its an extra week into the competition that the price naturally goes up and claim that you are still getting two games for the price of one - its the nature of the way the GAA does these things (only deciding 6/7 days beforehand where/when/how much a game will cost) that its very hard to track whether its genuinely 2 for 1, or whether they've added 50% onto the price with the promise of an extra game which some of us may not want to see anyway.

Now don't get me wrong I'm not having a pop as they are still fairly competitive prices - I just think they could make it more transparent by announcing way in advance what the price will be for say a 4th round football qualifier game in CP. If circumstances then dictate that the Leinster Hurling Final Replay shares the same bill at least it would be clear from the price they then charge as to whether there is a 2game premium being put in place.

The big difference between any GAA 'block booking' and the FAI/IRFU ones is that the GAA double (or triple) headers will be on the same day. It doesnt neccessitate 2 days journeys up to the big smoke for us country hicks.

The other difference is that if the price changes its usually maybe an extra 5er or 10er.

And I say again the season ticket is outstanding value for the regular match going GAA fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

while 75e for an AI final is good value 30e for the likes of a connacht semifinal or 35e for a conn final is not.....there is scope to take a fiver a head at least off these prices. also club championship games cost a miimum of a tenner in which is also steep with no season tickets available where i am

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If you were going to a Magners League double header in the Aviva with Munster playing Connacht first and then Leinster Ulster, but paid 150% the price of the ticket (e.g. €45 instead of €30) would you feel hard done by because you only wanted to see 1 of the games? Now if you wanted to see Munster Leinster, but you were being charged €30 for that but to be able to buy that you have to buy a ticket for Munster Bironi @ €25 you would feel a bit hard done by.

Personally I think the GAA have their pricing structure right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Pikeman

Heard the GAA will be reducing their ticket prices alright-especially for the qualifiers. Think they're raising the price of All-Ireland Final tickets which is fair enough I suppose as they're one of sport's greatest showpieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

The Gaa pricing is spot on and fantastic value compared to both Rugby and Soccer.

The only reason they reduced the price to ten euro for the FAI cup final was that there is very little interest in the FAI cup final compared to most GAA championship games.
    If they were 30 odd euro per ticket, you would probably have a tiny crowd.

Also the price for the FAI match was probably about right for the quality of player on display.
    The GAA intercounty games have the best GAA players in the country, they best soccer players in Ireland play in England.
    This may not be what FAI fans want to hear, but the current eircom league consists of players not good enough to properly make the grade.

And before ye all start this is not a GAA versus soccer viewpoint.
    I'm sure if there were a premier league team based in Dublin they would get huge crowds every time. People want to see the very best players in their sport of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

GAA prices are quite fair. We have a lot of people giving out about them, but they are nothing compared to the FAI and IRFU. On the day the new Lansdowne Road opened the FAI were charging €60 to see a friendly match. That was a disgrace. You'd get to an All-Ireland final, the biggest sporting event in the country, and see two matches and the whole occasion for just €10 more. You'll get up to 3 matches in Croke Park some days, for less than you'd pay to see just one soccer or rugby match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

The GAA ticket pricing has been fine. Especially the €5 tickets for kids for almost every game (or free for some of the qualifiers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

the thing i like about the gaa prices is theres always a discount for the terrace at games so ya have that cheaper option if ya want it.i dont mind paying for the double headers ill generally watch the other game too because id watch it if i was at home so its not bad value

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I think GAA pricing in spot on. In particuar those offers where you can buy tickets to the quarters and semi finals in both codes are tremendous value and work out at 25 Euro per day for guaranteed good seats to all the major hurling or football games over the Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

To be honest, i certainly wouldnt say no to the prices being dropped a bit, especially for AI Semi/Final stages but if they werent i wouldnt complain. I know im comparing it to a professional sport here Man U against Blackburn....hardly the same as an AI Final, for a ticket along the sideline (and note this price is for ANY ticket along the sideline, the price is higher for "Good" sideline tickets) is £74 sterling! Now lets look at a bigger game, a premier league game against Arsenal, which is still not as big as an AI Semi Final in most of our eyes im guessing and the price for the same ticket is £159!!!

Yet some complain about paying €70 for the biggest game in GAA.

And Flukey, i remember Ireland were playing a friendly the same night as the Dublin v Tyrone match in Croker with the fireworks display etc. The soccer game if i remember correctly was €55 and against some no namers compared to €15 (or may have been only €10!) for a Hill ticket in Croker.

Edit: Got the Footy prices Here and Here.

gally74 wrote: »
    folks,

given the disaster that the rugby has been with tickets, where fans stayed away rather than pay high prcies, and now 36K poeple turned out for the FAI cup at 10 euro a tciket,

Can ye see any trouble next year if the GAA dont drop ticket prices?

How is that rant going ?

They have reduced prices to NFL and NHL games, Div 1 and 2 football and Div 1 hurling down from e15 to e13

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0118/allianzleagues.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Fandango wrote: »
    To be honest, i certainly wouldnt say no to the prices being dropped a bit, especially for AI Semi/Final stages but if they werent i wouldnt complain. I know im comparing it to a professional sport here Man U against Blackburn....hardly the same as an AI Final, for a ticket along the sideline (and note this price is for ANY ticket along the sideline, the price is higher for "Good" sideline tickets) is £74 sterling! Now lets look at a bigger game, a premier league game against Arsenal, which is still not as big as an AI Semi Final in most of our eyes im guessing and the price for the same ticket is £159!!!

Yet some complain about paying €70 for the biggest game in GAA.

And Flukey, i remember Ireland were playing a friendly the same night as the Dublin v Tyrone match in Croker with the fireworks display etc. The soccer game if i remember correctly was €55 and against some no namers compared to €15 (or may have been only €10!) for a Hill ticket in Croker.

Edit: Got the Footy prices Here and Here.

Hope you never bought tickets off that site - they are way above face value!!

Can't complain about the price of tickets to be honest. I believe the league will be 13 quid for Div 1 and 2 this year and just 10 quid for me to go see Louth. Couple of hours entertainment for the price of a couple of pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The prices may be fair, the economy is going to have a serious effect though. I mean I think the average person is down €30/€40 on their wages after the budget cuts, which could easily be the decider between going to matches or not going.

Even if it means someone going to 2 or 3 matches instead of going to every match, I think the GAA crowds will take a decent hit this year.

ColHol wrote: »
    The prices may be fair, the economy is going to have a serious effect though. I mean I think the average person is down €30/€40 on their wages after the budget cuts, which could easily be the decider between going to matches or not going.

Even if it means someone going to 2 or 3 matches instead of going to every match, I think the GAA crowds will take a decent hit this year.

It started last year though. Crazy low attendances in the Munster Championship. It was a long time since I was in Semple for a Championship game with as low an attendance as Waterford v Clare. Granted it was on a BH Monday which was silly, but still v low.

Munster final had 20K less than Cork v Waterford in 2004. The recession is biting hard particulary in Waterford and showed here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

Flukey wrote: »
    GAA prices are quite fair. We have a lot of people giving out about them, but they are nothing compared to the FAI and IRFU. On the day the new Lansdowne Road opened the FAI were charging €60 to see a friendly match. That was a disgrace. You'd get to an All-Ireland final, the biggest sporting event in the country, and see two matches and the whole occasion for just €10 more. You'll get up to 3 matches in Croke Park some days, for less than you'd pay to see just one soccer or rugby match.

Its all about supply and demand and the fact is if something is not selling well then its over priced

How many times did Croke Park fill in 2010 ?

Ah lads, now I know you hate us Dubs, but surely after today's announcement we can even get genuine pity from our fellow GAA supporters around the country. They are doing a good ticket deal on price, but as part of it they are getting Jedward as part of the "entertainment"!:( Now I know some of the rest of the country hates us, but this is the doing of our own county board. It's enough to make us consider asking for a refund on the Parnell Pass or season ticket. We should be paid, at ministerial levels, to go to see them. So ye can rant about ticket prices, but at least you aren't threatened with having Jedward inflicted on you. You lucky, lucky so and sos.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Ticket Prices are fair I think.

I would pay treble what I pay to watch the Garden County in action, but then again they are a premium product.

I think it would be a great idea to have Jedward at matches, have a draw to win the chance to be out on the pitch with them, then tie them to the goal posts and everyone gets 3 swings with a hurley at them, I'd definitely pay to see that.....

You could tie one to each goalpost, but that would leave you with the big dilemma as to which one you should hit first. :) While we are at it, we could suspend Louis Walsh from the crossbar and that would add an even further aspect to the decision. If we thought about it long enough, we could tie a load of people all the way up the goal posts. We could even add the Australian Rules posts to get even more of them. Then we could try and get footballs and sliothars and really have a go. It could be good training for players doing target practice. If they could hit the posts then they could hit anything. We may have to tie up a few refs too. The Louth lads would obviously have to have Martin Sludden for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Just tie the people together and have them as the posts, and do multiple crossbar challenges.

Back on-topic, even the double headers are €13:eek: So that's €13 to see the two All-Ireland Champions in action...GAA I commend ye.

Come the last weekend in July we often have a debate about the neutrality of Croke Pk and whether its fair that Dublin have played all their games in their 'home ground', followed by a rebuttal from those who classify Parnell Pk as Dublins home ground.

That debate is going to have an added twist this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Come the last weekend in July we often have a debate about the neutrality of Croke Pk and whether its fair that Dublin have played all their games in their 'home ground', followed by a rebuttal from those who classify Parnell Pk as Dublins home ground.

That debate is going to have an added twist this year.

After defending it all last year, I'm dreading this year already.:(