Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ERU in Gort today?

• 12-11-2010 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭

It great to see our money is still being well spent....Gort was flooded with guards today including the ERU presumably because his highness Mr Noel dempsey was coming to town to cut a ribbon!!How much more of this B***s**t do we have to put up with?wasting money driving these clueless muppets around paying our police force to protect them while they open roads and shops etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Didn't know the minister for transport had a price on his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

bonzos wrote: »
    It great to see our money is still being well spent....Gort was flooded with guards today including the ERU presumably because his highness Mr Noel dempsey was coming to town to cut a ribbon!!How much more of this B***s**t do we have to put up with?wasting money driving these clueless muppets around paying our police force to protect them while they open roads and shops etc...

See what happened to Jensen Button last weekend.
    You simply can't trust those Brazillians...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

whine louder boy louder!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

The farmers were to protest there today, typical over reaction by the powers that be

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Gort was flooded with guards

Rather that than be flooded with water again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Doom wrote: »
    The farmers were to protest there today, typical over reaction by the powers that be

I think the ould ministers are startin' to shit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

I see no problem with this. As the past week has demonstrated, there are plenty of attention seeking idiots all too willing to inflict violence upon our ministers and property. There must have been a specific intelligence indicating potential trouble.
    And as a side note, the ERU are paid regardless of where or what they are doing. So I don't think any money was being wasted, as you think. Also, this is Ireland, not Britain-We have Gardai Siochana, not 'Police'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Are the Gardai not a police force????I think that any serious criminal watching the gardai and ERU in Gort today would be planning their next crime on the same day as some €200k a year muppet is cutting a ribbon on a new section of road.Why not just open the road and let the people use it...no need to have this clown down for a photo shot,unveiling a plaque with his name on it and wasting garda resources. You would swear he built the bloody thing himself by hand!!!I wouldnt mind but he has more interest in flying around the country than using the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the ERU are paid regardless of where or what they are doing.

most citizens would prefer if they were doing real police work, not protecting incompetent gombeen gob****es from rogue cheese-throwers

Are the Gardai not a police force????I think that any serious criminal watching the gardai and ERU in Gort today would be planning their next crime on the same day as some €200k a year muppet is cutting a ribbon on a new section of road.Why not just open the road and let the people use it...no need to have this clown down for a photo shot,unveiling a plaque with his name on it and wasting garda resources. You would swear he built the bloody thing himself by hand!!!I wouldnt mind but he has more interest in flying around the country than using the roads.

The Gardai Siochana is the correct name for the Police Force in Ireland; That is why I afford them the correct title.

As for your next point, unless the Gardai sent every man and woman to Gort today, then I'm pretty sure they have dispersed a few around the country to deal with any potential trouble. :rolleyes:

Next, opening facilities is a common political procedure. A politician will open a new facility as the public will then associate him or his party with the opening. Then, come voting day, they will hopefully vote for whoever who got the bypass/sports hall/hospital in the area. All parties do this, not just FF. Will you be opening a thread the next time a Sinn Fein member attends an unveiling at taxpayers expense?

Absurdum wrote: »
    most citizens would prefer if they were doing real police work, not protecting incompetent gombeen gob****es from rogue cheese-throwers

As I said above, if the ERU were in attendance, there is almost certainly a reason for this. They certainly don't attend every political unveiling. And I can assure you, the ERU are doing a very hard and thankless job around the country as we speak, as anybody who has suffered at the hands of organised crime will tell you.

Anyway, do we have a link that even proves they were in Gort today, apart from the opinion of the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

What are the heavily armed ERU doing there? Are they going to start mowing down protestors throwing the odd egg? Stun grenading pensioners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I really wish people would, within reason, refrain from commenting on things which they know nothing about.

The RSU (ERU won't be marked or visible) were there for a reason - if they were there at all, I wonder did the OP confuse battenburg Tango cars for the armed ones?
    Granted I don't know what that was, but there was one. Remember that in some parts of Ireland those RSU Volvos aren't always on armed duty, they can be regular Gardaí until a call comes through at which time they whip out the MP7's.

As for political unveilings, I think any big new scheme should be opened ceremonially. It's a nice thing to do, costs fúck all -remember the minister, the Gardaí, councillors are getting paid ANYWAY whether they're there or not. You telling me you've never had a day in work where you've done less difficult things and taken it easy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

sdonn wrote: »
    I really wish people would, within reason, refrain from commenting on things which they know nothing about.

The RSU (ERU won't be marked or visible) were there for a reason - if they were there at all, I wonder did the OP confuse battenburg Tango cars for the armed ones?
    Granted I don't know what that was, but there was one. Remember that in some parts of Ireland those RSU Volvos aren't always on armed duty, they can be regular Gardaí until a call comes through at which time they whip out the MP7's.

As for political unveilings, I think any big new scheme should be opened ceremonially. It's a nice thing to do, costs fúck all -remember the minister, the Gardaí, councillors are getting paid ANYWAY whether they're there or not. You telling me you've never had a day in work where you've done less difficult things and taken it easy?
    Get Dustin To Do The Unveiling.
    If he's shot, deep freeze for Christmas.
    No ERU and no politition. Double saving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

policarp wrote: »
    See what happened to Jensen Button last weekend.
    You simply can't trust those Brazillians...

Why would anybody think of kidnapping Noel Dempsey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

NoHornJan wrote: »
    Why would anybody think of kidnapping Noel Dempsey?

For the LULZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

For the LULZ.

You'd get better laughs out of kidnapping Brian Cowan. At least you could have a drink, a song, a joke and a piss take. Noel Dempsey is boring IMO.Not worth kidnapping...